Research Guides: Environmental Resources: New Jersey Resources

New Jersey Resources by Topic

New Jersey Conservation Blueprint
Interactive mapping tool created by the Nature Conservancy, Rowan University, the New Jersey Conservation Foundation and others partners to help identify and prioritize preservation of open space, farmland and community greenspaces.
New Jersey Environmental Digital Library (NJEDL)
Open repository of digital research and educational materials related to New Jersey's environment. Also contains a searchable directory of NJ environmental organizations.
New Jersey Environmental Rules
Guide to New Jersey environmental rules and regulations, from the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP).
New Jersey State Publications Digital Library
The State Library's online repository of current and historical NJ State Government publications. Browse the repository by agency, or search by title and/or author, subject, and date. See especially the communities for Agriculture, and Environmental Protection,
NJ MAP
Interactive atlas for ecological resources, environmental education and sustainable communities developed by Rowan University. Offers a free online map viewer to connect NJ citizens, municipalities and advocacy groups with geospatial tools to support community planning and conservation efforts.
NJDEP - Environmental Trends
Regularly updated reports from New Jersey Dept. of Environmental Protection detailing state environmental trends. Chapters include Air, Climate/Energy, Open Space and Land Use, Pollution Prevention and Solid Waste, Water, Plants and Wildlife.
NJ Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP)
Main state agency responsible for protecting NJ's environment and natural resources.
NJDEP Open Data
Open data site for the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection's Bureau of GIS. Discover and explore web maps and mapping applications associated with NJ's environment and download GIS data.
Sustainable Jersey - Resources
Resources from Sustainable Jersey to help local officials, municipal staff and green team volunteers implement local green initiatives. Hosts a data center, library of publications, case studies, green team resources, presentations and a database of funding sources.
US Environmental Protection Agency - Region 2
Information from US Environmental Protection Agency Region 2, which covers New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and eight Indian Nations.

New Jersey's Environments: Past, Present, and Future by Neil M. Maher
Call Number: J333.72 M214

ISBN: 0813537185

Publication Date: 2006-01-19

Edible New Jersey
Website of Edible New Jersey, a bi-monthly magazine spotlighting stories about local food and farming.
Jersey Fresh
Program established in 1984 by NJ Dept. of Agriculture to inform consumers which fruits and vegetables were grown in New Jersey. Contains a directory and database for finding Jersey Fresh produce.
NJ Agricultural Experiment Station
Affiliated with Rutgers University, provides a diverse range of research, extension, and educational programs related to agriculture, horticulture, fisheries and aquaculture in New Jersey.
NJ Agricultural Statistics - National Agricultural Statistics Service
New Jersey agricultural statistics from the National Agricultural Statistics Service.
NJ Department of Agriculture (NJDA)
State agency that provides promotional, service, information and regulatory programs to NJ's agricultural community and other residents.
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service - Field Office Technical Guide (FOTG)
Technical guides are the primary scientific references for USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service. They contain technical information about the conservation of soil, water, air, and related plant and animal resources. Select New Jersey from the drop-down menu to view specific guides for the state.
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service - New Jersey
New Jersey website of the USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), which provides farmers and ranchers with financial and technical assistance related to the conservation of soil, water, air and other natural resources.
USDA Northeast Climate Hub
US Dept. of Agriculture climate information hub for Northeastern land managers.

South Jersey Farming by Cheryl L. Baisden
Call Number: J630 B163 (Jerseyana)

ISBN: 0738544973

Publication Date: 2006-08-21
New Jersey Fresh by Rachel Weston
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781625855299

Publication Date: 2015-05-11
Tending the Garden State by Charles H. Harrison
Call Number: J630.9 H318 (Jerseyana)

ISBN: 9780813539065

Publication Date: 2006-10-30

AirNow
One-stop source for air quality data from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Reports local air quality in your area using the official U.S. Air Quality Index (AQI). Contains interactive maps with air quality and wildfire hazards data, and educational resources.
NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection - Division of Air Quality
Agency within DEP responsible for managing air quality in the state. Responsibilities include ambient air monitoring, pollution sources inventories, emission reduction plans, rules, permits, air quality modeling and risk assessment, vehicle inspections and voluntary programs to modernize fleets and promote electric vehicles.
NJDEP - Environmental Trends
Regularly updated reports from New Jersey Dept. of Environmental Protection detailing state environmental trends. Chapters include Air, Climate/Energy, Open Space and Land Use, Pollution Prevention and Solid Waste, Water, Plants and Wildlife.
What's in My Community?
Mapping application produced by DEP's Division of Air Quality that shows every facility with an air permit registered with the Division.

