U.S. Government

Publications, data, and information on education. The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.

Topical studies investigate important education trends in more detail than in the annual Condition of Education. These topical studies include both formal indicator reports and detailed tabulations to support further analyses.

USA.gov's gateway to finding data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

The home of the U.S. Government's open data. Data on the site are provided by hundreds of organizations, including Federal agencies.

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the Nation's principal health statistics agency, The NCHS states it's mission is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.

A federal interagency forum on aging-related statistics, providintg access to data sharing among Federal agencies, providing access to key well-being indicators for older Americans.

USA.gov's gateway to finding data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

Search and browse the Center for Disease Control and Prevention's data catalog. CDC datasets, charts, maps can also be accessed by topic or category.

The home of the U.S. Government's open data. Data on the site are provided by hundreds of organizations, including Federal agencies.

The Center for Disease Control's(CDC) Health Data Interactive presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.

Statistics from the Annual Social and Economic (ASEC) Supplement; provides health insurance status and type of coverage statistics for the U.S. population. Source: Current Population Survey (CPS) A joint effort between the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Census Bureau.

Center Data provides access to a variety of data, including patient demographics, services provided, staffing, clinical indicators, utilization rates, costs, and revenues.

A compendium of health status, health care resource use, and vital statistics from HHS agencies.

Data Briefs are statistical publications that provide information about current public health topics in a straightforward format. Each report takes a complex data subject and summarizes it in text and graphics that provide readers with easily comprehensible information in a compact publication. Content source: CDC/National Center for Health Statistics

Health E-Stats are internet-only releases on current and timely health topics that feature highlights from all NCHS data systems. This list of all Health E-Stats that have been released to date is presented in an interactive, searchable, and sortable data tables format.

Life tables published by the National Center for Disease Control

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.

These summaries present a sampling of economic information for the area; supplemental data are provided for regions
and the nation. Subjects include unemployment, employment, wages, prices, spending, and benefits.

BLS Reports provide analytical information related to the labor force, consumer spending, earnings, and work injuries and illnesses.

Various BLS Reports by subject from 1999 to the present

BLS information about, Inflation & Prices, Employment, Unemployment, Pay & Benefits, Spending & Time Use
Productivity, Workplace Injuries, International, and Regional Offices.

Monthly periodical

Monthly periodical

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Blog

Available Bureau of Labor Statistics data about New Jersey

Current BLS economic statistical releases.

For each state, the Bureau of Labor Statistics presents a sampling of economic information for various metropolitan areas; also, supplemental data are provided for regions and the United States as a whole.

Monthly periodical

BLS data tools by subject

The home of the U.S. Government's open data. Data on the site are provided by hundreds of organizations, including Federal agencies.

USA.gov's gateway to finding data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

Career information and projections about hundreds of occupations.

Each business day, The Economics Daily: presents fresh economic information in charts and maps highlighting intriguing U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) data.

Provides economic accounts data including interactive access allowing table extraction and manipulation. National economic accounts on the production, distribution and use of the nation’s output,regional economic accounts with estimates of personal income, population, and employment for regions, States, metropolitan areas, and counties, and international economic accounts providing balance of payments and estimates of U.S. direct investment abroad and foreign direct investment in the U. S are available.

The five year economic census for every industry; Statistics for U.S., states, metro areas, counties and cities.

The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.

The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.

County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning.

USA.gov's gateway to finding data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

A Census data tool that provides easy access to Economic Statistics using drop-down menus to create tables in ASCII text and spreadsheet format.

Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

For each state, the Bureau of Labor Statistics presents a sampling of economic information for various metropolitan areas; also, supplemental data are provided for regions and the United States as a whole.

The ERS State Fact Sheets provide information on population, income, poverty, food security, education, employment, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and exports.

Economic Indicators back to 1948, from the Federal Reserve Archive, FRASER

The ERS State Fact Sheets provide information on population, income, poverty, food security, education, employment, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and exports.

Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB) is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry. SUSB covers most of the country's economic activity. The series excludes data on nonemployer businesses, private households, railroads, agricultural production, and most government entities.
Tabulations providing data by employment size of enterprise have been assembled as far back as 1989.

The Internal Revenue Service's portal to tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.

These summaries present a sampling of economic information for the area; supplemental data are provided for regions
and the nation. Subjects include unemployment, employment, wages, prices, spending, and benefits.

The U.S. Census Bureau's COVID-19 Hub contains demographic and economic data designed to help guide decision-making related to the COVID-19 pandemic. The interactive platform includes key demographic data from the American Community Survey and key data on businesses with one or more paid employees from the County Business Patterns program. The hub was built in collaboration with ESRI and leverages many features of the ArcGIS platform and solution templates.

