Research Guides: Environmental Resources: General Resources by Topic

Resources by Topic

AgEcon Search
Free, open-access repository of scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, sponsored by the University of Minnesota, with cooperation from the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association.
EPA - Pesticides
Website for pesticide information from the US Environmental Protection Agency.
National Agricultural Library (NAL)
Houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agricultural and related sciences.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) - Agriculture and Rural Development
NCSL follows state legislative activities on agriculture and rural economic development, tracks changes in federal policy - including the Farm Bill - concerns on health care and education, and highlights novel approaches lawmakers undertake to address these issues in their state.
National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC)
Online clearinghouse of information on the chemistry, environmental fate and toxicology of pesticides. Collaborative project between the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) and Oregon State University.
Our World in Data
Website that leverages data to illuminate large, complex global issues. Contains articles, country-level data and statistics on a variety of topics, including energy and environment, poverty, economic development, food, agriculture, innovation and technology. Part of the UK-based nonprofit Global Change Data Lab.
PAN Pesticide Database
Database of information on pesticides maintained by the Pesticide Action Network and supported with grants from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA).
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Responsible for developing and enforcing laws related to agriculture, food production, forestry, and rural economic development. Collects data and conducts research on a wide range of subjects, including pesticide use, nutrition, crop health and food safety.
USDA - National Agricultural Statistics Service
Provides statistics from the U.S. Department of Agriculture covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
USDA Economic Research Service
Agency within the US Dept. of Agriculture that provides statistical information and analysis covering a broad range of agriculture and food-related economic and policy topics.

Eating to Extinction by Dan Saladino
Call Number: 641.300 Sal

ISBN: 9780374605322

Publication Date: 2022-02-01
Organic Food and Farming: a Reference Handbook by Shauna M. McIntyre
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781440870040

Publication Date: 2021-03-17
Growing a Sustainable City? by Christina D. Rosan; Hamil Pearsall
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781442624207

Publication Date: 2018-09-28
Soil Health Analysis, Set by Douglas L. Karlen (Editor); Diane E. Stott (Editor); Maysoon M. Mikha (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780891189909

Publication Date: 2021-08-13
The Role of Agriculture in Climate Change Mitigation by Lucjan Pawlowski (Editor); Zygmunt Litwinczuk (Editor); Guomo Zhou (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781000168891

Publication Date: 2020-05-07

Agriculture/Aquaculture Research Databases:

AGRICOLA
A bibliographic database of citations to agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library. Find materials in all formats encompasing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines. Coverage ranges from 15th century to present.
AGRIS
Indexes and abstracts world literature covering all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology, including grey literature. Many with links to full-text articles. Coverage from 1975 to date. Maintained by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest)
Search full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications on all aspects of earth, atmospheric, and aquatic sciences, including atmosphere dynamics, aquaculture, forecasting, conservation, climatology, geophysics, meteorology, paleontology, seismology. Encompasses major environmental science indexes such as Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA), and Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) which provides extensive coverage of global scholarship on marine, brackish water, and freshwater fisheries and environments. Part of ProQuest Central.

PubAg
Database maintained by the Dept. of Agriculture. Provides access to over 300,000 full text journal articles in the agricultural sciences in addition to over 3 million citations.

AirNow
One-stop source for air quality data from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Reports local air quality in your area using the official U.S. Air Quality Index (AQI). Contains interactive maps with air quality and wildfire hazards data, and educational resources.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - Air Topics
Information from the EPA on various air topics, including acid rain, ozone, pollutants, particulate matter, greenhouse gas emissions, indoor air quality, mold, asbestos, radon, and volatile organic compounds (VOCs),
National Air Quality: Status and Trends of Key Air Pollutants
Air quality trends reports from the EPA tracking criteria air pollutants (ground-level ozone, particulate matter, carbon monoxide, lead, sulfur dioxide and nitrogen dioxide).
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) - Environment and Natural Resources
Provides research and analysis on important state policy trends for state legislators and staff. Tracks issues in seven major categories: climate change and air quality, environmental health, healthy communities, land use, natural resources, waste management and water.

Valuing Clean Air: The EPA and the Economics of Environmental Protection by Charles Halvorson
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780197538869

Publication Date: 2021
Fundamentals of Air Pollution by Daniel Vallero; Daniel Vallero
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780124046023

Publication Date: 2014-07-26
Air Quality, 6th Edition by Wayne T. Davis; Joshua S. Fu; Thad Godish
Call Number: TD 883 .D3 2021 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9780367860929

Publication Date: 2021-02-24
Traffic-Related Air Pollution by Haneen Khreis (Editor); Mark Nieuwenhuijsen (Editor); Joe Zietsman (Editor); Tara Ramani (Editor)
Call Number: TD 886.5 .T73 2020 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9780128181225

Publication Date: 2020-08-19
Air Pollution Control Equipment Selection Guide by Kenneth C. Schifftner
Call Number: TD 889 .S35 2021

