The New Jersey State Library is a federal depository library. Federal publications and other information products are made available for free public use in Federal depository libraries throughout the United States and its territories.
The nation’s premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy documents, including presidential directives, theses and reports from universities, organizations and state and local agencies. Note: access is limited by Department of Homeland Security. State employees with standard state email addresses can register for remote access to this database by clicking on the “Request an individual HSDL account” on the database home page.
Search for federal publications, including descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords. Maintained by the Government Publishing Office (GPO).
Researching politics, Congress and U.S. History? Start here. Database includes
Congress in Context (histories of each session from 1789-present, including key events and personnel)
Members of Congress profiles (including sponsored bills, remarks, floor votes, and histories from 1789-present)
Legislative histories of U.S. statutes (1969-present)
Searchable full-text of Congressional Record (1985-present), Code of Federal Regulations (1981-present) and the Federal Register (1980-present)
Consolidated search across federal government's and individual politicians' social media platforms, as well as political news from Washington Post (1987-present), RollCall (1998-present), and CQ Political Transcripts (1995-present)
The official handbook of the Federal Government, providing information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches, particularly their programs and activities. Also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual has been published annually in a special edition of the Federal Register from 1995-present.
Homeland Security by Michael C. LeMayThis book provides a comprehensive summary of the creation of the Department of Homeland Security and efforts to protect the United States from international terrorism. * Provides readers with an objective, nonpartisan perspective on the complexity of enacting and implementing homeland security policy so that readers may better understand how difficult it is to combat terrorism * Illuminates how "lone-wolf" terrorists become radicalized and why they are so difficult for the government to protect against * Suggests more than a dozen proposed solutions to the vexing problems associated with protecting the United States from international terrorism * Details how immigration and homeland security are inherently related, and why Arab- and Muslim-American minorities suffer the brunt of the negative effects of the nation's border security crackdown * Explains why unauthorized immigration from Mexico and Central America has risen exponentially since 1970 and why policy to deal with illegal immigration poses such a conundrum
Researching National Security and Intelligence Policy by Albert T. ChapmanNational security issues are a constant concern in today's world. Accompanying heightened public interest in national security is an increased desire on the part of students, scholars, and professional researchers to learn more about government policy in this area. Written by an ARL librarian, Researching National Security and Intelligence Policy examines and annotates the rich variety of unclassified print and electronic resources available to users studying the formulation of national security policy in the U.S. and throughout the English-speaking world. intelligence policy information produced by these and other sources: Department of Defense and other Executive Branch agencies; Military, independent, and intelligence agencies; Congress; Commissions and advisory organizations; U.S. and international research institutions; International government organizations; Journals and scholars. Background information on the origins and development of national security policy study in the U.S. is included as are sidebar features that provide unique and useful tips on high-interest topics such as military and defense agency structure, relevant legislation, document classification systems, military protocol, acronyms, and other tidbits that will give readers additional insight into researching national security and intelligence policy.
Call Number: R025.06 Cha, US Docs Reference, Level 4
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
Foreign Policy and National Security Information
Homeland Security Digital LibraryThe nation’s premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy documents, including presidential directives, theses and reports from universities, organizations and state and local agencies. Note: access is limited by Department of Homeland Security. State employees with standard state email addresses can register for remote access to this database by clicking on the “Request an individual HSDL account” on the database home page.