Research Guides: Transportation Resources: Statistics

National Statistics

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
CAFÉ–Fuel Economy "Includes links to reports on fuel economy performance of vehicle fleet"
Data.gov
DOT Inspector General's Office
FAA Data
Federal Highway Administration: Publications and Statistics
Federal Railroad Administration
National Bridge Inventory
National Transit Database
National Transportation Statistics
National Transportation Statistics presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security
State Transportation Statistics
Find help using this resource less...
From bts.gov: State Transportation Statistics (STS) are a series of reports highlighting major federal databases and other national sources related to each state's infrastructure, safety, freight movement and passenger travel, vehicles, economy and finance, and energy and the environment. Along with tables generated for each state, the reports describe databases and give information on access, formats, and contact points.

U.S. Government
by Leigh Clark Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 366 views this year

govinfo This link opens in a new window Free access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Among the nearly 50 collections available are: Compilation of Presidential Documents (1992 to present), Congressional Bills (103rd Congress to present), Congressional Documents (94th Congress to present), Congressional Hearings (99th Congress to present), Congressional Record 1873 to present), Congressional Reports (104th Congress to present), Federal Register (1936 to present), Public and Private Laws (104th Congress to present) and Economic Indicators (1995 to present). Documents are added daily. Maintained by the Government Publishing Office (GPO).
- This link opens in a new window
Watch video tutorials and find handouts on how to use govinfo

Traffic Safety Data

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
The annual Pocket Guide to Large Truck and Bus Statistics has safety ratings and crash statistics available as tables and in reports.
Motor Vehicle Traffic Crash Data Resource Page
National Center for Statistics and Analysis (NCSA)
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
National Transportation Safety Board
Traffic Count Methodology and Technology

New Jersey Transportation Statistics

Statistics by Subject

Annual Energy Review
Average Low Bid Unit Prices
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Boating Safety Resource Center
Census Transportation Planning Products "The CTPP is a set of special tabulations designed by transportation planners using large sample surveys conducted by the Census Bureau."
National Transportation Statistics by Topic
OECD Data
Transportation Energy Data Book

New Jersey State Library databases:

Data.Census.Gov This link opens in a new window Find population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. Includes data from the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, and the decennial censuses. Published by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access statistical information, including tables, statistical reports, publication abstracts, and datasets from the following collections:
- U.S. Federal statistical publications (American Statistics Index), 1973-present, full text from 2004
- U.S. state government and business statistical publications (Statistics Reference Index), 1980-present, full text from 2007.
- International statistical publications from the UN, EU, OECD, etc. (Index to International Statistics), 1983-present.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.(ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Authoritative, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. Browse or search 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets). Compiled by ProQuest 2013-present. Previous publisher was the U.S. Census Bureau,1878-2012.
ProQuest Guide to Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window Use USA Trade Online to access U.S. current and cumulative export and import data. Search industries by NAICS or schedule B number (HS) and limit by location and time period. Results can be sorted and a variety of charts and graphs constructed. USA Trade Online is useful to economists, investors, business owners, manufacturers, governments and federal agencies. Produced by US Census Bureau. Create a free account to access.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Census Transportation Planning Products

The Census Transportation Planning Products (CTTP) are designed to help transportation analysts and planners understand where people are commuting to and from, and how they get there. The information is organized by residence, workplace, and by the commute from home to work.