The Energy Information Administration collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information.

A publication of recent and historical energy statistics. This publication includes statistics on total energy production, consumption, and trade; energy prices; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and international petroleum; carbon dioxide emissions; and data unit conversion values.

Monthly price and volume statistics on natural gas at a national, regional
and state level.

Monthly price and volume statistics on crude oil and petroleum products at a national, regional
and state level.

Find statistics on renewable energy consumption by source type, electric capacity and electricity generation from renewable sources, biomass and alternative fuels.

The CDE is an interactive tool, which enables law enforcement and the public to more easily use and understand the massive amounts of Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) data currently collected and published by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) UCR Program managed by the FBI Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division.

Statistics and reports on U.S. Marshals Service activites

The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) - is the United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics. BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

An annual publication in which the FBI compiles the volume and rate of violent and property crime offenses for the nation and by state. Individual law enforcement agency data are also provided for those contributors supplying 12 months complete offense data. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data. Current access is Online, continuing the earlier print version call no. J 1.14/7:

Online, formerly distributed to libraries in print format. University at Albany, Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center. 2003-

The annual statistical reports for the Offices of the United States Attorneys contains statistical tables displaying both national and district caseload data, covering the many priorities of the United States Attorneys in both criminal prosecution and civil litigation. 1955 - present.

An annual publication in which the FBI compiles the volume and rate of violent and property crime offenses for the nation and by state. Individual law enforcement agency data are also provided for those contributors supplying 12 months complete offense data. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data. In 2020, replaced by the Crime Data Explorer.

IMF Data

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's

World population from the U.S. Census Bureau, International Data Base (demographic data) and USA Trade Online (trade data).

The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS), part of the Department of Transportation (DOT) is the preeminent source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics, and provides context to decision makers and the public for understanding statistics on transportation.

The latest news and statistical releases from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics.

Browse databases, surveys, reports and other statistical products created by BTS.

Freight data from the U.S. Federal Highway Administration, Office of Freight Management and Operations

The Highway Statistics Series consists of annual reports containing analyzed statistical information on motor fuel, motor vehicle registrations, driver licenses, highway user taxation, highway mileage, travel, and highway finance. Published annually since 1945

Bureau of Transportation Statistics interactive map with state summaries.

Historical archive of Highway Statistics. The Series consists of annual reports containing analyzed statistical information on motor fuel, motor vehicle registrations, driver licenses, highway user taxation, highway mileage, travel, and highway finance. These information are presented in tables as well as selected charts. Published from the 1940s - 1999. (Other archived publications are also available)

Provides interactive data on the value and weight of shipments by U.S. trade, exports, imports, and origin and destination by ports.

TranStats is a website for transportation researchers and analysts, aimed at providing “one stop shopping” for transportation data.

Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

The U.S. Census Bureau is the leading source of statistical information about the nation’s people. Our population statistics come from decennial censuses, which count the entire U.S. population every ten years, along with several other surveys.

The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people. Information from the survey generates data that help determine how more than $400 billion in federal and state funds are distributed each year.

The U.S. Bureau of the Census's Virtual Hub for Learning Data Skills.

This interactive application provides statistics from the Economic Census, the American Community Survey, and the 2010 Census, among others.

Statistics from the Annual Social and Economic (ASEC) Supplement; provides health insurance status and type of coverage statistics for the U.S. population. Source: Current Population Survey (CPS) A joint effort between the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Census Bureau.

United States emigration and immigration statistics compiled by the Office of Immigration Statistics, U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

My Congressional District gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey. The American Community Survey provides updated detailed demographic, social and economic statistics every year for the nation’s communities.

QuickFacts provides frequently requested Census Bureau information at the national, state, county, and city level.

The ERS State Fact Sheets provide information on population, income, poverty, food security, education, employment, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and exports.

World population from the U.S. Census Bureau, International Data Base (demographic data) and USA Trade Online (trade data).

This page contains free trainings that have been previously recorded and are available for use at your convenience.

This section follows the evolution of the decennial census by detailing the events surrounding each of them. Political and technological changes, and the shifting public demand for information, have all shaped the modern census and the mission of the Census Bureau.

Online collections of U.S. Census audio, infographics, photos, publications, videos, working papers.

Some, not all Historical Decennial Census Reports dating back to 1790 are available online. All documents are in PDF format with a filesize ≤1MB unless otherwise stated.