Small Business and Entrepreneurship

Provides access to the status and business address(es) of New Jersey registered business entities. Searchable by business name, principal name (officer/director, manager, etc.), registered agent or entity ID. Browsing is free, status reports incur a charge. Maintained by the NJ Division of Revenue & Enterprise Services.

Use this popular database to search for commercial and residential addresses and phone numbers, company information, employment and business opportunities, and job listings. Available searches include U.S. Businesses, U.S. New Businesses, U.S. Historical Businesses, U.S. Jobs/Internships, U.S. New Movers/Homeowners, U.S. Healthcare, U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles, U.S. Standard White Pages, Canadian Businesses and Canadian White Pages. Learn more on our blog "Research Businesses with Reference Solutions".

You can also use the Jerseyclicks link to login without a library card if you are within the State of New Jersey (authenticated by geolocation).

Find comprehensive, real-time company and industry information. Search fields include location, name, size, industry, type, corporate family, financials. Business signals search includes conceptual information such as growth, countries where business is conducted, spending/risk, technology usage, and features of the workforce and workplace. Use Contacts search to identify individuals by title, industry, and parent company. Find market and industry research, analyst reports published in trade journals, triggers to actionable business events, annual revenues, employee counts, stock data, and financials. Desktop computer access only.

Research U.S. and international public and private company data, archives, interim and annual reports, executives, financials, filings, and news. Country profiles include data on their economy, security, industries, geography/history, demographics, government, communications, media, and transportation.

PrivCo uniquely focuses on tracking major private company business and financial data, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed and international unlisted companies. Download or view charts of company financials as well as access company contacts and merger and acquisitions data.

New Jersey’s business to business directory, Corfacts offers unlimited downloads of company data. Locate company records using a number of different criteria, including location, revenue, number of employees, BJB and SIC codes, and description keywords. Corfacts is also available in print.

The Securities and Exchange Commission’s EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K.

The industry's most widely used business research database. Full text and citations for journals covering a variety of business disciplines, including accounting, finance, economics, marketing, management, management information systems, and operations management. Includes Regional Business News and Associated Press video content.

Business Source is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.

Find up-to-date research reports, statistics, and news on sectors of the following industries: Construction and Real Estate; Government, Education, Recreation; Finance and Insurance; Retail; Food and Agriculture; Services; Health Care; Manufacturing; Technology and Communications; Transportation, Energy, Storage; Wholesale.  Includes sales & marketing templates and an industry prospector tool to compare industries by financial metrics, industry drivers, and forecast growth. Use the state profiles for New Jersey employment and real estate trends. Updated monthly. Published by Mergent.

Browse available works by category, find industry information, learn business basics, and find start-up kit and business plans. Find eBooks from the popular NOLO series of self-help business, law, and tax books, including How to Write a Business Plan, Home Business Tax Deductions, Quick LLC, Trademark, Employer’s Legal Handbook, and Nonprofit Meetings, Minutes, and Records. Check out the Small Business Start Up Guide: New Jersey.

This database is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.

Find population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. Includes data from the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, and the decennial censuses. Published by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Select U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles, a database of over 296 million U.S. consumers. These records are continuously updated and processed against the USPS National Change of Address (NCOA) and Delivery Sequence File (DSF). Search by Name, Address, Median home value, Median home income, and more...