County and City Extra by Bernan Press Staff (Contribution by); Deirdre A. Gaquin (Editor); Mary Meghan Ryan (Editor)County and City Extra, Special Historical Edition brings together data from the earliest days of our nation through 2010. For more than 20 years, the County and City Extra series has provided annual up-to-date statistical information for every state, county, metropolitan area, and congressional district, as well as all cities with populations of 25,000 or more. -Part A provides an overview with selected national data for all available years from the Census Bureau, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, and the Bureau of Economic Analysis -Part B includes a similar selection of data for the 50 states and the District of Columbia. -Part C shows the population of each county from the date of its origins through the 2010 census. Detailed information about the origins of all states and counties is included -Part D presents the largest cities for each of the 23 censuses between 1790 and 2010, as well as a table showing the historical populations of all cities with populations of 100,000 or more in 2010. In addition to Parts A, B, C, and D, a section titled "The United States through the Decades" is included highlighting important events in the United States in each decade from 1790 to 2010. This edition also includes several figures on topics such as population growth through the decades, foreign-born residents, fastest-growing counties from 1790 to 2010, life expectancy through the years, and per capita income.
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2015-06-24
County and City Extra 2017 by Deirdre A. Gaquin (Editor); Mary Meghan Ryan (Editor)When you want only one source of information about your city or county, turn to County and City Extra. This trusted reference compiles information from many sources to provide all the key demographic and economic data for every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and for all cities in the United States with a 2010 population of 25,000 or more. In one volume, you can conveniently find data from 1990 to 2015 in easy-to-read tables. No other resource compiles this amount of detailed information into one place. Subjects covered in County and City Extra include: -Population by age and race -Government finances -Income and poverty -Manufacturing, trade, and services -Crime -Housing -Education -Immigration and migration -Labor force and employment -Agriculture, land, and water -Residential construction -Health resources -Voting and elections The main body of this volume contains five basic parts and covers the following areas: Part A-States Part B-Counties Part C-Metropolitan areas Part D-Cities with a 2010 census population of 25,000 or more Part E-Congressional districts In addition, this publication includes: -Figures and text in each section that highlight pertinent data and provide analysis -Ranking tables which present each geography type by various subjects including population, land area, population density, educational attainment, housing values, race, unemployment, and crime -Multiple color maps of the United States on various topics including median household income, poverty, voting, and race Furthermore, this volume contains several appendixes which include: -Notes and explanations for further reference -Definitions of geographic concepts -A listing of metropolitan and micropolitan areas and their component counties -A list of cities by county -Maps showing congressional districts, counties, and selected places within each state
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2017-12-18
Crime in the United States 2017 by Shana Hertz Hattis (Editor)This book contains findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses--known to law enforcement--released annually from its Uniform Crime Reporting Program. This reference is the most comprehensive official compilation of crime statistics in the United States and is an important addition to your library's collection. Because the FBI no longer prints these findings, Bernan Press continues to provide this practical information in convenient book form. In this intricately detailed source, legal and law enforcement professionals, researchers, and those who are just curious will find violent and property crime statistics for the nation as well as for regions, states, counties, cities, towns, and even college and university campuses. Crime in the United States includes statistics for: -Offenses known to police -Violent crime offenses: murder, forcible rape, robbery, and aggravated assault -Property crime offenses: burglary, larcency-theft, motor vehicle theft, and arson -Clearance data: crimes solved by police or cleared by exceptional means -Persons arrested -Police employees: sworn officers and civilian law enforcement personnel -Hate crimes with data by offense type, location, bias motivation, victim type, number of victims, and race of offender.
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2017-06-16
Employment, Hours, and Earnings 2017 by Mary Meghan Ryan (Editor)Nearly 300 tables with data on employment for each state, the District of Columbia, and the nation's seventy-five largest metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) -Detailed, non-seasonally adjusted, industry data organized by month and year -Hours and earnings data for each state, by industry -An introduction for each state and the District of Columbia that denotes pertinent data and trends, including changes in population and the civilian labor force, industry increases and declines, employment and unemployment statistics, and a chart detailing employment percentages, by industry -Ranking of the seventy-five largest MSAs, including census population estimates, unemployment rates, and the percent change in total nonfarm employment, -Concise technical notes that explain pertinent facts about the data, including sources, definitions, significant changes, and references for further guidance -A comprehensive appendix that details the geographical components of the seventy-five largest MSAs The employment, hours, and earnings data in this publication provide a detailed and timely picture of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, and the nation's seventy-five largest MSAs. These data can be used to analyze key factors affecting state and local economies and to compare national cyclical trends to local-level economic activity. This reference is an excellent source of information for analysts in both the public and private sectors. Readers who are involved in public policy can use these data to determine the health of the economy, to clearly identify which sectors are growing and which are declining, and to determine the need for federal assistance. State and local jurisdictions can use the data to determine the need for services, including training and unemployment assistance, and for planning and budgetary purposes. In addition, the data can be used to forecast tax revenue. In private industry, the data can be used by business owners to compare their business to the economy as a whole; and to identify suitable areas when making decisions about plant locations, wholesale and retail trade outlets, and for locating a particular sector base.
