Research Guides: U.S. Government: Directories

Databases

CQ Congress Collection Congressional Member Profiles contain a narrative biography written by CQ editorial staff and a box score. The box score includes the member's name, positions and dates of service, and various demographic and personal information, including religion, education, political background, military service (if applicable), previous occupations, and election record.
ProQuest Congressional Congressional member profiles include biographies and current contact information including email and social media.
- This link opens in a new window

United States Government Manual Website Regularly updated database
U.S. Government Services and Information, USA.gov
Government information and services by topic, including e-government resources.

Biographical Directories

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-present
Online, continuously updated version of the print publication: Biographical directory of the United States Congress, 1774-1989. Database searchable by name, state, and position (House site only). Most entries includes a short biography.

Locators: Government Contacts and Resources

How to Contact Your Elected Officials USA.gov provides useful links and information about how to get in touch with your federal, state, and local elected leaders.
Contact Government by Topic USA.gov's resource for contact information for government programs, listed by topic.
Local Governments USA.gov's locator for contact informationfor U.S. cities and other local governments.

Congressional Directories

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-present
Online, continuously updated version of the print publication: Biographical directory of the United States Congress, 1774-1989. Database searchable by name, state, and position (House site only). Most entries includes a short biography.
Congressional Directory
The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It presents:
Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district.
Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.
Find help using this resource less...
Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries..
Congressional Pictorial Directory
Published biennially by the Joint Committee on Printing, U.S. Congress, the Congressional Pictorial Directory is a pocket–sized compilation of color photographs of all of the Members of each Congress, including Senate and House leadership, officers, as well as appointed Delegates and the Resident Commissioner. It also includes photos of the President, Vice President, and other Capitol Officials.
Find help using this resource less...
In addition to the photographs, the Congressional Pictorial Directory contains information on length of service, political party affiliation, and Congressional district. There is also a "Party Division” page that lists the total numbers of Republicans, Democrats, and Independent(s) in the Senate and the House of Representatives. Other sections in the directory include an alphabetical list of Senators and Representatives.
Congress.gov, Members of the U.S. Congress
Current Members of Congress, provides a A list of current Members, by state, is on the Congress.gov homepage. Members serving in House and Senate leadership positions also are featured on the homepage.
Find help using this resource less...
Members of Congress, Since 1973: Members of the U.S. Congress features Member profiles for Representatives and Senators who have served since 1973 (93rd Congress). Members from the 71st to 92nd Congresses (1929 to 1972) who were still serving as of the 93rd Congress are included. Profiles can be faceted by congress, chamber, political party, and state or U.S. territory.
Senators of the 117th Congress
Current list of United States Senators, sortable by State, name, and class.
United States of the House of Representatives, Directory of Representatives
Current list of United States House of Representative members by state, directory, and name.

Directories

United States Government Manual Website Regularly updated database
Federal Government Mobile Apps Directory
USA.gov's directory of government native apps, hybrid apps, responsive sites, and mobile websites that offer official information and services.
Federal Depository Library Directory (FDLD)
A service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications that helps users locate Federal Depository Libraries (FDL).
USEmbassy.gov
Websites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions
U.S. state Department A-Z List of Country and Other Area Pages
Quick links to current U.S. Ambassador information, country fact sheets, U.S. Embassies, and more.

Directories in Print

Biographical directory of the United States Congress, 1774-present
Call Number: Y 1.1/7:108-222, US Docs Reference, Level 4
Congressional Yellow Book
Call Number: R328.73 W319
ISBN: 0872895017
A directory of members of Congress, their committees and key aids.
Official Congressional Directory by Congress (U.S.), Joint Committee on Printing (Editor) Dating back to th 30th Congress in 1847, the Congressional Directory is one of the oldest working handbooks within the U.S. Government. In addition to Congressional member information, details are provided about Congressional committees assignments, statistical information related to Congress, Congressional district maps, and many more.
Call Number: Y4.P93/1:1/113
ISBN: 9780160919220
United States Government Manual by United States. Office of the Federal Register.
Call Number: AE2.108/2: Yr., US Documents