Research Guides: Transportation Resources: Find Books, Articles and Reports

Search Transportation Databases

TRID = 1.2 million+ records of research worldwide in French, German, Spanish and other languages. This integrated database combines records from:

TRIS Transportation Research Information Services of TRB (Transportation Research Board)
ITRD International Transport Research Documentation of OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)

NJDOT completed research projects are in TRID and in Final Reports on the DOT website.

The National Transportation Library (NTL) maintains its "Repository & Open Science Access Portal," known as ROSA P. This gateway is a public repository of NTL's collection of full-text items related to transportation research.

Find Books, eBooks, and Articles

Type your research topic in the box here and NJSL Discovery will search the New Jersey State Library catalog for books and e-books; hundreds of databases for articles; and the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.

To search only the New Jersey State Library Catalog (for books) click on Traditional Catalog.

Request Items

Databases by Subject

Aerospace Research Center "Indexes all American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics meeting papers published since 1963 and journal articles since 1996."

Civil Engineering Database An index to all of the American Society of Civil Engineers publications, the world's largest publisher of civil engineering content. Includes detailed abstracts, some with links to full-text. Also see ASCE Library.
- This link opens in a new window

Federal Railroad Administration E-Library "Provides access to accident, safety, litigation and compliance reports; technical and environmental reports; conference papers; press releases; and policy and guidance documents."
National Transportation Library: RosaP
- This link opens in a new window
Research in Progress (RIP) Database "RiP The Transportation Research Board's Research in Progress (RIP) Database contains information on more than 13,000 current or recently completed transportation research projects. RIP records primarily are projects funded by the U.S. Department of Transportation and State Departments of Transportation. University transportation research also is included in the database."
SAE Digital Library "Society of Automotive Engineers. Automotive–vehicle and aerospace engineering. Indexes technical papers, standards, e-books, and other material from SAE International and other providers."

Sanborn Maps – New Jersey Sanborn maps are used to chart the growth and development of New Jersey’s towns and cities. This collection includes digitized maps from 1867-1970, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. Maps include street blocks, numbers, and information about the usage and construction of the buildings.
- This link opens in a new window
For another set of maps that includes a Google overlay, see Fire Insurance Maps Online.

Transportation Research Board: Publications Index "The TRB Publications Index contains more than 76,000 papers, articles, and reports published by the Transportation Research Board, Highway Research Board, Strategic Highway Research Program, or the Marine Board from 1922 to date."
Transportation Research Board: Research Needs Statements

TRID Find citations for transportation research. Combines records of Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database and the International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. Published by the Transportation Research Board of the US National Academies with funding from state and federal government entities.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tutorials and guides

Products Evaluated by AASHTO

CRS Reports
- This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides accurate, non-partisan policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate.
National Technical Reports Library
- This link opens in a new window
Repository of reports and data from federally funded scientific and technical research projects and studies. Fields include Aeronautics, Chemistry, Energy, Environment, Health Care, Library & Information Sciences, Mathematics, Medicine & Biology, Physics, and Transportation. Produced by the National Technical Information Service (Department of Commerce).

NJDOT Bureau of Research Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Search here to find workable solutions to NJ Infrastructure issues. Reports are divided into two categories: studies finalized between 1968-2017 and a database with research in progress plus studies completed after 2017.
NJDOT Publications
- This link opens in a new window
SafetyLit "Indexes reports from 30 professional disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries including economics, engineering, ergonomics and human factors, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, and psychology."
- This link opens in a new window
Transportation Research Board: Publications Index
- This link opens in a new window
Urban Mobility Reports "Provides basic statistics and ranking for urban areas in categories of: travel delay, excess fuel consumed, truck congestion cost, and total congestion cost with comparisons back to 1982."

