Historical Dictionary of Saudi Arabia by J. E. PetersonThe Kingdom of Saudi Arabia now has been under the spotlight of Western curiosity for more than 80 years. More than 15% of the world's total oil reserves lie underneath Saudi Arabia and, in the early 1990s, the kingdom became the world's largest crude oil producer. Not surprisingly, a world highly dependent on oil regards the desert kingdom as an area of intense strategic concern, as reflected in the coalition of forces assembled on Saudi soil to oust Iraq from Kuwait in 1991. Also, it played a major role in the invasion of Saddam Husayn's Iraq in 2003 and shares concern with the West over Iran's nuclear intentions throughout the 21st century. This third edition of Historical Dictionary of Saudi Arabia contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,000 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Saudi Arabia.
Historical Dictionary of Librarianship by Mary Ellen QuinnAlthough the history of librarianship as an organized profession dates only as far back as the mid-nineteenth century, the history of libraries is much older, and people have been engaged in pursuits that we recognize as librarianship for many thousands of years. This book traces librarianship from its origins in ancient times through its development in response to the need to control the flood of information in the modern world to the profound transformations brought about by the new technologies of the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. The Historical Dictionary of Librarianship focuses on librarianship as a modern, organized profession, emphasizing the period beginning in the mid-nineteenth century. Author Mary Ellen Quinn relates the history of this profession through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 300 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, libraries around the world, and notable organizations and associations. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about librarianship.
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Economy by Lawrence R. SullivanThe Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Economy covers the world's second largest macro economy. Extensive attention throughout the volume is given to the historical development of the Chinese economy since the establishment of the People's Republic of China (PRC) in 1949. Included is a review of developments during the period of central economic planning adopted from the Soviet Union (1953-1978) and in-depth information and analysis on the various policies and fundamental changes brought about in China by the inauguration of economic reforms from 1978-1979 through 2016. This book contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on critical sectors of the economy including automobiles, banking and finance, national currency, economic regulation, trade and investment, and important industries such as agriculture, computers and electronics, iron and steel, real estate, and shipping.. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about China's economy.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2017-11-08
Historical Dictionary of the Cold War by Joseph Smith; Simon Davis"Cold war" was a term coined in 1945 by left-leaning British writer George Orwell to predict how powers made unconquerable by having nuclear weapons would conduct future relations. It was popularized in 1947 by American journalist Walter Lippmann amid mounting tensions between the erstwhile World War II Allies - the capitalist democracies - the United States of America and Britain - versus the Soviet Union, a communist dictatorship. As the grand alliance of the "Big Three" they had defeated Nazi Germany, its satellites and Japan in World War II but became rivals who split the world into an American-led Western "bloc" and Soviet-led Eastern "bloc." Both were secured from direct attack by arraying ever-greater nuclear and conventional forces against the other while seeking global supremacy by other means. The 45-year Cold War lasted until the Soviet Union collapsed between 1989 and 1991. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Cold War contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, crucial countries and peripheral conflicts, the increasingly lethal weapons systems, and the various political and military strategies. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about this crucial period in history.
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2017-03-15
Historical Dictionary of the Kurds by Michael M. GunterThe failed states of Iraq and Syria plus the rise and fall of ISIS have helped lead to near Kurdish statehood in Iraq (the KRG) and Kurdish autonomy in Syria (Rojava). In Turkey too--as illustrated by its negotiations and temporary cease-fire with the PKK and the rise of the HDP as the first pro-Kurdish party to be elected to the Turkish parliament as a party and not as mere independents--the Kurds have reached new heights of recognition. These major developments and much more are prominently reflected and developed in this new third edition of Historical Dictionary of the Kurds. This third edition of Historical Dictionary of the Kurds contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture of the Kurds. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Kurds.
Opinions Throughout History, Voters' Rights by Micah Issit (Editor)This new series from Grey House offers in-depth, single volumes that follow the debate, or path, to a decision on a controversial topic as it evolved throughout history. Each volume offers a wide range of opinion essays and editorials, speeches, and journal articles and expert analysis.
Call Number: R324.6 I862
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Famous First Facts, Seventh Edition by H. W. Wilson; Hw Wilson (Editor)For more than half a century, Famous First Facts has earned the accolades of reviewers and a place on library reference shelves nationwide. This new edition of the reference classic is updated and expanded with new entries reflecting the latest developments and discoveries, and newly organized for better access to information.
