Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The New Jersey State Library is closed for walk-in service, but Reference Staff are available for assistance at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Welcome to the Business & Company Research Guide.
Use this research guide to locate business related databases, books, journals, and other resources available at the New Jersey State Library and accessible online. You can also refer to the Small Business & Entrepreneurship Research Guide for additional information.
If you need assistance with your business related research, please contact Leigh Clark, Business & Funding Information Library at the New Jersey State Library. See contact information below.
New Jersey Business Information
Business Action Center
Divided into sections such as starting your business, growing your business, financing and incentives, and licensing information, this site contains information, forms and contacts to do business in New Jersey.
NJ Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services
Services include business registration and commercial information filing/access, electronic government filing and payment services, non-tax debt collection, revenue recording, tax return and payment processing, and more.
New Jersey Business and Industry Association
17,000 member industry association which lobbies on behalf of New Jersey businesses and publishes the popular New Jersey Business magazine. This site includes a news center, issues impacting business, political action, events and programs and money saving benefits.
Business Dictionaries & Glossaries
Print & Electronic Books
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information: a Guide for Librarians, Students, and Researchers, 4th Edition by This new edition of Strauss's guide helps users to find current information for and about businesses of all kinds--both private and public, U.S.-based and international--related to finance, investment, industries, and entrepreneurship. Strauss's Handbook of Business Information is a resource for finding and understanding business information. It contains explanation and instruction on the key facets of business information and provides detailed descriptions of key resources within both broad and specific categories. It can be used as a guide to further understanding the what, how, and why of business information research. The changing arena of business information requires regular updating and awareness. This new edition has been thoroughly updated with three new chapters: Entrepreneurship, Competitive Intelligence, and Corporate Social Responsibility. Other additions of note include subsections on internet and mobile marketing and tax havens and related issues; coverage of new legislation (e.g., Dodd-Frank); and subsections on index funds, investment communities, regulatory bodies and laws, hedge funds, venture capital companies, assessing risks, robo-advisors, and more. The Handbook is for students, faculty, librarians, and information professionals looking to gain a broader and deeper understanding of business information. Anyone needing to gain quick exposure to business information needs and resources for solutions will benefit from the volume as well. Uses comprehensive coverage to aid business librarians in finding exactly the right information their patrons need Features logical arrangement and integration online with print resources to make information easy to find Provides clear explanations that speak to reference librarians at public and academic libraries, and to students learning this field Serves as a helpful collection development resource for business information, as well as a trusted textbook
Publication Date: 2020-08-24
Business An international bestseller, BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource is a one-stop reference and interactive tool covering all aspects of today's world of work. Unique, authoritative, and wide-ranging, it offers practical and strategic advice for anyone doing business today. Written with a team of world-class writers and editors, it is an essential desk reference for managers, MBA and business students and for small business owners worldwide. Fully updated and revised for this new edition, BUSINESS features: Best Practice: over 170 essays from a stellar cast of business thought leaders including C. K. Prahalad, Gary Hamel and John Kotter Checklists and actionlists: more than 200 practical solutions to everyday business challenges Management Library: time-saving digests of more than 100 of the world's best business books Dictionary: jargon-free definitions of more than 7,000 terms Giants and Thinkers: revised biographies of over 100 of the world's most influential gurus and pioneers
Publication Date: 2011-06-13
The AMA Handbook of Business Documents by Need to put it in writing? Don't type a word without this crucial resource! Your company's identity, products, services, and strengths are all represented by its written communications. From business plans and sales presentations to newsletters and e-mail marketing, the way the company comes across on a page or screen can make the difference between big success and big trouble. The AMA Handbook of Business Documents takes the guesswork out of preparing firstclass written pieces of every type. Packed with dozens of sample documents and practical tips, this handy guide is everything you need to create: Proposals * Memos * E-mails * Press releases * Collection letters * Speeches * Technical, research and lab reports * Sales letters * Policies and procedures * Warning letters * Announcements * And much more Suited equally to executives, entrepreneurs, managers, and administrative staff--anyone charged with putting a business's intentions into words--The AMA Handbook of Business Documents is a versatile, powerful, and indispensable toolbox.
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing by Just because you're not a born writer doesn't mean you should settle for less than perfect business documents. After all, every piece you write reflects directly on the quality of the product or service your business offers. Now, this helpful guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: Reports * Proposals * Business plans * Presentations * Press releases * Memos * Email * Newsletters * Collection Letters * Sales materials * And more Arranged alphabetically and cross-referenced for easier use, the book presents clear examples of how to (and how not to) create winning materials every time. The authors' step-by-step instructions begin with an overview of the writing process, from preparation and research right through to final review and publication. Sample documents show you how your pieces should look and read, and close to 300 individual entries cover key points of grammar, style and spelling, and present strategies for writing more clearly, avoiding bias, eliminating clichés, and much more.
Publication Date: 2010-08-04
The Oxford Handbook of Business Ethics by Business ethics raises many important philosophical issues. A first set of issues concerns the methodology of business ethics. What is the role of ethical theory in business ethics? To what extent, if at all, can thinking in business ethics be enhanced by philosophy, so as to provide realmoral guidance? Another set of issues involves questions regarding markets, capitalism, and economic justice. There are related concerns about the nature of business organizations and the responsibilities they have to their members, owners, and society. The Oxford Handbook of Business Ethics is a comprehensive treatment of the field of business ethics as seen from a philosophical approach. The volume consists of 24 essays that survey the field of business ethics in a broad and accessible manner, covering all major topics about the relationshipbetween ethical theory and business ethics. The chapters are written by accomplished philosophers who offer a systematic interpretation of their topics and discuss various moral controversies and dilemmas that plague business relationships and government-business relationships. Readers are thuspresented with the major views that define the topic of the essay with critical discussions of those views, as well as topical bibliographies that identify key works in the field. In addition to philosophers who work in this area, the volume will be of interest to those in business and societyseeking an up-to-date resource on this vital field.
Publication Date: 2009-12-08
Copyright © New Jersey State Library 1796-2020