CRS Reports The Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides accurate, non-partisan policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate.
- This link opens in a new window

Department of Community Affairs: Codes and Regulations

govinfo Free access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Among the nearly 50 collections available are: Compilation of Presidential Documents (1992 to present), Congressional Bills (103rd Congress to present), Congressional Documents (94th Congress to present), Congressional Hearings (99th Congress to present), Congressional Record 1873 to present), Congressional Reports (104th Congress to present), Federal Register (1936 to present), Public and Private Laws (104th Congress to present) and Economic Indicators (1995 to present). Documents are added daily. Maintained by the Government Publishing Office (GPO).
- This link opens in a new window
Watch video tutorials and find handouts on how to use govinfo
HeinOnline HeinOnline is a key legal research database. Includes full text of 1600 law reviews; 50 State session laws and statutes archives; the U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (comprehensive histories for major laws, including bills, reports, hearings and other full text documents). Also includes: the U.S. Code; U.S. Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; U.S. Congressional Serial Set; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Reports. A collection of treatises considered legal classics; Water Rights and Resources Collection; LGBTQ Rights Collection. Also includes U.S. treaties, Canadian and English law, and international agreements.
- This link opens in a new window
Training guides and video tutorials are available.
Lexis Plus Database of U.S. state and federal statutes, court opinions, regulations, court rules and administrative decisions, plus law reviews and New Jersey-based legal practice guides on various topics. Access is only available on-site at the public computers in the Law Library.
- This link opens in a new window
New Jersey Administrative Code (NJAC) Free online access to the New Jersey Administrative Code, provided by Lexis.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

NJ Parcel Search
NJTaxMaps NJDOT Employees: Please email library@dot.nj.gov for log in information.

Wolters Kluwer Legal Research (VitalLaw) Wolters Kluwer provides information on the following legal and regulatory practice areasCOVID-19 Healthcare, including Medicare and MedicaidHuman ResourcesLabor & Employment LawSexual Harassment & Workplace Compliance To research tax law, use CCH Intelliconnect.

The Recorders' document reference manual by Constitutional Officers Association of New Jersey
Publication Date: 2019

New Jersey Legal Resources
by Cynthia Lambert Last Updated Oct 24, 2024 4455 views this year

NJDOT Bureau of Research: Technology Transfer
NJDOT Bureau of Research Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Search here to find workable solutions to NJ Infrastructure issues. Reports are divided into two categories: studies finalized between 1968-2017 and a database with research in progress plus studies completed after 2017.
NJDOT Publications
- This link opens in a new window

ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) Search national and international business sources from ProQuest, including Full text of the Wall Street Journal, Sloan Management Review, The Economist, Financial Times, and Australian Financial Review45,000+ business-related dissertations, 10,000+ business cases and case studies, 50 million+ U.S. company records450,000+ working papers from The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), Research Papers in Economics (RePEc), INSEAD, and The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)Expert analyses of industries, countries, economies, and marketsDownloadable variables and key indicators of actual and forecasted economic data from the Economist Intelligence Unit
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Find articles from 6,5000+ full-text scholarly journals and magazines. Includes peer-reviewed STEM, social sciences, humanities, law, sciences, and video content from the Associated Press, 1930-present. Academic Search is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.
ERIC – Institute of Education Sciences The free, public version of the ERIC database indexes citations of scholarly literature on education, with full-text links to government documents from the Department of Education. For full-text of journal articles indexed in this database, try EBSCO's ERIC database or ProQuest Education Database.
- This link opens in a new window
New York Times, The (1980-)
Find articles from the New York Times, 1980-present. You can search the full text, but images are not included.
PsycInfo (EBSCO) A citation and abstract database covering 2000+ journals, books, and dissertations on the behavioral and social sciences. Some articles are linked full text; all content in PsycARTICLES is included in PsycINFO. Published by the American Psychological Assocation (APA).
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. State employees and TESU staff and students, click the icon “Find Full Text from New Jersey State Library” to access licensed content. Note there is also a free version of PubMed available if you do not have a State Library card.
- This link opens in a new window
Quick Start Guide videos and FAQ
Science Database (ProQuest) Indexes content from over one thousand science journals, most in full-text. Discplines include Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, and Chemistry. Coverage 1986-present. Part of Proquest Central.
USA.gov
- This link opens in a new window
Use USA.gov to locate hard-to-find federal information. This is a great way to get to information that is often buried in federal agency websites.

Transportation Resources

Contact Us

Contact

Email

Phone

Staff Hours

Search Transportation Databases

Find Books, eBooks, and Articles

Request Items

Databases by Subject

CONTACT

TALKING BOOK & BRAILLE CENTER

STATEWIDE SERVICES

USING THE LIBRARY