ISBN: 9780367860912

Publication Date: 2021-05-17
Air Pollution Control Technology Handbook by Mary Ellen Ternes; Russell F. Dunn; Karl B. Schnelle, Jr.
Call Number: TD 883 .S28 2016 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781482245608

Publication Date: 2015-10-02
Lessons from the Clean Air Act: Building Durability and Adaptability into U.S. Climate and Energy Policy by Ann Carlson (Editor); Dallas Burtraw (Editor)
Call Number: KF 3812 .L47 2019 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781108421522

Publication Date: 2019-05-09

Adaptation Clearinghouse
Online database and networking site that serves policymakers and others who are working to help communities adapt to climate change. Hosted by the Georgetown Climate Center.
Center for Climate and Energy Solutions
Think tank dedicated to advancing strong policy and action to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and mitigate climate change. Successor to the Pew Center on Global Climate Change.
Climate Central
Non-profit organization of journalists and scientists who present news and research on climate change to the public.
Climate Change Adaptation Resource Center (ARC-X)
Interactive resource created by the Environmental Protection Agency to help local governments effectively deliver services to their communities even as the climate changes. Contains information tailored specifically to regional and topical interest on risks posed climate change, relevant adaptation strategies, case studies, tools, and EPA funding opportunities.
Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal
An integrated, curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research and gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health. Created by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS).
Climate Change Laws of the World
A database created by the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment which covers national-level climate change legislation and policies globally.
Climate Change Litigation Databases
Provides two databases of climate change caselaw: U.S. Climate Change Litigation and Global Climate Change Litigation. Cases are organized by type of claim and are searchable. For many cases, links are available to decisions, complaints and other case documents.
EPA - Climate Change
US Environmental Protection Agency's website on climate change. An excellent site for understanding the complexities of global warming and its environmental impacts.
Georgetown Climate Center
Nonpartisan think tank seeking to advance effective climate and energy policies in the U.S. and serve as a resource to state and local communities working to cut carbon and prepare for climate change. Part of Georgetown University Law Center. Hosts the Adaptation Clearinghouse.
Inside Climate News
Nonprofit, nonpartisan news organization providing reporting and analysis on climate change, energy and the environment for the public and decision makers.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
Website of the IPCC, the leading international organization for the assessment of climate change. Established in 1988 by the World Meteorological Organization and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). The purpose of the IPCC is to analyze and bring together published literature on human-induced climate change.
NOAA - National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
Provides over 20 petabytes of comprehensive atmospheric, coastal, oceanic and geophysical data generated over the years by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Merges NOAA's three existing data centers: the National Climatic Data Center, the National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) - Environment and Natural Resources
Provides research and analysis on important state policy trends for state legislators and staff. Tracks issues in seven major categories: climate change and air quality, environmental health, healthy communities, land use, natural resources, waste management and water.
National Snow & Ice Data Center
Supports research into the snow, ice, glaciers, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth's cryosphere. Manages scientific data, performs scientific research and educates the public about the cryosphere.
NOAA - Climate.gov
From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, a source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate. Aims to promote public understanding of climate science and climate-related events. Includes news, maps, data, and teaching resources.
NOAA - Paleoclimatology Data
Paleoclimatology data and information provided by the National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI). Paleoclimatology data are derived from natural sources such as tree rings, ice cores, corals, and ocean and lake sediments.
Skeptical Science
Non-profit science education organization with the goal of raising public understanding of climate change. Contains an encyclopedic list of evidence-based refutations of climate misinformation. Website created and maintained by John Cook, a research fellow at the Climate Change Communication Research Hub at Monash University.
United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)
Website of the global climate treaty and United Nations (UN) entity of the same name tasked with supporting the global response to climate change. Contains information and texts of the Paris Agreement and previous agreements such as the Kyoto Protocol.

Our Biggest Experiment by Alice Bell
Call Number: QC 981.8 .G56 B43 2021 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781640094338

Publication Date: 2021-09-21
Climate Change and U. S. Cities by William D. Solecki; Cynthia Rosenzweig
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781610919791

Publication Date: 2022-02-08
A Climate Policy Revolution by Roland Kupers
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780674972124

Publication Date: 2020-04-07
Carbon Criminals, Climate Crimes by Ronald C. Kramer; Rob White
Call Number: HV 6401 .K73 2020 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781978805583

