Defining Documents in American History: the First Amendment by 
Women Who Changed the World: Their Lives, Challenges, and Accomplishments Through History [4 Volumes] by 
American Indian Wars : the essential reference guide by 
A History of the Second World War in 100 Maps by 
Epidemics and Pandemics: from Ancient Plagues to Modern-Day Threats [2 Volumes] by 
Documents of the Harlem Renaissance by 
Defining Documents in American History: Drug Policy by
Over the years, the First Amendment has been argued from the public square to the Supreme Court. The free press has had some remarkable effects on our history. In this two-volume set, we examine both the history and the current state of the free press, through in-depth chapters that provide a thorough commentary of significant primary source documents
Defining Documents in American History: Slavery by
Slavery was not universally endorsed, but it became a part of the economic fabric of the nation. Riots and rebellions alarmed owners and strengthened the resolve of those who worked toward the abolition of slavery and the emancipation of the men, women, and children deemed "property" and valued as only three-fifths of a human. It took a civil war to achieve the goal of freedom for all, and decades of work that continues to this day, to gain and defend the civil rights and liberties afforded to all citizens. The two-volume set includes in-depth chapters that provide a thorough commentary of significant primary source documents.
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet, Third Edition by
This authoritative, multi-volume work showcases the cabinets of all 44 presidential administrations, from George Washington to Barack Obama. With its unique arrangement (by administration) and thoughtful presentation of information, no other source provides such insight into this important political body.
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency by
""Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Revised Edition"" is the definitive guide to the role of the president from the American Revolution through the present day. Offering a complete account of every presidential election in U.S. history, this fully revised A-to-Z encyclopedia will make a great first stop for students and general readers looking for information on the executive branch of the American government. Its comprehensive scope spans the relationship between the executive and the other branches of government, court cases, elections, political opponents, scandals, and more. A valuable resource that provides concise information, ""Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Revised Edition"" contains approximately 700 entries and many wonderful black-and-white illustrations. It includes: George W. Bush; Commander in chief; Economic policy; Executive privilege; Impeachment; Iraq War; Thomas Jefferson; Military tribunals; Barack Obama; Oval office; The Secret Service; Veto power; and, White House.
Ancient Egypt, 2615-332 B.C.E. by 
Ancient Mesopotamia, 3300-331 B.C.E. by
World Eras, a cross-disciplinary overview of world history from a global and multicultural perspective, covers the events, lifestyles, social history and key figures unique to each era. Each volume begins with an introductory essay describing the time period. Each chapter includes an overview essay; timeline; subject-specific essays and biographies; and more. Volumes also include 150 photographs, line drawings, diagrams and illustrations.
Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage by
The Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage chronicles more than a millennium of history -- the rich and varied tapestry woven by Africans who remained on their ancestral continent, those who were forced to leave their homes, and their descendants who developed roots in a new land. The broad scope of coverage highlights people, places, culture, politics, and history.
Encyclopedia of Cyber Warfare by
This definitive reference resource on cyber warfare covers all aspects of this headline topic, providing historical context of cyber warfare and an examination its rapid development into a potent technological weapon of the 21st century. * Provides comprehensive coverage of the major individuals, organizations, impacts, and issues related to cyber warfare that enables readers to better understanding of the impact of cyber warfare on modern conflicts * Includes a detailed chronology that documents the evolution and use of cyber warfare over the past few decades * Supplies further readings and a lengthy bibliography that offer a wealth of options to students conducting extensive research on the subject
The Encyclopedia of New Jersey by
The Encyclopedia of New Jersey is the most extensive reference work ever published on the Garden State. The Encyclopedia contains nearly 3,000 original articles, along with 585 illustrations and 130 maps, collecting a wealth of information about the state in one volume. The Encyclopedia is filled with fascinating and interesting entries ranging from New Jersey's earliest history to the present. For example-Did you know that New Jersey was once divided into two parts-East Jersey and West Jersey? That streptomycin was first isolated at Rutgers University? Or that the first vote cast by an African American under the Fifteenth Amendment was in Perth Amboy? How about that New Jersey was the site of the first intercollegiate football game? These facts, and thousands more, can be found in the pages of the Encyclopedia of New Jersey. This volume will provide the answers to questions about New Jersey that you never even knew you had! Whether you are merely perusing the pages or are researching a particular subject, the Encyclopedia of New Jersey is your definitive source for information on the Garden State, covering a broad range of subject areas, including: * Architecture, decorative arts, painting, and sculpture * Biographies * Business and economics * Communications and media * Education * Ethnicity * Folklore, museums, and theater * Geography * History * Government, law, politics, and public policy * Literature * Medicine and health * Municipalities and counties * Recreation and sports * Religion * Science and technology * Transportation * and many more subjects
The European Renaissance and Reformation by
Part of a series aiming to help students and researchers understand key periods in world history, this volume is divided into nine chapters that focus on arts and communication through the period of renaissance and reformation within Europe.
The Great Black Migrations by
During the early decades of the 20th century, the movement of blacks from the South to urban areas in the North, the Midwest, and the West increased dramatically. They sought better lives away from the South, where the economic conditions were worsening. The only job opportunities were sharecropping land where their ancestors had been enslaved or doing domestic labor. Widespread flooding and the infestation of cotton by the boll weevil created additional economic woes. In addition, mob violence and the spread of lynching in the region pushed blacks to migrate north. By 1918, European immigration had dropped sharply, and the North needed workers due to the United States entering World War I. Although not all Northerners welcomed the migrants and violence against blacks increased in the North, some blacks found that mobility was the only way to escape oppression and improve their lives. In The Great Black Migrations: From the Rural South to the Urban North, learn how blacks have reshaped America while also reshaping their own lives.
