The Cambridge Guide to English Usage by Pam PetersThe Cambridge Guide to English Usage is an A-Z reference book, giving an up-to-date account of the debatable issues of English usage and written style. Its advice draws on a wealth of recent research and data from very large corpora of American and British English - illuminating their many divergences and also points of convergence on which international English can be based. The book comprises more than 4000 points of word meaning, spelling, grammar and punctuation, and larger issues of inclusive language, and effective writing and argument. It also provides guidance on grammatical terminology, and covers topics in electronic communication and the internet. The discussion notes the major dictionaries, grammars and usage books in the USA, UK, Canada and Australia, allowing readers to calibrate their own practices as required. CGEU is descriptive rather than prescriptive, but offers a principled basis for implementing progressive or more conservative decisions on usage.
Dictionary of the English language throughout recorded history. Includes detailed etymologies, examples of use, and audio pronunciation. Words chosen for inclusion are included in all subsequent editions, which can provide context for research in historical documents.
A collection of 400+ authoritative reference works, including the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, the Visual English Dictionary, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, as well as illustrated natural history titles such as the Encyclopedia of Mammals. Includes timelines, bibliographies, maps, and illustrations.
NTC's American Idioms Dictionary by Richard A. SpearsCompletely revised, updated, reorganized, and enlarged with 600 new entries. Essential for writers and learners of American English, it features a unique new format, an appendix of 500 fixed-order phrases--such as "fast and furious--that cannot be reversed, and a Phrase-Finder Index for easy lookups of even partially remembered phrases.