Publication Date: 2020-04-30
Rising by Elizabeth Rush
Call Number: 551.45 Rus

ISBN: 9781571313676

Publication Date: 2018-06-12

Coastal Zone Information Center Collection, 1951-1999
Provides access to nearly 5,000 coastal related documents that Government Printing Office received from the NOAA Central Library. Provides almost 30 years of data and information crucial to the understanding of U.S. coastal management. Contains many historical documents submitted by state coastal zone management programs in accordance with the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972.
EPA - Estuaries and the National Estuary Program (NEP)
The National Estuary Program is a network of organizations that protects and restores 28 estuaries of national significance.
Hakai Magazine
A free online magazine focusing on coastal issues. Part of the non-profit Tula Foundation,
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Scientific agency whose wide-ranging responsibilities include climate monitoring, weather forecasting, fisheries management, coastal restoration and supporting marine commerce.
NOAA - National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
Provides over 20 petabytes of comprehensive atmospheric, coastal, oceanic and geophysical data generated over the years by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Merges NOAA's three existing data centers: the National Climatic Data Center, the National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center.
NOAA - National Ocean Service
Provides data, tools and services that support coastal economies and their contribution to the national economy. Priorities include: Safe and efficient transportation and commerce; preparedness and risk reduction; and stewardship, recreation and tourism.
NOAA Fisheries
Agency within the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration responsible for the stewardship of the nation's ocean resources and their habitat.
Ocean Biodiversity Information System (OBIS)
A global, open-access data and information clearinghouse on marine biodiversity for science, conservation and sustainable development. Originally developed to manage data from the Census of Marine Life (CoML).
Restore America's Estuaries
Founded in 1995, RAE is a national alliance of 10 coastal conservation groups dedicated to restoring and preserving America's estuaries and coasts.
Tethys
Online portal dedicated to research and data on the environmental effects of wind and marine renewable energy that includes a growing publications database. Provides access to reports, journal articles, conference papers and more. Includes a Map Viewer that allows users to search publications by geographic location.
U.S. National Office for Harmful Algal Blooms
The Harmful Algae web page is maintained by the U.S. National Office for Harmful Algal Blooms (HABs) at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute (WHOI). Serves as a clearinghouse for information related to national and international activities on HAB issues.
USGS - Wetland and Aquatic Research Center (WARC)
Part of the U.S. Geological Survey, WARC conducts research, develops new approaches and technologies and disseminates scientific information needed to understand, manage, conserve, and restore wetlands and other aquatic and coastal ecosystems.

Challenges in Estuarine and Coastal Science by John Humphreys (Editor); Sally Little (Editor)
Call Number: QH 541.5 .E8 C43 2022

ISBN: 9781784272852

Publication Date: 2022-03-07
Practical Handbook of Marine Science Fourth Edition by Michael J. Kennish
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781138068858

Publication Date: 2019-07-24
Plankton: A Guide to their Ecology and Monitoring for Water Quality by Iain M. Suthers; David Rissik; Anthony J. Richardson
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781486308804

Publication Date: 2019
A Blue Carbon Primer by Lisamarie Windham-Myers (Editor); Stephen Crooks (Editor); Tiffany G. Troxler (Editor)
Call Number: GC 117 .C37 B6 2019 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781498769099

Publication Date: 2018-11-20
The Last Beach by Orrin H. Pilkey; J. Andrew G. Cooper
Call Number: 363.7 Pil

ISBN: 9780822357988

Publication Date: 2014-11-21

Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)
A consortium of energy corporations, research institutions, and academic institutions that conducts research and development relating to the generation, delivery, and use of electricity.
Energy Information Administration (EIA)
The official source for energy and fuel statistics for the U.S. Department of Energy.
Energy State Bill Tracking Database
Database for tracking state legislation related to energy, from the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL). Search using keywords, bill number, or author and/or filter results by state, topic, status, or year. Also includes an energy storage legislation database.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
A national laboratory of the U.S. Department of Energy. Publishes reports, tools, and data on all aspects of renewable energy and energy efficiency.
Our World in Data
Website that leverages data to illuminate large, complex global issues. Contains articles, country-level data and statistics on a variety of topics, including energy and environment, poverty, economic development, food, agriculture, innovation and technology. Part of the UK-based nonprofit Global Change Data Lab.
Transportation and Climate Initiative
Regional collaboration of 12 Northeast and Mid-Atlantic states and the District of Columbia seeking to reduce carbon emissions from the transportation sector, improve transportation and develop the clean energy economy.
Transportation Legislation Tracking Databases
Database from the National Conference of State Legislatures that tracks state transportation-related bills.
U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
Manages the Nation's nuclear infrastructure and supports energy research and development. Houses a network of National Laboratories that conduct cutting-edge scientific research into diverse energy-related topics, including renewables, energy efficiency and storage.
USGS - Energy Resources Program
The U.S. Geological Survey's Energy Resources Program conducts research and assessments to advance the understanding of the Nation's energy resources.
WINDExchange
Provides state-specific information, resources and tools for land-based and offshore wind energy development in order to help stakeholders better understand wind energy and exchange best practices. Website developed and maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.

