Historical Encyclopedia of American Business by Richard L. Wilson; Salem Press Editors
Comprehensive coverage of all major aspects of business and finance in American history, covering the full breadth of American business history in 478 alphabetically arranged and easy-to-understand articles. Designed and written for high school students and college undergraduates, ""Historical Encyclopedia of American Business"" offers an inviting alternative to works on economic history aimed at graduate students and scholars. The coverage of this set is carefully constructed to include almost every facet of American business history on which students would most likely seek information. Scope and coverage: The coverage in this set is broad and addresses the full breadth of American business history. There are long overviews on different sectors of the economy, such as agriculture and banking; individual industries such as advertising and electronics; and general topics as business cycles, labor strikes and outsourcing. There are also overviews on broad legal topics such as antitrust legislation, bankruptcy laws and patent laws. Also covered are significant economic depressions and 'panics' as well as such events as the Boston Tea Party, the Dust Bowl of the 1930's, and the Energy crisis of 1979. Although the main thrust of this set is on broad topics and historical trends, it also offers brief biographies of 35 individual persons who have played exceptional roles in American business. These figures range from founding fathers Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, and George Washington, to some of the giants of twenty-first century business, such as Bill Gates, Indra K. Nooyi, and Martha Stewart. Other essay topics cover individual companies, corporations, labor unions, and government agencies. Among individual businesses that are subjects of essays are Apple Computers, Bell Labs, Coca Cola, eBay, and General Motors. Labor unions rating essays include the AFL-CIO and the Teamsters. In addition, there are several essays on the roles of journalism, literature, radio, television and films in business history, as well as essays on individual business publications and broadcast programs. Organization and format: Like Salem's many other works, ""Historical Encyclopedia of American Business"" is organized and formatted to be student friendly. Essays are arranged alphabetically under the headings students are most likely to check, and every essay begins with a brief summary of its topic's significance. All essays at least 500 words in length have 'Further Reading' lists, and bibliographical citations in longer essays are annotated. Special features: Volume 3 offers several helpful finding aids, including a complete category list, an annotated general bibliography, a glossary of business terms, and a time line. An index of personages, and a general subject index complete this comprehensive work. At a glance: This title contains 3 Volumes; 1,056 pages; 478 essays; 9 Appendixes; 3 Indexes; 220 photos; 10 maps; 20 charts and graphs; and 125 sidebars and tables.
Call Number: R338.0973 H673
ISBN: 9781587655180
Publication Date: 2009-04-16
Encyclopedia of African American Business [2 Volumes] by
This two-volume set showcases the achievements of African American entrepreneurs and the various businesses that they founded, developed, or promote as well as the accomplishments of many African American leaders--both those whose work is well-known and other achievers who have been neglected in history. * Provides a broad overview of the development of African American business and business leaders, from the beginning of black life in America through the present * Demonstrates that African Americans developed self-sufficiency early on despite rampant racism and legal restrictions and how their efforts and accomplishments impacted the economy * Identifies many women African American business leaders * Introduces readers to the success of African American entrepreneurs beyond American shores * Shows the influence of social media on the shaping of businesses in the modern context
Encyclopedia of American Industries by 
Entrepreneurship and Business Development in the Renewable Energy Sector by
The need for clean sources of energy has increased dramatically as the realities of climate change have begun to effect life on earth. As a result, the demand for pioneering businesses in the sustainable energy industry will increase. Entrepreneurship and Business Development in the Renewable Energy Sector is a critical scholarly resource that examines the growing industry of clean energy as an opportunity to create and expand enterprises, as well as discusses the need for entrepreneurial thinking in this new and growing market. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as corporate entrepreneurship, business growth cycles, and photovoltaic energy, this book is geared towards academicians, researchers, and professionals seeking current research on the expanding economic market of clean energy. Accessible from the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
The Internet of Things in the Modern Business Environment by
The industrial internet is a new and upcoming technology that is changing the practices of organizations and corporations everywhere. Through research and application, opportunities can arise from implementing these new systems and devices. The Internet of Things in the Modern Business Environment is an essential reference source for the latest scholarly research on varying aspects of the interworking of smart devices within a business setting and explores the impact of these devices on company operations and models. Featuring extensive coverage on a broad range of topics such as supply chain management, information sharing, and data analytics, this publication is ideally designed for researchers, managers, and students seeking current research on the expansion of technology in commerce.
Principles of Business: Economics by 
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business by
Comprehensive coverage of all major aspects of business and finance in American history, covering the full breadth of American business history in 478 alphabetically arranged and easy-to-understand articles. Designed and written for high school students and college undergraduates, ""Historical Encyclopedia of American Business"" offers an inviting alternative to works on economic history aimed at graduate students and scholars. The coverage of this set is carefully constructed to include almost every facet of American business history on which students would most likely seek information. Scope and coverage: The coverage in this set is broad and addresses the full breadth of American business history. There are long overviews on different sectors of the economy, such as agriculture and banking; individual industries such as advertising and electronics; and general topics as business cycles, labor strikes and outsourcing. There are also overviews on broad legal topics such as antitrust legislation, bankruptcy laws and patent laws. Also covered are significant economic depressions and 'panics' as well as such events as the Boston Tea Party, the Dust Bowl of the 1930's, and the Energy crisis of 1979. Although the main thrust of this set is on broad topics and historical trends, it also offers brief biographies of 35 individual persons who have played exceptional roles in American business. These figures range from founding fathers Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, and George Washington, to some of the giants of twenty-first century business, such as Bill Gates, Indra K. Nooyi, and Martha Stewart. Other essay topics cover individual companies, corporations, labor unions, and government agencies. Among individual businesses that are subjects of essays are Apple Computers, Bell Labs, Coca Cola, eBay, and General Motors. Labor unions rating essays include the AFL-CIO and the Teamsters. In addition, there are several essays on the roles of journalism, literature, radio, television and films in business history, as well as essays on individual business publications and broadcast programs. Organization and format: Like Salem's many other works, ""Historical Encyclopedia of American Business"" is organized and formatted to be student friendly. Essays are arranged alphabetically under the headings students are most likely to check, and every essay begins with a brief summary of its topic's significance. All essays at least 500 words in length have 'Further Reading' lists, and bibliographical citations in longer essays are annotated. Special features: Volume 3 offers several helpful finding aids, including a complete category list, an annotated general bibliography, a glossary of business terms, and a time line. An index of personages, and a general subject index complete this comprehensive work. At a glance: This title contains 3 Volumes; 1,056 pages; 478 essays; 9 Appendixes; 3 Indexes; 220 photos; 10 maps; 20 charts and graphs; and 125 sidebars and tables.
