U.S. Government

The following federal government resources are available in HeinOnline:

Civil Rights and Social Justice

Contains publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.

Code of Federal Regulations

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government of the United States. HeinOnline’s coverage of the CFR is comprehensive, containing all volumes dating back to inception (1938)

Federal Register Library

The Federal Register is the official journal of the federal government of the United States. The database is updated daily and its coverage is comprehensive, beginning from inception in 1936. It also includes the CFR from inception (1938), Official US Bulletin (1917-1919), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), and Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965)

GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions

HeinOnline's GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions database contains reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of federal programs conducted by the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included.

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America

This timely database brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States. It also includes an extensive bibliography and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject.

Manual of Patent Examining Procedure

This manual is published to provide U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) examiners, applicants, attorneys, agents, and representatives of applicants with a reference work on the practices and procedures relative to the prosecution of patent applications before the USPTO. It contains instructions to examiners, as well as other material relevant to information and interpretation, and outlines the current procedures which the examiners are required or authorized to follow in appropriate cases in the normal examination of a patent application.

Pentagon Papers

The Pentagon Papers, officially titled Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force, is a United States Department of Defense history of the United States' political and military involvement in Vietnam from 1945 to 1967.

U.S. Code

This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. It also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.

U.S. Congressional Documents

This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (early 1900s-present), as well as other important congressional material such as hearings, CRS Reports, and much more.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set

The United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, is considered the most essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, the American State Papers, and much more. This ongoing project in HeinOnline is being released in phases and will soon contain complete coverage of the Serial Set. The Serial Set is indexed from inception to date and contains comprehensive full-text coverage from 1978-date. In addition, the HeinOnline interface is easy to search and browse and contains unique tools to help users quickly locate specific content.

U.S. Federal Legislative History Library

In addition to the inclusion of comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, this database also includes a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories.

U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library

To help researchers understand these rare but always fascinating historical events, HeinOnline now offers a new collection, U.S. Presidential Impeachment. Organized by the four affected presidents, this collection brings together a variety of documents both contemporaneous and asynchronous to each president's impeachment, presenting both a snapshot of the political climate as each impeachment played out and the long view history has taken of each proceeding.

U.S. Presidential Library

This database includes messages and papers of the presidents, daily and weekly compilations of presidential documents, public papers of the presidents, documents relating to impeachment, Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and a host of other related works.

U.S. Statutes at Large

This database includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, featuring every law, public and private, ever enacted by Congress. It also includes early federal codes and compilations of statutes, as well as other related works.

U.S. Supreme Court Library

This database includes complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes, as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court.

U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library

This library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. It includes prominent collections such as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.

Databases

Visitors to the library have access to a wide variety of electronic databases; however, remote access to subscription databases is restricted to State Library authorized users: state employees and, unless otherwise noted, Thomas Edison staff and students. Authorized users needing a State Library access card, should complete the appropriate online registration form.

FDLP Academy Training Repository

Webinars and webcasts on a wide variety of Government information topics, presented by GPO, other Federal agencies, or from the FDLP community.
The goals of the FDLP Academy are to:

• Inform and educate the Federal depository library community about U.S. Government information resources.
• Assist Federal depository libraries in better serving their communities.
• Advance Government information literacy.

Historical Print Resources:

Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909, 3rd ed., Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1911.
Call # GP 3.2: C41/2  US Documents Reference, Level 4

Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881, Ben Perley Poore, Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1885.
Call # GP 3.6: 1774-1881  US Documents Reference, Level 4

Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893, John G. Ames, Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1905.
Call # GP 3.6: 1881-1893 US Documents Reference, Level 4

United States Government Publications, a Monthly Catalogue, 1885-1894, John H. Hickcox and Mary Elizabeth Poole, Arlington, VA: Carrollton Press, 1978.
Call # GP 3.8: 1885-1894  US Documents Reference, Level 4

Document Catalog, 1895-1940, Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1896-1945.
Call # GP 3.6: 1893-1940 US Documents Reference, Level 4

Monthly catalog of United States Government publications. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office.
Call # GP3.8: 1895-1996 JAN  US Documents Reference, Level 4

Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976, comp. Daniel W. Lester, Sandra K. Faull, and Lorraine E. Lester, Arlington, VA: United States Historical Documents Institute, 1979- 
Call # R015.73 C9712 US Documents Reference, Level 4

Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1900-1971, William W. Buchanan, Washington, DC: Carrollton Press, 1973-1975.
Call # GP 3.8: 1900-1971 US Documents Reference, Level 4

Discovery Service for the NJ State Library

You can start your research using the Discovery Service - this service is an easy way to search in almost all of the NJ State Library's content at once. Searching here will look in the library catalog, many databases, journals, magazines, government documents and institutional repositories.

Enter the title of a document to find out if it is available in one of the online databases or the NJ State Library's catalog.

Please note that remote access to online journal content is restricted to State Library authorized users: NJ state employees and, unless otherwise noted, Thomas Edison staff and students. Authorized users needing a State Library access card, should complete the appropriate online borrower registration form

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation.
In September 2018, the Library of Congress began releasing Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports to the public at crsreports.congress.gov.