Electrify by Saul Griffith
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780262046237

Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Alternative Energy: Political, Economic, and Social Feasibility by Christopher A. Simon
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781538116388

Publication Date: 2020
Wind Energy: Renewable Energy and the Environment, 3rd Edition by Vaughn Nelson; Kenneth Starcher
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781138615342

Publication Date: 2019
Renewable Energy and Wildlife Conservation by Christopher E. Moorman; Steven M. Grodsky; Susan Rupp
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781421432731

Publication Date: 2019-09-10

Research Databases:

OSTI.gov
Maintained by the Department of Energy (DOE), Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). Primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results. Contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles and provides access to technical reports, research datasets, conference materials and more.
Tethys
Online portal dedicated to research and data on the environmental effects of wind and marine renewable energy that includes a growing publications database. Provides access to reports, journal articles, conference papers and more. Includes a Map Viewer that allows users to search publications by geographic location.

TRID
Find citations for transportation research. Combines records of Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database and the International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. Published by the Transportation Research Board of the US National Academies with funding from state and federal government entities.

Tutorials and guides

Science History Institute
Offers a vast array of online activities and resources for educators, students, science professionals, scholars, researchers, and the scientifically curious.
USGS: Education Resources
A compilation of educational materials from the U.S. Geological Survey designed for use by K-12 to undergraduate teachers and students. Topics include geology, geography, ecosystems, hydrology, atmospheric sciences, and planetary sciences.

Teaching Climate Change for Grades 6-12 by Kelley Le
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780367752330

Publication Date: 2021-05-01
Getting to the Heart of Science Communication by Faith Kearns
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781642830750

Publication Date: 2021-05-11
Creative (Climate) Communications by Maxwell Boykoff
Call Number: GE 25 .B595 2019

ISBN: 9781316646823

Publication Date: 2019-07-04

Mapping Inequality
An interactive digital map and extensive archive of New Deal-era records produced by the federal Home Owners' Loan Corporation (HOLC), documenting the segregationist housing policies of the mid 20th-century known as "red-lining". Contains data in NJ for Atlantic City, Camden, Trenton, and Bergen, Essex, Hudson and Union counties.
EJSCREEN: Environmental Justice Screening and Mapping Tool
A web-based tool to provide easy access to reports and maps of environmental and demographic information. Developed by the US Environmental Protection Agency to provide a nationally consistent dataset and approach for combining environmental and demographic indicators.
EPA - Environmental Justice
Website from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency on environmental justice (EJ). Includes information on EJ grants, funding, and technical assistance, resources for communities and mapping tools.

Enforcement and Compliance History Online (ECHO)
Use EPA's Enforcement and Compliance History Online website to search for facilities in your community to assess their compliance with environmental regulations. You can also investigate pollution sources, examine and create enforcement-related maps, or explore your state's performance.

Tainted Tap by Katrinell M. Davis
Call Number: RA 592 .M5 D38 2021 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781469662107

Publication Date: 2021-05-03
A Terrible Thing to Waste by Harriet A. Washington
Call Number: GE 230 .W375 2019 (DEP Branch)

ISBN: 9780316509435

Publication Date: 2019-07-23
Unsustainable Inequalities by Lucas Chancel
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780674250673

Publication Date: 2020-10-06
Reclaiming Your Community by Majora Carter
Call Number: HN 90 .C6 C366 2022

ISBN: 9781523000296

Publication Date: 2022-02-01
All We Can Save by Ayana Elizabeth Johnson (Editor); Katharine K. Wilkinson (Editor)
Call Number: GE I95 .9 .A45 2020

ISBN: 9780593237083

Publication Date: 2021-07-20
From the Inside Out by Jill Lindsey Harrison
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780262355414

Publication Date: 2019-10-04
From the Ground Up by Alison Sant
Call Number: QC 981.7 .U7 S26 2022 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781610918961

Publication Date: 2022-01-11
A Field Guide to Climate Anxiety by Sarah Jaquette Ray
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780520343306

Publication Date: 2020-04-21

What is a think tank?

Broadly-defined, think tanks are institutions that provide public policy research, analysis, and recommendations. Frequently, they act as bridges of knowledge and expertise between academia and the public policy community. They are permanent, independent institutions rather than ad hoc commissions, and may be affiliated with a university, government, or political party. (McGann, James G. The Fifth Estate: Think Tanks, Public Policy, and Governance. Brookings Institution Press, 2016).