Imperial China, 617-1644 by
Part of a series aiming to help students and researchers understand key periods in world history, this volume is divided into nine chapters that focus on Imperial China.
The Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914 by
World Eras is patterned after the award-winning American Decade's series. Covering areas often overlooked by other publications, World Eras provides a multicultural approach that directly reflects changing curriculum standards, with a cross-disciplinary overview of world history and a strong emphasis of daily life and social history.Each volume in this set contains in-depth coverage of one era and is organized into ten chapters: World events -- A Chronology Geography The Arts -- Sculpture, Architecture, Painting and Music Communications, Transportation and Exploration Social class Systems and the Economy -- focusing on social-economic hierarchy Politics, Law and the Military Leisure, Recreation and Daily life -- housing, clothing, food, education, etc. Family and Social Trends -- customs, beliefs, roles and responsibilities Religion and Philosophy Science, Technology and HealthEach volume includes an introductory essay that provides context and overview of the era written by a scholar in the field and will contain 150 photographs, line drawings, diagrams, illustrations and sidebars. Each chapter within a volume includes an introductory essay, a timeline, entries on specific topics, events or movements, biographies of prominent individuals, and important publications of the era. A glossary of subject-specific terms appears at the end of the book.
Medieval Europe, 814-1350 by
Part of a series aiming to help students and researchers understand key periods in world history, this volume is divided into nine chapters that focus on Medieval Europe
Classical Greek Civilization, 800-323 B.C.E. by 
Milestone Documents in African American History, Revised Edition by
Primary source documents, with in-depth expert analysis of the court cases, presidential and legislative initiatives, and speeches that tell the story of African American history.
Opposition to War [2 Volumes] by
How have Americans sought peaceful, rather than destructive, solutions to domestic and world conflict? This two-volume set documents peace and antiwar movements in the United States from the colonial era to the present. * Provides an unrivaled complete description of peacemaking efforts in the United States that leads readers to consider how future wars might be prevented * Draws on the expertise of more than 130 scholarly experts to examine the entirety of American history, from the colonial era to modern times * Reveals the multiple religious and secular motivations of peace seekers in the United States * Examines how war and those who oppose war have been portrayed in popular media over the centuries
Roman Republic and Empire by
Part of a series aiming to help students and researchers understand key periods in world history, this volume examines the rise and spread of Islam.
The Rise and Spread of Islam, 622-1500 by
Part of a series aiming to help students and researchers understand key periods in world history, this volume examines the rise and spread of Islam.
This link opens in a new window
Defining Documents in American History: Slavery by 
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet, Third Edition by
This authoritative, multi-volume work showcases the cabinets of all 44 presidential administrations, from George Washington to Barack Obama. With its unique arrangement (by administration) and thoughtful presentation of information, no other source provides such insight into this important political body.
Milestone Documents in African American History, Revised Edition by
Primary source documents, with in-depth expert analysis of the court cases, presidential and legislative initiatives, and speeches that tell the story of African American history.
Encyclopedia of the Continental Congresses by
This new two-volume set provides an in-depth examination of the Congresses and their impact and role in the shaping and foundation of early American society and government.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business by
Comprehensive coverage of all major aspects of business and finance in American history, covering the full breadth of American business history in 478 alphabetically arranged and easy-to-understand articles. Designed and written for high school students and college undergraduates, ""Historical Encyclopedia of American Business"" offers an inviting alternative to works on economic history aimed at graduate students and scholars. The coverage of this set is carefully constructed to include almost every facet of American business history on which students would most likely seek information. Scope and coverage: The coverage in this set is broad and addresses the full breadth of American business history. There are long overviews on different sectors of the economy, such as agriculture and banking; individual industries such as advertising and electronics; and general topics as business cycles, labor strikes and outsourcing. There are also overviews on broad legal topics such as antitrust legislation, bankruptcy laws and patent laws. Also covered are significant economic depressions and 'panics' as well as such events as the Boston Tea Party, the Dust Bowl of the 1930's, and the Energy crisis of 1979. Although the main thrust of this set is on broad topics and historical trends, it also offers brief biographies of 35 individual persons who have played exceptional roles in American business. These figures range from founding fathers Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, and George Washington, to some of the giants of twenty-first century business, such as Bill Gates, Indra K. Nooyi, and Martha Stewart. Other essay topics cover individual companies, corporations, labor unions, and government agencies. Among individual businesses that are subjects of essays are Apple Computers, Bell Labs, Coca Cola, eBay, and General Motors. Labor unions rating essays include the AFL-CIO and the Teamsters. In addition, there are several essays on the roles of journalism, literature, radio, television and films in business history, as well as essays on individual business publications and broadcast programs. Organization and format: Like Salem's many other works, ""Historical Encyclopedia of American Business"" is organized and formatted to be student friendly. Essays are arranged alphabetically under the headings students are most likely to check, and every essay begins with a brief summary of its topic's significance. All essays at least 500 words in length have 'Further Reading' lists, and bibliographical citations in longer essays are annotated. Special features: Volume 3 offers several helpful finding aids, including a complete category list, an annotated general bibliography, a glossary of business terms, and a time line. An index of personages, and a general subject index complete this comprehensive work. At a glance: This title contains 3 Volumes; 1,056 pages; 478 essays; 9 Appendixes; 3 Indexes; 220 photos; 10 maps; 20 charts and graphs; and 125 sidebars and tables.
