The Routledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern French by Michael MouldTheRoutledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern Frenchreveals the hidden cultural dimension of contemporary French, as used in the press, going beyond the limited and purely lexical approach of traditional bilingual dictionaries. Even foreign learners of French who possess a good level of French often have difficulty in fully understanding French articles, not because of any linguistic shortcomings on their part but because of their inadequate knowledge of the cultural references. This cultural dictionary of French provides the reader with clear and concise explanations of the crucial cultural dimension behind the most frequently used words and phrases found in the contemporary French press. This vital background information, gathered here in this innovative and entertaining dictionary, will allow readers to go beyond a superficial understanding of the French press and the French language in general, to see the hidden yet implied cultural significance that is so transparent to the native speaker. Key features: a broad range of cultural references from the historical and literary to the popular and classical, with an in-depth analysis of punning mechanisms. over 3,000 cultural references explained a three-level indicator of frequency over 600 questions to test knowledge before and after reading. The Routledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern Frenchis the ideal reference for all undergraduate and postgraduate students of French seeking to enhance their understanding of the French language. It will also be of interest to teachers, translators and Francophiles alike. French students in khâgne, Sciences-Po and schools of journalism will also find this valuable and relevant for their studies.
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2011-05-25
The Browser's Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases by Mary Varchaver; Frank Ledlie MooreFrom angst to zydeco, the ultimate guide to foreign terms and phrases English is not only the most widely spoken language in the world, it is also the most dynamic. And one of the chief sources of its enormous vitality is the many foreign words and phrases with which it is continually enriched. The ultimate guide for writers, editors, and word-lovers of every ilk, The Browsers Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases is an A-to-Z compendium of 2,000 loan-words currently used in English speech and writing. It includes words from around the world, for instance: rapprochement, macho, and imbroglio (France, Spain, and Italy); gestalt and zeitgeist (Germany); gulag and apparatchik (Russia); shibboleth (Hebrew); purdah and bungalow (Hindi); loofah (Arabic); netsuke (Japan); and thousands more. Each entry provides a guide to pronunciation, literal and idiomatic definitions, and some offer short examples of how the word is used by contemporary speakers and authors. Mary Varchaver (Hastings, NY) is a freelance writer, researcher, and editor. She is also the coauthor, along with Frank Ledlie Moore of The Dictionary of the Performing Arts.
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2002-03-12
Oxford ReferenceA collection of 400+ authoritative reference works, including the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, the Visual English Dictionary, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, as well as illustrated natural history titles such as the Encyclopedia of Mammals. Includes timelines, bibliographies, maps, and illustrations.