Climate Change in New Jersey: Impacts & Effects
A web resource created by the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection the provides the current scientific understanding of how climate change will likely affect NJ's environment and communities. Builds on the findings of the 2020 New Jersey Scientific Report on Climate Change and the 2022 Climate Change Impacts on Human Health & Communities Addendum
Climate Change Litigation Databases
Provides two databases of climate change caselaw: U.S. Climate Change Litigation and Global Climate Change Litigation. Cases are organized by type of claim and are searchable. For many cases, links are available to decisions, complaints and other case documents.
Heat Hub New Jersey
A digital resource on all things related to extreme heat in NJ, created by the Interagency Council on Climate Resilience. Provides information on extreme heat and health, impacts on vulnerable populations, and recommendations for action. Also features "Chill Out NJ," an interactive map of locations where the public can get relief from the heat, including beaches, libraries, parks, public pools and senior centers.
New Jersey Climate Change Resource Center
Conducts research with real-world applications to New Jersey's climate-related challenges. Affiliated with Rutgers University.
NJADAPT
A suite of free web-based data visualization and mapping tools developed by Rutgers University and the NJ Climate Change Resource Center. Includes tools for understanding climate impacts at the single municipality or county level, flood exposure mapping, and forest management.
NJDEP - Environmental Trends
Regularly updated reports from New Jersey Dept. of Environmental Protection detailing state environmental trends. Chapters include Air, Climate/Energy, Open Space and Land Use, Pollution Prevention and Solid Waste, Water, Plants and Wildlife.
NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection - Climate Change
Information on climate change in New Jersey and the state government's response.
Northeast Regional Climate Center
Located at Cornell University and supported by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Disseminates current and historical climate data and information and monitors climatic conditions in 12 states in the northeastern region of the U.S., including Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Delaware, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, West Virginia, and Washington D.C.
Office of the New Jersey State Climatologist
Associated with the NJ Agricultural Experimental Station, the Office of the New Jersey State Climatologist serves as the State focal point for activities related to the climate of New Jersey. Collects and archives climate data and maintains active research and public outreach programs.
Resilient NJ: Local Planning for Climate Change Toolkit
Website designed to help NJ municipal and county governments plan for climate change and build resilience into local governance. Includes links to useful resources, tools, worksheets, and templates, and guidance to help communities address recent changes to the Municipal Land Use Law. Created by the Resilient NJ program within the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection.
State Adaptation Progress Tracker
From the Georgetown Climate Center - tracks the status and progress of state climate change adaptation efforts. Search by State to see summaries of actions taken by New Jersey, including state laws and policies, agency plans, local/regional plans, and links to resources.
Transportation and Climate Initiative
Regional collaboration of 12 Northeast and Mid-Atlantic states and the District of Columbia seeking to reduce carbon emissions from the transportation sector, improve transportation and develop the clean energy economy.
USDA Northeast Climate Hub
US Dept. of Agriculture climate information hub for Northeastern land managers.

New Jersey Scientific Report on Climate Change by NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection
Publication Date: 2020
The Drowning of Money Island by Andrew S. Lewis
Call Number: HD 75.6 .L49 2019

ISBN: 9780807083581

Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Adaptations of coastal cities to global warming, sea level rise, climate change and endemic hazards by Frederic R. Siegel
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 3030226697

