Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007 by House (U.S.), Office of History and Preservation (Produced by); Matthew Wasniewski (Editor)This book contains a profile of each African-American Member, including notables such as Hiram Revels, Joseph Rainey, Oscar De Priest, Adam Clayton Powell, Shirley Chisholm, Gus Hawkins, and Barbara Jordan. Individual profiles are introduced by contextual essays that explain major events in congressional and U.S. history. The volume also features: Pictures--including rarely seen historical images--of each African American who has served in Congress Bibliographies and references to manuscript collections for each Member Statistical graphs and charts Index
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency by Michael A. Genovese""Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Revised Edition"" is the definitive guide to the role of the president from the American Revolution through the present day. Offering a complete account of every presidential election in U.S. history, this fully revised A-to-Z encyclopedia will make a great first stop for students and general readers looking for information on the executive branch of the American government. Its comprehensive scope spans the relationship between the executive and the other branches of government, court cases, elections, political opponents, scandals, and more. A valuable resource that provides concise information, ""Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Revised Edition"" contains approximately 700 entries and many wonderful black-and-white illustrations. It includes: George W. Bush; Commander in chief; Economic policy; Executive privilege; Impeachment; Iraq War; Thomas Jefferson; Military tribunals; Barack Obama; Oval office; The Secret Service; Veto power; and, White House.
Movies in American History : An Encyclopedia by Philip C. DiMare (Editor)This three-volume encyclopedia is a valuable resource for readers seeking an understanding of how movies have both reflected and helped engender America's political, economic, and social history. * Provides 450 A-Z entries that comprehensively cover the historical significance of subjects, people, and films of the American cinema * Contains contributions from 150 distinguished interdisciplinary scholars offering their analysis on the role of movies in American history * Includes reference materials and suggestions for further reading with every entry
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2011-06-17
This Day in Presidential History by Paul BrandusFor reference librarians, journalists, social media managers, history buffs, and more, a treasure trove of information about the U.S. presidency for each day of the year from the popular, award-winning White House journalist Paul Brandus. The Atlantic calls Brandus "one of the top Washington insiders you should follow on Twitter" (@WestWingReport). For each of the 366 days of the year, Brandus offers little-known, fascinating facts; historical anecdotes; and pithy quotations from and about the 45 presidents of the United States--from George Washington to Donald Trump. This Day in Presidential History will surprise its readers with the inside information that Brandus has uncovered in his years on the White House beat. Here are stories that span war and peace, sex and scandal, frivolity and tragedy--and everything in between, including * the night Abraham Lincoln and John Wilkes Booth met at Ford's Theatre--17 months before Booth's crime, * the advice Richard Nixon gave Donald Trump, * the president who immediately went to bed after his swearing in, * the only president to be censured by the U.S. Senate, * the president who gambled away the White House china, * the joyriding teens who crashed into the president's car--and lived to tell the tale, * the secret swearing in, * and much more. Brandus's previous book, Under This Roof: A History of the White House and Presidency (Lyons Press, 2015), was one of Publishers Weekly's "25 Christmas Recommendations."
Find biographical profiles, full-text articles, images, and abstracts from magazines, journals, and sources such as Current Biography, World Authors, Biography Index , and Junior Authors & Illustrators. Search for individuals based on any combination of occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday and lifespan. Results can be limited by source type, and searchable indexes can be used to browse by biography name, document type, geographic terms and more. Updated continuously.
A collection of about 100 reference eBooks covering business, education, the environment, history, medicine, religion, science and social science. Titles include: Business Plans Handbook,Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education,Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice,Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change,Everyday Finance: Economics,Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine,Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health,Personal Money Management and Entrepreneurship and West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Search titles individually or as a collection. Former name: Gale Virtual Reference Library
Almanac of American Politics 2018 by Columbia Books Inc (Editor)The 2018 Almanac of American Politics remains the gold standard of accessible political information, relied on by everyone involved, invested or interested in politics in America. Highly regarded for its in-depth analysis and comprehensive profiles of every congressional district, state, governor and member of Congress, The Almanac is the tool you need to better understand the context of the people and perspectives shaping the issues that matter to you.The Almanac of American Politics is the must have resource for understanding the American political landscape. The 2018 edition includes:·In-depth profiles of every governor, Senator, and House member.·Updated demographic information for every state and district, including information from the Census Bureau's American Community Survey, with new categories of economic, occupational, social and geographic data.·Analysis of the 2016 elections for Senate, House and governor races, and how those results shape the public policy debates in Congress and the nation.·A breakdown of the votes cast for President in 2016 for all states and districts, including primaries.·All new: Presidential profile on President Donald Trump.·All new: Campaign finance data on spending by all Senate and House members in their most recent election, including all-new listings of the "outside money" spent in those contests.·All new: Analysis of voter turnout in each state and congressional district for the 2016 presidential elections.·More than 60 state and congressional district maps, the key votes cast by members of the House and Senate, interest group ratings, and more.Essential reference and contact information.
American National Biography by John A. Garraty (Editor); Mark C. Carnes (Editor)American National Biography is a comprehensive biographical dicionary focused on American history. Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by anexpert in the field and completed with a bibliography. 24 volumes, 2 supplements.