Research Guides: Small Business and Entrepreneurship: Additional Resources

Opportunity Zones

NJ Opportunity Zones
New Jersey Governor Office's website providing information about Opportunity Zones in NJ.
NJ Dept of Community Affairs - NJ Community Asset Map
Map that can display designated Opportunity Zones in NJ, as well as other state assets.
IRS - Opportunity Zone FAQs
Answers to frequently asked questions about Opportunity Zones provided by the IRS.

SAM.gov
SAM.gov is the official U.S. government website for people who make, receive, and manage federal awards. SAM combines multiple federal databases into one platform. It includes contracting, entity registration, procurement opportunities (formerly FedBizOps), and Assistance Listings (formerly Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance). Published by the General Services Administration.

Business.NJ.gov - Government Contracting
This website offers links a number of online resources to facilitate access to accurate and up-to-date contracting-related information and services in New Jersey.
Mercer County Bidding Opportunities

SBA - Stay Legally Compliant
This site, sponsored by Small Business Association, is designed to provide legal and regulatory information to small businesses.
Starting and Succeeding with a New Business - NJSBF
Created by the New Jersey State Bar Foundation, this pamphlet is intended to help entrepreneurs when starting a business. By reading this booklet, entrepreneurs can gain a better understanding on how to effectively use legal, tax, accounting and other advisors.
Findlaw for Business
Findlaw for Business provides information about starting a business, legal issues for small businesses, tax information, human resources, debt and bankruptcy, and intellectual property. The site links to legal resources such as finding a lawyer, legal dictionary, and business contracts.

Legal Information Source (EBSCO)
Provides consumer legal information. 13,000+ state-specific legal forms and 8,200 federal forms searchable by state. Includes full-text of all books published by NOLO Press, a trusted publisher of consumer, business, and legal guides, as well as New Jersey specific legal forms for adoption, bankruptcy, divorce, name changes, property and real estate, small business forms, and wills. Published by EBSCO.

This database is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.

NJ Division of Taxation - Businesses
NJ Department of the Treasury, Division of Taxation's Businesses website where businesses can file and pay taxes.
NJ Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services
This site is designed to be the point of entry for business registration and for filing and paying gross income tax withheld and other payroll taxes previously sent to the Department of Labor. Download or print the most common filing forms and find out about fees and contacts. To find information on filed business entities in NJ look them up on the Corporate and Business Information Reporting page.
IRS - Tax Information for Business
The IRS has a small business corner designed to help businesses find everything they need and answer most tax questions. They also offer the Small Business Resource Guide which offers tax information to small businesses, including forms, instructions, and publications.

Trademark, Patent, or Copyright? - USPTO
The United States Patent and Trademark Office explains the differences between trademarks, patents, and copyright.

Patent Public Search
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find full-text patents from 1976-present with full-text search. For patents from 1790-1975, search by key word, patent number, or classification. Updated weekly by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
Trademarks
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find guidance on when and how to apply for a trademark, search the trademark database (TESS), check the status of an application, and find information on maintaining a trademark.
Help topics and videos.

U.S. Copyright Office
The U.S. Copyright Office's website provides extensive information regarding the laws and regulations governing copyright. It also includes a searchable catalog of copyright records, as well as educational material to better understand the basics of copyright and how to submit a copyright claim.
NJSL Copyright Research Guide