Environmental Council of the States (ECOS)
National nonprofit, nonpartisan association of state and territorial agency leaders. Aims to provide a clearinghouse of information for state environmental commissioners, promote coordination in environmental management, and articulate state positions on environmental issues to Congress, federal agencies, and the public.
Environmental Law Institute
Non-profit think tank founded in 1969 by the Conservation Foundation and the Public Law Education Institute which provides research and analysis focused on environmental law. Publishers of the Environmental Law Reporter.
EPA - Laws and Regulations
Information from U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) on environmental laws and regulations. Provides regulatory information by topic and sector.
Georgetown Climate Center
Nonpartisan think tank seeking to advance effective climate and energy policies in the U.S. and serve as a resource to state and local communities working to cut carbon and prepare for climate change. Part of Georgetown University Law Center. Hosts the Adaptation Clearinghouse.
Health and Environmental Agencies of U.S. States and Territories
A list of health and environmental agencies in the U.S., organized by state.
Interstate Technology and Regulatory Council (ITRC)
State-led coalition working to reduce barriers to the use of innovative air, water, waste, and remediation environmental technologies and processes. Produces documents and training that broaden and deepen technical knowledge and expedite quality regulatory decision making while protecting human health and the environment.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) - Agriculture and Rural Development
NCSL follows state legislative activities on agriculture and rural economic development, tracks changes in federal policy - including the Farm Bill - concerns on health care and education, and highlights novel approaches lawmakers undertake to address these issues in their state.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) - Energy
NCSL's Energy Program offers a range of free services for state legislators and legislative staff, including a state-by-state analysis of energy issues, technical assistance, responding to policy questions and research on energy issues.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) - Environment and Natural Resources
Provides research and analysis on important state policy trends for state legislators and staff. Tracks issues in seven major categories: climate change and air quality, environmental health, healthy communities, land use, natural resources, waste management and water.
Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions
Affiliated with Duke University. Aims to improve environmental policymaking worldwide through objective, fact-based research to confront the climate crisis, clarify the economics of limiting carbon pollution, harness emerging environmental markets, put the value of nature's benefits on the balance sheet, develop adaptive water management approaches, and identify other strategies to attain community resilience.
Resources for the Future
Founded in 1952, RFF was the first nonprofit think tank devoted exclusively to natural resources and environmental issues. Its stated mission is to improve environmental, energy, and natural resource decisions through impartial economic research and policy engagement.
Climate Change Laws of the World
A database created by the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment which covers national-level climate change legislation and policies globally.
Climate Change Litigation Databases
Provides two databases of climate change caselaw: U.S. Climate Change Litigation and Global Climate Change Litigation. Cases are organized by type of claim and are searchable. For many cases, links are available to decisions, complaints and other case documents.

CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth, non-partisan reporting and analysis of current affairs. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Browse topics in agriculture, energy, environment, climate, natural resources, science and technology.

ECOLEX
Information service on environmental law operated jointly by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), and the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN). Database includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a key legal research database. Includes full text of 1600 law reviews; 50 State session laws and statutes archives; the U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (comprehensive histories for major laws, including bills, reports, hearings and other full text documents). Also includes: the U.S. Code; U.S. Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; U.S. Congressional Serial Set; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Reports. A collection of treatises considered legal classics; Water Rights and Resources Collection; LGBTQ Rights Collection. Also includes U.S. treaties, Canadian and English law, and international agreements.

Training guides and video tutorials are available.

Regulations.gov
Provides public access to regulatory materials produced by federal government agencies, e.g., trending regulations, public comments, supporting documents or analyses, Federal Register notices, and rules.

Environmental Law in a Nutshell by Daniel Farber
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781640201132

Publication Date: 2019-05-22
Valuing Clean Air: The EPA and the Economics of Environmental Protection by Charles Halvorson
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780197538869

Publication Date: 2021
The Economics of Sustainable Food by Nicoletta Batini (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781642831627

Publication Date: 2021-06-08
Saving Species on Private Lands: Unlocking Incentives to Conserve Wildlife and Their Habitats by Lowell E. Baier
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781538139394

Publication Date: 2020

Environment America

Environment & Energy News
Daily, online newswires of U.S. environmental policy and politics provided by E&E Publishing. Several different newswires are available, including Greenwire, EnergyWire, ClimateWire, E&E Daily and E&ENews PM. Subscription required.
Environmental Health News
A publication of Environmental Health Sciences, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to driving science into public discussion and policy on environmental health issues, including climate change.
Eos
Science news magazine published by the American Geophysical Union, focusing on Earth and space sciences.
Grist
Nonprofit, independent media organization focused on issues of climate and environmental justice.
Hakai Magazine
A free online magazine focusing on coastal issues. Part of the non-profit Tula Foundation,
Inside Climate News
Nonprofit, nonpartisan news organization providing reporting and analysis on climate change, energy and the environment for the public and decision makers.
The Intercept - Environment
Environmental reporting from The Intercept.
National Public Radio - Environment Section
Environmental news from National Public Radio (NPR), an independent, nonprofit media organization.
Nature - News and Comment
News from Nature, a peer-reviewed, international weekly journal of science.
New Jersey Spotlight News - Energy & Environment
Local environmental news from NJ Spotlight News, a member-supported, award-winning independent news source in New Jersey.
The New York Times - Climate and Environment
Climate and environmental news from The New York Times.
NJBIZ - Energy
Energy and utilities section of NJBIZ, a leading business journal in New Jersey. Subscription required (full-text access available through NJSL's ProQuest databases).
Politico - Energy & Environment
News, analysis and opinion from Politico on energy and environmental policy and politics.
ProPublica - Environment
Environmental reporting from ProPublica, an independent, nonprofit newsroom focused on investigative journalism.
Science - News
Daily news from the journal Science, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
Science Daily - Top Environment News
Features research news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology and more.
Scientific American
Features authoritative news and opinion coverage of advances in research and discovery. Founded in 1845, it is the oldest continuously published magazine in the US. Magazine requires subscription.
Wall Street Journal - Energy
Energy section of the business and economics-focused Wall Street Journal.
Wall Street Journal - Natural Resources
Natural resources section of the business and economics-focused Wall Street Journal.
The Washington Post - Climate and Environment
Climate and environmental news from The Washington Post.
Yale Environment 360
A publication of the Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies offering news, analysis, and opinion.

Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to make available online the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections. Contains millions of pages of taxonomic literature representing nearly 100,000 titles and over 160,000 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
Encyclopedia of Life is a database of every species on Earth (animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria), created in collaboration with leading national and international science organizations.
IUCN Red List
The International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) maintains a global list of threatened and endangered species.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)
Agency within Dept. of Interior dedicated to the conservation, protection, and enhancement of fish, wildlife, plants, and their habitats. Responsibilities include protecting threatened and endangered species, monitoring migratory birds, protecting fisheries and conserving wildlife habitat such as wetlands.
USGS - Patuxent Wildlife Research Center (PWRC)
Part of the U.S Geological Survey, conducts science to support natural resource management and conservation challenges. Research topics include bird population dynamics, ecotoxicology, and the development of quantitative tools. Administers the Bird Banding Lab and Breeding Bird Survey programs.

The Wildlife Techniques Manual by Nova J. Silvy (Editor)
Call Number: REF SK 355 .R47 2020 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781421436692

Publication Date: 2020-07-28
Saving Species on Private Lands: Unlocking Incentives to Conserve Wildlife and Their Habitats by Lowell E. Baier
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781538139394

Publication Date: 2020
Wildlife and Wind Farms - Conflicts and Solutions, Vol. 3: Offshore: Potential Effects by Martin Perrow (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781784271282

Publication Date: 2019-01-17
Wildlife and Wind Farms - Conflicts and Solutions, Vol. 4: Offshore: Monitoring and Mitigation by Martin Perrow (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781784271329

Publication Date: 2019-08-01

Ample Harvest
Nationwide non-profit organization that helps home and community gardeners donate their surplus harvest to local food pantries. Offers resources for gardeners and pantries, as well as information on food assistance.
BioCycle
Trade publication originally founded in 1960 by Jerome Goldstein as the journal Compost Science. Dedicated to the advancement of composting and compost utilization, organics recycling, anaerobic digestion and biogas, recycled organics utilization, sustainable infrastructure, and resilient soils and food systems.
EPA - Excess Food Opportunities Map
An interactive map created by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency that identifies and displays facility-specific information about potential generators and recipients of excess food in the industrial, commercial and institutional sectors. Also provides estimates of excess food by generator type.
EPA - Sustainable Management of Food
Website from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency dedicated to food waste issues, including basic information, research, webinars, reports and tools.
Feeding America
Website of Feeding America, the largest hunger relief organization in the U.S. Contains an online directory of local food banks in the U.S. and produces research reports and policy briefs on hunger and food insecurity topics.

The Composting Handbook by Robert Rynk (Editor); Ginny Black (Editor), et al.
Call Number: REF TD 796.5 .C66 2022 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9780323856027

Publication Date: 2021-12-08
A National Strategy to Reduce Food Waste at the Consumer Level
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780309680769

Publication Date: 2020-10-14
The Economics of Sustainable Food by Nicoletta Batini (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781642831627

Publication Date: 2021-06-08

Center for Plant Conservation
Website for the Center for Plant Conservation (CPC), an organization dedicated to conserving rare and endangered plants of the United States, its territories, and Canada. Offers many resources for plant conservation, including a pollinator database, rare plant finder, and publications on best practices.
USDA PLANTS Database
Created and maintained by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the PLANTS Database serves as a single source of standardized information about plants of the U.S. and its territories, including vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornwarts and lichens. Includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, web links, and references.

National Geologic Map Database
Aims to be a standardized, national archive of geoscience information. Hosts a map catalog with over 100,000 mapping products from over 600 publishers. Other components include the U.S. Geologic Names Lexicon (Geolex), technical standards, guidelines and resources fo creating maps, and interactive map viewers. Created by USGS and the Association of American State Geologists (AASG).
U.S. Geologic Survey (USGS)
USGS is the Nation's largest science and civilian mapping agency and conducts research in a wide range of earth science disciplines, including geology, hydrology, and disaster risk management. Primary source for GIS data and information about water supplies, reservoirs, groundwater and lake and stream data.
USGS: Education Resources
A compilation of educational materials from the U.S. Geological Survey designed for use by K-12 to undergraduate teachers and students. Topics include geology, geography, ecosystems, hydrology, atmospheric sciences, and planetary sciences.