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Handbook of U. S. Labor Statistics by Mary Meghan Ryan (Editor)The Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics is recognized as an authoritative resource on the U.S. labor force. It continues and enhances the Bureau of Labor Statistic's (BLS) discontinued publication, Labor Statistics. This latest edition allows the user to understand recent developments as well as to compare today's economy with past history. The Handbook is a comprehensive reference providing an abundance of data on a variety of topics including: -employment and unemployment; -earnings; -prices; -productivity; -consumer expenditures; -occupational safety and health; -union membership; -international labor comparisons; -and much more Features of the publication In addition to over 215 tables that present practical data, the Handbook provides: -introductory material for each chapter that contains highlights of salient data and figures that call attention to noteworthy trends in the data; -notes and definitions, which contain concise descriptions of the data sources, concepts, definitions, and methodology from which the data are derived; -references to more comprehensive reports which provide additional data and more extensive descriptions of estimation methods, sampling, and reliability measures. New in the 20th edition of Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics -A chapter titled "Volunteering in the United States." This includes information on who volunteered, when they volunteered, and how often they volunteered. -New tables and figures on various topics including occupational safety and health
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2017-06-29
Justice Statistics by Shana Hertz Hattis (Editor)Justice Statistics: An Extended Look at Crime in the United States is a special edition of Crime in the United States. It brings together nine key reports that fall under this category. Topics covered include capital punishment, rape and sexual assault among college-age women, correctional populations, crime in the United States, hate crimes, probation, parole, human trafficking, and law enforcement officers killed and assaulted. Tables in this volume provide a comprehensive account of each of these subjects. This third edition includes new sections on crimes against persons with disabilities and violence in schools. Each section contains statistical tables and figures highlighting the data, as well as a brief summary of the report's methodology and at-a-glance highlights of the most compelling information. This volume provides valuable information compiled by the Department of Justice, including its subsidiaries, the Bureau of Justice Statistics and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2017-10-20
Millennials in America 2017 by Robert L. Scardamalia (Editor)This publication provides a wide range of characteristics profiling the demographic, social, and economic status of the millennial generation. While the Baby Boom generation occupies much of our social and political dialogue, the millennial generation is actually a larger generation. As the Boomers age, their numbers will decrease while the millennials will be the driving social and political force in the coming decades. Millennials in America focuses on the those born between 1982-2001. Millennials in America is an invaluable source for helping people understand what the census data tells us about who we are, what we do, and where we live. Benefits of this publication include: -It will fill an information gap due to the difficulty in extracting comparative data from the Census Bureau's American FactFinder dissemination system. -Users will have comparative data in a single reference volume. -It will eliminate the need for the data user to understand and manipulate detailed census data files and consolidate disparate tables in AFF. -This publication utilizes the PUMS data which is the ONLY source of data that can be used to define precise age ranges for the Millennial generation. The age detail available for census summary data simply aren't adequate for defining the Millennials and therefore prohibit compilation of characteristics specific to this important generation. Features of this publication include: -Detailed data on 11 subject areas including race, educational attainment, field of study, income, mobility status, employment status, housing, and more -Each subject area includes data for the United States, the 50 states and the District of Columbia, 622 counties, 331 cities, 381 metropolitan areas and 34 micropolitan areas. -Each part is preceded by highlights, maps, and figures illustrating how areas diverge from the national norm as well as differences among areas.
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2017-10-06
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book 2017 by Deirdre A. Gaquin (Editor); Mary Meghan Ryan (Editor)The State and Metropolitan Area Data Book is the continuation of the U.S. Census Bureau's discontinued publication. It is a convenient summary of statistics on the social and economic structure of the states, metropolitan areas, and micropolitan areas in the United States. It is designed to serve as a statistical reference and guide to other data publications and sources. This new edition features more than 1,500 data items from a variety of sources. It covers many key topical areas including population, birth and death rates, health coverage, school enrollment, crime rates, income and housing, employment, transportation, and government. The metropolitan area information is based on the latest set of definitions of metropolitan and micropolitan areas including: -a complete listing and data for all states, metropolitan areas, including micropolitan areas, and their component counties -2010 census counts and more recent population estimates for all areas -results of the 2016 national and state elections -expanded vital statistics, communication, and criminal justice data -data on migration and commuting habits -American Community Survey 1- and 3-year estimates -data on health insurance and housing and finance matters -accurate and helpful citations to allow the user to directly consult the source -source notes and explanations -A guide to state statistical abstracts and state information Economic development officials, regional planners, urban researchers, college students, and data users can easily see the trends and changes affecting the nation today.
