Research Guides: U.S. Government: Executive Branch

About the Executive Branch

Branches of Government
Learn more about the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
Our Government: The Executive Branch
An explanation of the Executive Branch from the official U.S. White House website, Whitehouse.gov

The Government of the United States Organizational Chart

Presidential Documents, Compilation of, 1993 to Present
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
Presidential Signing Statements and Remarks
Presidential signing statements from Govinfo.gov's Compilation of Presidential Documents Collection, 1993 - present.
State of the Union Addresses, 1994 to Present
Presidential Address before the Joint Session of the Congress on the State of the Union
Executive Orders: An Introduction

Executive Office of the President

Executive Departments

Quasi-Official Agencies

Legal Services Corporation The Legal Services Corporation promotes equal access to justice and provides legal assistance to low-income persons. While not officially executive agencies, quasi-official agencies are required by statute to publish certain information on their programs and activities in the Federal Register.
Smithsonian Institution The Smithsonian Institution is an independent trust instrumentality of the United States which comprises the world’s largest museum and research complex. While not officially executive agencies, quasi-official agencies are required by statute to publish certain information on their programs and activities in the Federal Register.
State Justice Institute The State Justice Institute awards grants to improve the administration of justice in the State courts of the United States. While not officially executive agencies, quasi-official agencies are required by statute to publish certain information on their programs and activities in the Federal Register.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum maintains a permanent living memorial to the victims of the Holocaust and provides ways to document, study, and interpret the Holocaust. While not officially executive agencies, quasi-official agencies are required by statute to publish certain information on their programs and activities in the Federal Register.
United States Institute of Peace The United States Institute of Peace prevents, mitigates, and resolves violent conflicts around the world by direct engagement in conflict zones and providing analysis, education, and resources to those working for peace. While not officially executive agencies, quasi-official agencies are required by statute to publish certain information on their programs and activities in the Federal Register.

Boards, Commissions, and Committees

Boards, Commissions and Committees
These organizations were established by congressional or Presidential action, and their functions are not limited to supporting a parent agency.

Use to Locate Government Information

Helpful Resources

United States Government Manual by United States. Office of the Federal Register.
Call Number: AE2.108/2: Yr., US Documents

United States Government Manual Online
Constitution of the United States
Declaration of Independence
Commonly Used Agency Acronyms
Government Contacts by Topic
Find contact information for government programs, listed by topic
Presidential Elections, 1789 to 1920: Resource Guides, Library of Congress
U.S. Government Organizational Chart

Research Databases

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
- This link opens in a new window

Congress.gov
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Explore a Bill (video)
*Create and Use Congress.gov Email Alerts (video)
ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Congress Collection
CQ Press Electronic Library
CQ Voting and Elections Collection

Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes.
- This link opens in a new window

HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
Training guides and video tutorials are available.

CQ Magazine
CRS Reports
- This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides accurate, non-partisan policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate.
United States Government Manual
- This link opens in a new window

United States Government Manual Website Regularly updated database

USA.gov USA.gov is the official online guide to government information and services.
- This link opens in a new window

U.S. Government

About the Executive Branch

Executive Office of the President

Executive Departments

Quasi-Official Agencies

Boards, Commissions, and Committees

Use to Locate Government Information

Helpful Resources

Research Databases

Federal Information in the News

CONTACT

TALKING BOOK & BRAILLE CENTER

STATEWIDE SERVICES

USING THE LIBRARY