Air & Waste Management Association
A nonprofit, nonpartisan professional organization for environmental professionals founded in 1907. Publishes the Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association, and EM, a magazine for environmental managers.
BioCycle
Trade publication originally founded in 1960 by Jerome Goldstein as the journal Compost Science. Dedicated to the advancement of composting and compost utilization, organics recycling, anaerobic digestion and biogas, recycled organics utilization, sustainable infrastructure, and resilient soils and food systems.
EPA - Reduce, Reuse, Recycle
Website from the EPA with information and tips on recycling and waste reduction, including recycling basics, information on electronics and battery recycling, reducing food waste, and resources for students and educators.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) - Environment and Natural Resources
Provides research and analysis on important state policy trends for state legislators and staff. Tracks issues in seven major categories: climate change and air quality, environmental health, healthy communities, land use, natural resources, waste management and water.
Zero Waste Europe
A non-governmental organization and think tank founded in 2013 and based in Brussels, Belgium that aims to transition Europe towards zero waste and a circular economy. Hosts a large online library of reports, policy briefings, case studies, fact sheets and guides.
Waste360
Provides industry news, analysis and information services to the solid waste, recycling and organics industry. Publishes industry e-newsletters such as Waste360 Daily Wire and Waste360 Technology Report as well as podcasts, webinars and whitepapers.

Our Plastic Problem and How to Solve It by Sarah J. Morath
Call Number: TD 798 .M67 2022

ISBN: 9781108795371

Publication Date: 2022-03-24
Thicker Than Water by Erica Cirino
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781642831382

Publication Date: 2021-10-07
Plastics and Microplastics: a Reference Handbook by David E. Newton
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781440875403

Publication Date: 2021-07-19
Handbook on Household Hazardous Waste by Amy D. Cabaniss (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781641433020

Publication Date: 2018-08-10

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
Federal public health agency of the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services that examines the impacts to public health from man-made hazardous substances in the environment. Produces toxicological profiles on hazardous substances found on the National Priorities List and hosts a toxic substances information portal.
American Chemical Society (ACS)
Official website for the world’s largest scientific society for chemistry and chemical engineering. Publishes important journals such as Environmental Science and Technology (ES&T), and the magazine Chemical & Engineering News.
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)
Worldwide association dedicated to Chemical Engineering.
Contaminated Site Clean-Up Information (CLU-IN)
Website sponsored by the US Environmental Protection Agency which provides information on innovative treatment technologies for hazardous waste sites.
EPA - Superfund
Website for information on the Superfund program within the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The Superfund program responsible for cleaning up some of the nation's most contaminated sites.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) - Environment and Natural Resources
Provides research and analysis on important state policy trends for state legislators and staff. Tracks issues in seven major categories: climate change and air quality, environmental health, healthy communities, land use, natural resources, waste management and water.
National Toxicology Program (NTP)
Interagency program under the US Department of Health and Human Services and part of the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS), which tracks the human health effects of chemicals. Publishes a variety of reports, such as the Report on Carcinogens.
Othmer Library of Chemical History
An independent research library encompassing the history of chemistry and related sciences and industries. Part of the Science History Institute in Philadelphia.
Science History Institute - Digital Collections
Searchable digital library of over 9,000 artifacts, photographs, advertisements, letters, rare books, oral histories and more. Contains a wide range of primary and secondary historical materials documenting scientific, technological, and medical achievements and their effect on the modern world.
Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC)
Website for one of the leading professional associations for issues related to environmental toxicology. Publishers of the journals Environmental Toxicology & Chemistry (ET&C) and Integrated Environmental Assessment and Management (IEAM).
TOXNET
Previously a collection of toxicology databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) such as Hazardous Substances Databank and TOXLINE. As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of these information services are being integrated into other NLM products such as PubChem and PubMed, or retired.
ToxTutor
ToxTutor is a self-paced tutorial covering key principles of toxicology. Adopted from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) introductory toxicology tutorial ToxLearn, which was retired in 2019. Topics include dose and dose response, toxicity testing methods, risk assessment, and more.
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) National Analysis
Provides analysis, interpretation and examination of trends from information reported by U.S. facilities to EPA on their management of toxic chemicals, including releases to the environment.

