Opinions Throughout History: Law Enforcement in America by 
Opinions throughout history : war & the military by 
Violence in American Society: an Encyclopedia of Trends, Problems, and Perspectives [2 Volumes] by 
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information: a Guide for Librarians, Students, and Researchers, 4th Edition by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by 
A History of the Second World War in 100 Maps by 
Attacks on the American Press: a Documentary and Reference Guide by 
A Companion to the United States Constitution and Its Amendments, 7th Edition by 
Mastering United States Government Information: Sources and Services by
This up-to-date guide provides informational professionals and their clients with much-needed assistance in navigating the immense field of government information. When information professionals are asked questions involving government information, they often experience that "deer in the headlights" feeling. Mastering United States Government Information helps them overcome any trepidation about finding and using government documents. Written by Christopher C. Brown, coordinator of government documents at the University of Denver, this approachable book provides an introduction to all major areas of U.S. government information. It references resources in all formats, including print and online. Examples are provided so users will feel comfortable solving government information questions on their own, while exercises at the end of chapters enable users to practice answering questions for themselves. Additionally, several appendixes serve as quick reference sources for topics such as congressional sessions, the most popular government publications, federal statistical databases, and citation of government publications. It serves as a practical and current guide for practitioners as well as a text or supplementary reading for students of library information studies and for in-service trainings. Acts as a training book for public and academic librarians who provide reference services Includes background, with exercises, for professors needing a text to teach government information Provides coverage of the newest electronic resources, with references to print resources Offers exercises to assist in the learning process for these challenging topics
American Congress by
The tenth edition of this respected textbook provides a fresh perspective and a crisp introduction to congressional politics. Informed by the authors' Capitol Hill experience and scholarship, the new edition reflects changes in Congress resulting from the 2018 elections and such developments as (a) a new majority party in the House; (b) new campaign spending numbers and election outcomes, rules, committees, leaders, and budget developments; and (c) recent political science literature that provides new perspectives on the institution. The text emphasizes the recent developments and includes important learning aids, including lists of key term, discussion questions and suggested further reading. Alongside clear explanations of congressional rules and the lawmaking process there are examples from contemporary events and debates that highlight Congress as a group of politicians as well as a lawmaking body.
Defining Documents in American History: Drug Policy by
Over the years, the First Amendment has been argued from the public square to the Supreme Court. The free press has had some remarkable effects on our history. In this two-volume set, we examine both the history and the current state of the free press, through in-depth chapters that provide a thorough commentary of significant primary source documents
Defining Documents in American History: Slavery by
Slavery was not universally endorsed, but it became a part of the economic fabric of the nation. Riots and rebellions alarmed owners and strengthened the resolve of those who worked toward the abolition of slavery and the emancipation of the men, women, and children deemed "property" and valued as only three-fifths of a human. It took a civil war to achieve the goal of freedom for all, and decades of work that continues to this day, to gain and defend the civil rights and liberties afforded to all citizens. The two-volume set includes in-depth chapters that provide a thorough commentary of significant primary source documents.
Covering American Politics in the 21st Century by
This encyclopedia provides a real-world guide to American political journalism and news coverage in the 21st century, from the most influential media organizations and pundits to the controversies and practices shaping modern-day political journalism. * Offers impartial and objective coverage of the largest and most influential individuals and organizations in American political media * Explores the ways in which public officials and political activists attempt to spin news coverage * Shares in-depth surveys of hot-button issues concerning the practice of both journalism and politics in the modern era * Includes hard-hitting primary documents from well-known political and media figures that provide perspectives on what happens when the worlds of news and politics collide * Pulls from journalistic and scholarly work as well as firsthand accounts from biographies and official statements to illuminate the intersection of media and politics for readers
Encyclopedia of African American Popular Culture by
This four-volume encyclopedia contains comprehensive information on African American popular culture that will be valuable to high school students and undergraduates, college instructors, researchers, and general readers. * Contains writings from 100 contributing authors, all identified in a separate listing * Includes a chronology placing pivotal events--such as the beginning of black baseball, the modern Civil Rights Movement, and the Harlem Renaissance--in historical context * Depicts key places, events, and people through photographs as well as words * Provides a list of black radio programs and movies
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency by
""Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Revised Edition"" is the definitive guide to the role of the president from the American Revolution through the present day. Offering a complete account of every presidential election in U.S. history, this fully revised A-to-Z encyclopedia will make a great first stop for students and general readers looking for information on the executive branch of the American government. Its comprehensive scope spans the relationship between the executive and the other branches of government, court cases, elections, political opponents, scandals, and more. A valuable resource that provides concise information, ""Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Revised Edition"" contains approximately 700 entries and many wonderful black-and-white illustrations. It includes: George W. Bush; Commander in chief; Economic policy; Executive privilege; Impeachment; Iraq War; Thomas Jefferson; Military tribunals; Barack Obama; Oval office; The Secret Service; Veto power; and, White House.
