Skip to main content

The New Jersey State Library is closed for walk-in service, but Reference Staff are available for assistance at refdesk@njstatelib.org.

U.S. Government

The New Jersey State Library is a federal depository library. Federal publications and other information products are made available for free public use in Federal depository libraries throughout the United States and its territories.

United States Documents Collection

The New Jersey State Library has been a Federal Depository Library since 1895.  Federal depository libraries provide free access to federal publications and resources and make available, trained librarians to assist in their use. 

The New Jersey State Library is a selective federal depository library, selecting 57% of what the Government Publishing Office (GPO) distributes to federal depository libraries.   
About the Collection

The State Library's US Documents collection is tailored to meet the needs of State government, with an emphasis on the Social Sciences, Legal, and  Congressional materials.  State Library holdings include a complete Census collection, dating back to the 1st Census (1790), and a comprehensive collection of Congressional reports and documents.  The State Library contains major holdings from the following federal agencies: Commerce, Education, Environmental Protection, Health & Human Services, Justice, and Labor.


Cataloging
All the federal documents the State Library currently receives from the Government Publishing Office (GPO) are cataloged*.

*Since March 2009, the State library has participated in the GPO's Cataloging Record Distribution Project. This Project distributes cataloging records directly to federal depository libraries, providing automatic dissemination of cataloging records and direct access to online documents. Many documents are now released in electronic format only.  These documents are included in the State Library's catalog, which enables library users to access government documents both remotely and on-site. 

Earlier, pre-1976 documents that don’t appear in our catalog can be retrieved by using our subscription and free GPO databases.


Level 4, US Documents Collection

Location
The majority of the State Library's US Documents collection is shelved in Superintendent of Documents classification number order on level 4 and level 1. 
Legal materials like the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, the United States Code, and the Statutes at  Large, are located in the Law Library on level 3.
What Circulates?
The majority of the collection circulates; reference items or periodicals do not circulate.

Government Publishing Office (GPO)

GPO Government Book Talk

Loading ...

Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)

About the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)

The Federal Depository Library Program was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government’s information. The Government Publishing Office (GPO) administers the FDLP on behalf of the participating libraries and the public. Information products from the Federal Government are disseminated to these nationwide libraries that, in turn, ensure the American public has free access to the materials, both in print and online.

Federal Government information is made available for free public use in Federal depository libraries located throughout the United States and its territories. Anyone can visit Federal depository libraries and access the collections.

US Documents Collection: Finding Aids

Finding aids to help locate US Documents holdings at the New Jersey State Library

FDLP LibGuides

Impeachment- Hot Topics - Guides created about subjects related to impeachment

2020 Census - Hot TopicsGuides created about subjects related to the 2020 Census

New Titles

New Jersey State Library Catalog

 

U.S. Documents Librarian

Teri Taylor's picture
Teri Taylor
Contact:
New Jersey State Library
PO Box 520, 185 W. State Street
Trenton, NJ 08626-0520
609-278-2640 ext. 166
Website
Copyright © New Jersey State Library 1796-2020