Mastering United States Government Information: Sources and Services by Christopher C. BrownThis up-to-date guide provides informational professionals and their clients with much-needed assistance in navigating the immense field of government information. When information professionals are asked questions involving government information, they often experience that "deer in the headlights" feeling. Mastering United States Government Information helps them overcome any trepidation about finding and using government documents. Written by Christopher C. Brown, coordinator of government documents at the University of Denver, this approachable book provides an introduction to all major areas of U.S. government information. It references resources in all formats, including print and online. Examples are provided so users will feel comfortable solving government information questions on their own, while exercises at the end of chapters enable users to practice answering questions for themselves. Additionally, several appendixes serve as quick reference sources for topics such as congressional sessions, the most popular government publications, federal statistical databases, and citation of government publications. It serves as a practical and current guide for practitioners as well as a text or supplementary reading for students of library information studies and for in-service trainings. Acts as a training book for public and academic librarians who provide reference services Includes background, with exercises, for professors needing a text to teach government information Provides coverage of the newest electronic resources, with references to print resources Offers exercises to assist in the learning process for these challenging topics
A Guide to Federal Terms and Acronyms by Don Philpott (Editor)Navigating government documents is a task that requires considerable knowledge of specialized terms and acronyms. This required knowledge nearly amounts to knowing a completely different language. To those who are not fluent, the task can be overwhelming, as federal departments fill their documents with acronyms, abbreviations, and terms that mean little or nothing to the outsider. Would you be able to make sense of a document that described how the COTR reports to the CO regarding compliance with FAR, GPRA, SARA, and FASA? (This is a common procedure in government contracting.) Would you have any clue what was being referred to if you came across MIL-STD-129P? (It is the new standard for Military Shipping Label Requirements.) The sheer number of such terms makes mastering them nearly impossible. But now, these terms and their definitions are within reach. This new edition of A Guide to Federal Terms and Acronyms presents a glossary of key definitions used by the federal government. It is updated to include new acronyms and terminology from various federal government departments. It covers the most common terms, acronyms, and abbreviations used by each major agency, presenting definitions and explanations in a user-friendly and accessible way. This is an essential tool for anyone who works with federal government information.
Historical Dictionary of Democracy by Norman Abjorensen"Historical Dictionary of Democracy contains a chronology, an introduction, a glossary, an extensive bibliography, and a dictionary section with more than 600 cross-referenced entries. It is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the theory, origins, and practice of democracy"--
CQ Press Electronic LibrarySearch across all four CQ Press subscriptions: Congress Collection, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, and Voting and Elections Collection.
CQ ResearcherProvides in-depth, non-partisan reporting and analysis of current affairs. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
CQ Congress CollectionAuthoritative information and data on legislation, members, and the history and powers of the U.S. Congress. Tools and data to analyze Congress, as well as a congressional dictionary and information on how Congress works. Search for members by demographics, compare voting habits, and view how they've been ranked by interest groups. View historical information on congress, including votes back to 1969. All data can be exported.
CQ Voting and Elections CollectionFind authoritative reference narratives and documents on elections, parties, voter behavior, and campaigns. Extract election results by meaningful characteristics: candidate, office, locality, and race type over time. Includes current and historical congressional district maps, historical election results, raw election data and analysis (both national and state), election trends and voter demographics.
American Congressional Dictionary by C. Q. Press CQ PressFrom Absence of a Quorum to Zone Whip, this handy desk reference volume aides librarians, students, and adults with more than 900 entries. For example: Hopper - a box on the clerk's desk in the House into which members deposit proposed bills. Absolute Majority - A vote requiring approval by a majority of all members of a house rather than a majority of members present and voting. Queen of the Hill Rule - A House rule allowing votes on a series of amendments to a bill but directs that the amendment with the most votes wins, even if others also received a majority. American Congressional Dictionary was written originally by Walter Kravitz, who was senior expert on Congress with the Congressional Research Service. Since his death, the volume has been updated by former CRS colleagues and now serves as the official definition guide for CRS experts.