The Alchemy of Disease by John Whysner
Call Number: RA 1211 .W49 2020 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9780231191661

Publication Date: 2020-06-02
Forever Chemicals by David M. Kempisty (Editor); LeeAnn Racz (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781000405453

Publication Date: 2021-07-28
Toxic Chemicals in America: Controversies in Human and Environmental Health [2 Volumes] by Kelly Tzoumis (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK

ISBN: 9781440857539

Publication Date: 2020-12-02
Emerging Contaminants Handbook by Caitlin H. Bell (Editor); Margaret Gentile (Editor); Erica Kalve (Editor); Ian Ross (Editor); John Horst (Editor); Suthan Suthersan (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781351665070

Publication Date: 2019-01-15
Pharmaceutical Accumulation in the Environment by Walter E. Goldstein (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781466517752

Publication Date: 2014-06-12
Environmental Investigation and Remediation by Thomas K. G. Mohr; William H. DiGuiseppi; James W. Hatton; Janet Katherine Anderson
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780429685781

Publication Date: 2020-01-02

American Water Works Association
International, nonprofit, scientific and educational society "dedicated to providing total water solutions assuring the effective management of water." Founded in 1881, it is the largest organization of water supply professionals in the world. Publishes technical reports, journals, books, standards and manuals of practice.
EPA - Groundwater and Drinking Water
Website from the Environmental Protection Agency providing information to the public on the quality of their local drinking water, including Annual Water Quality Reports, information on testing home drinking water, and drinking water regulations.
EPA - Water Topics
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency website for water issues. Includes information on topics such as drinking water, local water quality reports, watersheds, wastewater, regulations and pollution prevention and monitoring.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) - Environment and Natural Resources
Provides research and analysis on important state policy trends for state legislators and staff. Tracks issues in seven major categories: climate change and air quality, environmental health, healthy communities, land use, natural resources, waste management and water.
Our World in Data
Website that leverages data to illuminate large, complex global issues. Contains articles, country-level data and statistics on a variety of topics, including energy and environment, poverty, economic development, food, agriculture, innovation and technology. Part of the UK-based nonprofit Global Change Data Lab.
Society for Freshwater Science
International scientific organization founded in 1953 whose purpose is to promote understanding of freshwater ecosystems (rivers, streams, lakes, reservoirs and estuaries) and ecosystems at the interface between aquatic and terrestrial habitats (wetlands, bogs, fens, riparian forests, and grasslands). Publishes the journal Freshwater Science.
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater
Standard analytical techniques for the determination of water quality, continuously published and updated since 1905. Developed and published by the American Public Health Association, the American Water Works Association and Water Environment Federation.
USGS - Water Resources
Water information from the U.S. Geological Survey, which monitors, assesses and conducts research on a wide range of water issues, including water quality, use, and availability. Provides water data, various tools, mapping applications and research publications.
Water Environment Federation
Nonprofit association founded in 1928 that provides technical education and training for water quality professionals. Publishes many resources for water professionals, including books, magazines, and the journal Water Environment Research,
Water Research Foundation
A nonprofit research foundation whose goal is to fund applied research important to water utilities. Publishes research reports and case studies on a large variety of water topics, such as treatment technology, utility management, and pollution control. Publishes the magazine Advances in Water Research and email lists containing news and updates from WRF and the water sector.

Troubled Water by Seth M. Siegel
Call Number: RA 592 .A1 S54 2019 (DEP Branch)

ISBN: 9781250132543

Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Rivers Lost, Rivers Regained by Martin Knoll (Editor); Uwe Lubken (Editor); Dieter Schott (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780822981596

Publication Date: 2017-05-31
Dead Zones: The Loss of Oxygen from Rivers, Lakes, Seas, and the Ocean by David L. Kirchman
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780197520390

Publication Date: 2021
Aquatic Chemistry Concepts, Second Edition by James F. Pankow
Call Number: GB 855 .P36 2020 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781439854402

Publication Date: 2019-11-18
Principles of Stormwater Management by Roger D. Griffin
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781138093621

Publication Date: 2018-02-26

Association of State Wetland Managers
Aims to build capacity for state and tribal members and foster collaboration among the wetland community of practice. Publishes the monthly newsletter, "Wetland News Digest." Many reports, guidebooks and white papers are available for free to the public.
EPA - Wetlands
Environmental Protection Agency website on the science and conservation of wetlands.
Society for Freshwater Science
International scientific organization founded in 1953 whose purpose is to promote understanding of freshwater ecosystems (rivers, streams, lakes, reservoirs and estuaries) and ecosystems at the interface between aquatic and terrestrial habitats (wetlands, bogs, fens, riparian forests, and grasslands). Publishes the journal Freshwater Science.
Society of Wetland Scientists
The mission of the Society of Wetland Scientists (SWS) is to promote understanding, conservation, protection, restoration, science-based management, and sustainability of wetlands. Publishes the journals Wetlands, Estuaries and Coasts, Wetlands Ecology and Management, and the newsletter Wetland Science and Practice.
USGS - Wetland and Aquatic Research Center (WARC)
Part of the U.S. Geological Survey, WARC conducts research, develops new approaches and technologies and disseminates scientific information needed to understand, manage, conserve, and restore wetlands and other aquatic and coastal ecosystems.
USDA - National Wetland Plant List
A database of wetland plants from the US Dept. of Agriculture PLANTS website. Search the PLANTS database by taxonomy or name and filter results by wetland region.