Encyclopedia of Public Health by
Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues. * Presents complex health issues in ways that encourage readers to pursue the many different opportunities in the field of public health * Supplies insights from contributors that include experts on diseases such as hepatitis, substance abuse prevention, the history of medicine, and neurology * Provides a functional foundation for those working to improve the health of communities or individuals * Identifies relevant connections between physical, social, and emotional health and well-being to everyday life * Serves as a gateway to additional research and study by providing suggested further readings with each entry
Opposition to War [2 Volumes] by
How have Americans sought peaceful, rather than destructive, solutions to domestic and world conflict? This two-volume set documents peace and antiwar movements in the United States from the colonial era to the present. * Provides an unrivaled complete description of peacemaking efforts in the United States that leads readers to consider how future wars might be prevented * Draws on the expertise of more than 130 scholarly experts to examine the entirety of American history, from the colonial era to modern times * Reveals the multiple religious and secular motivations of peace seekers in the United States * Examines how war and those who oppose war have been portrayed in popular media over the centuries
Opinions Throughout History Voters' Rights by
This new series from Grey House offers in-depth, single volumes that follow the debate, or path, to a decision on a controversial topic as it evolved throughout history. Each volume offers a wide range of opinion essays and editorials, speeches, and journal articles and expert analysis.
Opinions Throughout History - Immigration by
This new series from Grey House offers in-depth, single volumes that follow the debate, or path, to a decision on a controversial topic as it evolved throughout history. Each volume offers a wide range of opinion essays and editorials, speeches, and journal articles and expert analysis.
Secrets, Leaks and Scandals by
The 80 documents are organized into the following major categories: Political Scandals; Spies and Espionage; Social Scandals; Financial Schemes; Whistleblowers; Wikileaks; and Institutional Dirty Linen Laundering. Each document chapter includes the primary source document, often reproduced in its entirety, Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes.
Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore, Gods & Goddesses by
Many mythological traditions from around the world seek to explain the origins of the earth, human beings, and the forces of nature. This set examines the stories associated with gods and goddesses: their relationships with each other and with human beings; their faults, foibles, strengths, and special powers. It offers explanations of how the gods and goddesses gifted humans with life, water, fire, music, and dance. Nearly 220 essays detail gods and goddesses from around the globe: the Greek and Roman pantheon including Zeus, Neptune, Nike, and Aphrodite; Norse gods including Odin and Loki; Native American deities including Hunahpu and Xbalanque; and Egyptian gods and goddesses like Ra and Osiris.
Opinions Throughout History Voters' Rights by
This new series from Grey House offers in-depth, single volumes that follow the debate, or path, to a decision on a controversial topic as it evolved throughout history. Each volume offers a wide range of opinion essays and editorials, speeches, and journal articles and expert analysis.
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet, Third Edition by
This authoritative, multi-volume work showcases the cabinets of all 44 presidential administrations, from George Washington to Barack Obama. With its unique arrangement (by administration) and thoughtful presentation of information, no other source provides such insight into this important political body.
Secrets, Leaks and Scandals by
The 80 documents are organized into the following major categories: Political Scandals; Spies and Espionage; Social Scandals; Financial Schemes; Whistleblowers; Wikileaks; and Institutional Dirty Linen Laundering. Each document chapter includes the primary source document, often reproduced in its entirety, Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes.
Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore, Gods & Goddesses by
Many mythological traditions from around the world seek to explain the origins of the earth, human beings, and the forces of nature. This set examines the stories associated with gods and goddesses: their relationships with each other and with human beings; their faults, foibles, strengths, and special powers. It offers explanations of how the gods and goddesses gifted humans with life, water, fire, music, and dance. Nearly 220 essays detail gods and goddesses from around the globe: the Greek and Roman pantheon including Zeus, Neptune, Nike, and Aphrodite; Norse gods including Odin and Loki; Native American deities including Hunahpu and Xbalanque; and Egyptian gods and goddesses like Ra and Osiris.
