The Harlem Renaissance by Marie E. RodgersThis information-packed book covers the years 1917-1933 and is organized by theme (e.g., historical and biographical references, notable contributors, literature and writing). Each section includes an overview of the topic, brief biographical sketches, and an annotated list of pertinent nonfiction references. Intended as a supplement to social studies textbooks and instruction, this work gives educators and students the information they need about this major cultural movement and the achievements of African Americans during an important era. Black-and-white photos illustrate the text.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 1998-04-15
The NPR Classical Music Companion by Miles HoffmanDo you enjoy classical music but wish you knew more about it? Do you buy CDs, tune in to radio programs, go to concerts, and sometimes wonder just what, precisely, all those Italian musical terms mean? In this wonderfully engaging guide, Miles Hoffman demystifies the terms and concepts of classical music in an accessible and witty style. With more than one hundred entries, The NPR Classical Music Companion delves into definitions and etymologies, explores terms with reference to famous composers and works, and calls upon amusing analogies to make sense of music's finer points. Ranging from a paragraph to a few pages, the explanations gathered here tackle both the familiar and the not so familiar, from " a cappella " to " motet," from " opus numbers " to " zarzuela." The result is a delightful and comprehensive assemblage. For anyone who thinks that only professional musicians can understand classical music, this guide offers a clear path through a potentially daunting world.
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 1997-08-19
The Visual Arts by Steven OtfinoskiAfrican Americans in the Visual Arts, Revised Edition covers the rich tradition of African-American artists of the past with the best of today's contemporary artists. Each entry in this revised volume provides a brief biographical sketch of the artist, addressing the major achievements, events, and contributions of the artist's career. A general bibliography and subject indexes complement the insightful text.
Oxford ReferenceA collection of 400+ authoritative reference works, including the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, the Visual English Dictionary, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, as well as illustrated natural history titles such as the Encyclopedia of Mammals. Includes timelines, bibliographies, maps, and illustrations.
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater, 1930-2010 by James FisherFrom legends like Eugene O'Neill, Tennessee Williams, and Arthur Miller to successful present-day playwrights like Neil LaBute, Tony Kushner, and David Mamet, some of the most important names in the history of theater are from the past 80 years. Contemporary American theater has produced some of the most memorable, beloved, and important plays in history, including Death of a Salesman, A Streetcar Named Desire, Barefoot in the Park, Our Town, The Crucible, A Raisin in the Sun, and The Odd Couple. Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater presents the plays and personages, movements and institutions, and cultural developments of the American stage from 1930 to 2010, a period of vast and almost continuous change. It covers the ever-changing history of the American theater with emphasis on major movements, persons, plays, and events. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 1,500 cross-referenced dictionary entries. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the history of American theater.
Call Number: R792.09 F534
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Don Michael RandelA classic reference work; combining authoritative scholarship and lucid, lively prose, the Fourth Edition of The Harvard Dictionary of Music is an essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music.
Call Number: R780.3 H339 2003
Publication Date: 2003-11-28
The Oxford Companion to Music by Alison LathamThe Oxford Companion to Music is one of the most famous reference books of all time. Now in a completely new edition, this superb book contains over a million words and is the biggest, most authoritative, and most up to date single-volume music reference available. Drawing on the original Percy Scholes edition (1938) and the two volume edition by Denis Arnold (1983), this edition is fully revised and reworked for the 21st century.8000 entries, from brief definitions to in-depth essaysover 1000 new entriesideal for the amateur, the professional and the student150 expert contributorsplaces music in its social and cultural contextincludes analysis, theory, ethnomusicology and performance practiceincludes jazz, popular music and dance