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2017-09-28
State Profiles 2017 by Hannah M. Anderson (Editor)State Profiles 2017: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State provides a wealth of current, authoritative, and comprehensive data on key demographic and economic indicators for each U.S. state and the District of Columbia. Each state is covered by a compact standardized chapter that allows for easy comparisons and timely analysis between the states. A ten-page profile for each U.S. state plus the District of Columbia provides reliable, up-to-date information on a wide range of topics, including: population, labor force, income and poverty, government finances, crime, education, health insurance coverage, voting, marital status, migration, and more. If you want a single source of key demographic and economic data on each of the U.S. states, there is no other book like State Profiles. This book provides an overview of the U.S. economy which provides a framework for understanding the state information. This book is primarily useful for public, school, and college and university libraries, as well as for economic and sociology departments. However, anyone needing state-level information-students, state officials, investors, economic analysts, concerned citizens-will find State Profiles wealth of data and analysis absolutely essential
Authoritative, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. Browse or search 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets). Compiled by ProQuest 2013-present. Previous publisher was the U.S. Census Bureau,1878-2012.
America's Diverse Population by Michael D. DulbergerThe composition of the American population is rapidly changing from a white, male dominated society to one that is so diverse it will soon be without any single, dominant race, ethnicity, or gender. The dramatic demographic shifts in American society have provoked many false claims and distortions of facts that have fueled demagoguery, as occurred during the 2016 presidential campaign. Access to unvarnished facts about people different than you--but who are becoming your neighbors--is more critical now than ever. This book, in full-color, was created to provide a single source of easily accessible facts--obtained primarily from U.S. government agencies--comparing characteristics of race, ethnicity, and gender in graphic format to enhance comprehension, as only visual presentations can achieve. Virtually all major socio-economic topics are covered, including geographic distribution of populations, birth rates, health, wealth, poverty, income, employment, crime, incarcerations, social behaviors, education and political preferences. Included are past and future trends for many characteristics, as are comparisons between foreign-born, natural citizens, legal and undocumented immigrants. Special Features: -Socio-economic characteristics between races, ethnicities, and genders in America -Comparisons include: health, education, wealth, poverty, income, employment, crime, incarcerations, social behaviors, geographic distributions, and political preferences -Includes foreign-born and natural citizens, lawful and undocumented immigrants -All data are graphically displayed for easy visualization and comprehension -Attributed sources for all data include web addresses to enable additional research -Only factual data are presented without editorial comments or opinions Interesting facts found in America's Diverse Population include: -More than one-in-eight persons residing in the U.S. in 2015 were born elsewhere. -Approximately one-in-four persons with "Green Cards" resided in California in 2013. -Over three million temporary workers were admitted into the U.S. in 2014. -In 2009 over two-thirds of convictions of undocumented immigrants were for violations of immigration law, and two percent for crimes against persons. -Approximately one-of-three Black or African American children live in households with both married parents, compared with ninety-five percent of Asian households. -In 2013 one-of-eight high school age Hispanic or Latino females reported they were forced to have sex. -In 2015 ninety-seven percent of kindergarten teachers were women. -Approximately one-half of all maids and housekeeping cleaners in 2015 were Hispanic or Latino women. -In 2015, almost one-in-four Asian females held a Master's degree, the highest rate of any race or ethnicity. -In 2013, the number of Non-Hispanic White children in the U.S., grades K-8, fell below fifty percent of students for the first time.
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2019 by Bernian Press StaffThe Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic, and economic conditions of America since 1878. This 2019 edition continues the heritage begun so long ago by the U.S. government, with the U.S. Census Bureau being the last agency to produce the compendium at government expense. Now in our seventh annual edition, Rowman & Littlefield and ProQuest carry on the proud tradition and responsibility of creating the statistical portrait of America. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. Long-time users of the Statistical Abstract of the United States expect each new edition to carry forward much of the content from prior editions, as well as introduce new data as America continues to evolve. Our editors are committed to updating the long-standing, historical statistics as new data becomes available, as well as finding new topics to cover. This 2019 edition includes over 1,400 tables from hundreds of sources. Several new tables have been added this year on a variety of topics including: mental health treatment facilities and clients; community health centers; Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival (DACA) recipients; opioid treatment clients and facilities; autism; the digital economy; college and university libraries; child care arrangements and expenses; workers on contract and other alternative work arrangements; trade with Canada and Mexico; Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) workplace discrimination claims; and career and technology education programs in public high schools.