Call Number: R031 K16.5 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Historical Dictionary of Arms Control and Disarmament by Jeffrey Arthur Larsen; James M. SmithHistorical Dictionary of Arms Control and Disarmament provides a historical review of key themes and issues in international security and arms control, focusing on efforts in the 20th century to control the spread and use of armaments and to prevent war. This book summarizes the rich and proud traditions of arms control and disarmament, their critical role in ensuring a non-catastrophic course throughout history (especially the dangerous period of the Cold War), and their continuing relevance and role in the emerging post-Cold War world. It also seeks to reinforce a broad perspective of key terms in order to capture the scope and range of their application yesterday, today, and tomorrow. Given this combined tradition and focus, this Dictionary serves two purposes. As a historical dictionary, it chronicles key terms, personalities, events, and agreements as a ready reference from which to launch a more extensive investigation. But it also seeks to capture the breadth of current and future applications by presenting the vocabulary of traditional and non-traditional approaches. The book includes a large dictionary of more than 1,000 key terms, as well as a comprehensive bibliography divided into multiple categories, an extensive chronology, and a timeline. This book can also serve as a useful desk reference for the policy practitioner. The pace and intensity of the practice of arms control often eliminates the luxury of conventional study of past or related arms control efforts. The dictionary seeks to provide a relevant sampling of treaty and agreement details and of the specific terms of reference of arms control to allow productive progress in a policy work environment. Researchers and students will also find the dictionary to be a useful reference tool. Much of the formal literature in the field, such as treaty texts and policy pronouncements, is written in technical language without elaboration. Also, many references to agreements are posed in shorthand intended only for the policy practi
Call Number: R327.174 L334
Publication Date: 2005-03-25
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater, 1930-2010 by James FisherFrom legends like Eugene O'Neill, Tennessee Williams, and Arthur Miller to successful present-day playwrights like Neil LaBute, Tony Kushner, and David Mamet, some of the most important names in the history of theater are from the past 80 years. Contemporary American theater has produced some of the most memorable, beloved, and important plays in history, including Death of a Salesman, A Streetcar Named Desire, Barefoot in the Park, Our Town, The Crucible, A Raisin in the Sun, and The Odd Couple. Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater presents the plays and personages, movements and institutions, and cultural developments of the American stage from 1930 to 2010, a period of vast and almost continuous change. It covers the ever-changing history of the American theater with emphasis on major movements, persons, plays, and events. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 1,500 cross-referenced dictionary entries. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the history of American theater. 2 Volumes.
Call Number: R792.09 F534
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Historical Dictionary of Islam by Ludwig W. AdamecThe Historical Dictionary of Islam is a handy reference for anyone requiring information on the Islamic religion and culture. It outlines the development of Islam from its beginnings in Mecca and Medina to its growth into a major world religion today. A comprehensive bibliography will guide the serious student for further research.
Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement by Ralph E. LukerThe Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement is an essential reference work for students and scholars of American history and the civil rights movement. It provides over three hundred concise descriptions of the important people, organizations, events, and the multitude of executive orders, legislative acts, and judicial decisions that played crucial roles in the historic transformation of American society after World War II. Luker includes a historical overview that offers an interpretation of the movement. He also examines the role of women in this movement and the role of four generations of black and white leaders in the cause of racial justice. Includes a chronology of the milestones of the movement and a comprehensive bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
The Spanish-American War by Brad K. BernerThe Spanish-American war was fought in numerous theaters--this Historical Dictionary is the first work to provide an accurate and detailed description of the conflict in all its arenas: Cuba, Guam, the Philippines, Puerto Rico, Spain, the United States, and the major European powers. In addition to including pre-war items from the Cuban and Philippine Revolts to the Maine disaster, the Dictionary covers major battles, correspondents, military leaders, military units, newspapers, politicians, weapons, and writers. Specific data is provided on the principal ships of the Spanish and American navies. Berner also provides in-depth coverage of the post-war period, and thoroughly discusses the Armistice Protocol and the Treaty of Paris which provided a diplomatic end to the war. There are also entries on the major scandals, such as the "Embalmed Beef Scandal," that erupted during the post-war period. Berner concludes the book with a selected bibliography of the most important works on the Spanish-American War. He provides more comprehensive information than competing volumes on the Spanish-American War, particularly on the complex diplomatic maneuvers of major European and Western Hemisphere nations such Austria-Hungary, Cuba, France, Germany, Great Britain, Japan, Italy, and the Vatican. An impressive work of scholarship that encapsulates not just the military engagements, but the wide-ranging political and cultural significance of the Spanish-American War.