Publication Date: 2020

Barnegat Bay Partnership
A partnership of federal, state, municipal, academic, business and private organizations that works to restore, protect, and enhance the water quality and natural resources of the Barnegat Bay and its watershed. One of the nation's 28 National Estuary Programs. Conducts research, education and outreach and publishes reports and data on Barnegat Bay, including a species database and watershed maps.
Coastal Zone Information Center Collection, 1951-1999
Provides access to nearly 5,000 coastal related documents that Government Printing Office received from the NOAA Central Library. Provides almost 30 years of data and information crucial to the understanding of U.S. coastal management. Contains many historical documents submitted by state coastal zone management programs in accordance with the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972.
Jacques Cousteau National Estuarine Research Reserve
One of the 29 National Estuarine Research Reserves created to promote the responsible use and management of the nation's estuaries through a program combining scientific research, education, and stewardship. Encompasses approximately 116,000 acres in southeastern NJ, including a great variety of terrestrial, wetland and aquatic habitats within the Mullica River-Great Bay ecosystem.
Mid-Atlantic Ocean Data Portal
Online toolkit and resource center that consolidates available data to enable state, federal and local users to visualize, map and analyze ocean resources and human use information such as fishing grounds, recreational areas, shipping lanes, habitat areas, and energy sites in the Mid-Atlantic region. Created and maintained by the Mid-Atlantic Regional Council on the Ocean (MARCO).
MyCoast: New Jersey
The MyCoast: New Jersey portal is used to collect and analyze photos of coastal events and places. Photos are linked to data about weather and tides to create reports that help stakeholders like government agencies, business owners, and residents to understand coastal change and make informed decisions. Provides citizen science tools for tracking flooding across the state and documenting coastal places.
New Jersey Coastal Management Program
Part of the National Coastal Zone Management Program, responsible for addressing coastal issues in the state, including sustainable and resilient coastal community planning, climate change, ocean planning, and planning for energy facilities and development.
NJBeaches.org
Website providing information on current beach status, water quality sample results, reports of beach advisories, beach closings and other events, and daily updates from coastal surveillance flights. Administered by the Dept. of Environmental Protection's Cooperative Coastal Monitoring Program.
NJDEP - Environmental Trends
Regularly updated reports from New Jersey Dept. of Environmental Protection detailing state environmental trends. Chapters include Air, Climate/Energy, Open Space and Land Use, Pollution Prevention and Solid Waste, Water, Plants and Wildlife.
NOAA Fisheries - Species Directory: New England/Mid-Atlantic Region
Directory of marine species managed, protected, and studied by NOAA in the New England/Mid-Atlantic Region. View information about each species and protection status.
NOAA Restoration Atlas
An interactive Restoration Atlas that help users find nearby aquatic habitat restoration projects. Search for projects by habitat type, location, or congressional district. Contains project information, including description and costs. Created by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Restoration Center.
Northeast Fisheries Science Center (NFSC)
Website for the research arm of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in the northeast region. Maintains the James J. Howard Marine Sciences Laboratory and its library at Sandy Hook, New Jersey, in addition to research facilities in several other northeast states, including the Woods Hole, Massachusetts Laboratory.
Partnership for the Delaware Estuary
Nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting the Delaware Estuary and one of 28 National Estuary Programs designated by Congress. Conducts science and publishes data and reports. Also publishes standard methods for living shoreline, marsh, and freshwater mussel restoration and monitoring projects.
US Army Corps of Engineers (New York District) - New Jersey Projects and Studies
Information on USCE projects in New Jersey north of the Manasquan Inlet focusing on ecosystem restoration, coastal storm risk management, navigation and flood risk management.
US Army Corps of Engineers (Philadelphia) - New Jersey Factsheets
Contains fact sheets about USACE projects and studies within the Delaware River watershed and along the Atlantic Coast of NJ south of the Manasquan Inlet dealing with topics such as flood and coastal storm risk management and ecosystem restoration.

Beach and Dune Restoration by Karl F. Nordstrom; Nancy L. Jackson (Adapted by)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781108857659

Publication Date: 2021-08-20
New Jersey Marine Digest
Call Number: E-Periodical available online
The Jersey Shore by Dominick Mazzagetti
Call Number: J974.9 M477

ISBN: 9780813593746

Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Beneath the Surface: Understanding Nature in the Mullica Valley Estuary by Kenneth W. Able
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780813590196

Publication Date: 2020-08-14

Energy State Bill Tracking Database
Database for tracking state legislation related to energy, from the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL). Search using keywords, bill number, or author and/or filter results by state, topic, status, or year. Also includes an energy storage legislation database.
New Jersey's Clean Energy Program
Program within NJ Board of Public Utilities (NJBPU) focused on promoting clean and renewable energy in the state through solar installations, carbon emissions reduction and initiatives to help residents reduce energy usage and save money.
NJ Clean Energy Resource Network (NJCERN)
A state-wide interagency initiative led by the Rutgers University EcoComplex designed to assist Clean Energy Businesses in New Jersey by identifying funding and assistance programs applicable to their clean energy interests.
New Jersey Offshore Wind Energy
Learn more about the history of offshore wind energy in NJ through this interactive story map. Created by the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection.
NJDEP - Offshore Wind
Information and news on the development of offshore wind energy in New Jersey, from the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection.
NJDEP - Drive Green
Information from DEP about electric vehicles (EVs), and EV state programs and initiatives.
NJDEP - Environmental Trends
Regularly updated reports from New Jersey Dept. of Environmental Protection detailing state environmental trends. Chapters include Air, Climate/Energy, Open Space and Land Use, Pollution Prevention and Solid Waste, Water, Plants and Wildlife.
State Energy Analysis Tool
Developed by the Georgetown Climate Center, this tool provides data about energy production, pollution, clean energy potential, energy efficiency and regulatory information in U.S. States. Compare states and regions and view in-depth state profiles.
Transportation and Climate Initiative
Regional collaboration of 12 Northeast and Mid-Atlantic states and the District of Columbia seeking to reduce carbon emissions from the transportation sector, improve transportation and develop the clean energy economy.
US Energy Information Administration - New Jersey
Energy profile of NJ with related facts and statistics, including consumption, production, and prices from the U.S. Dept. of Energy. View interactive maps of power plants and energy infrastructure in NJ.
WINDExchange - Wind Energy in New Jersey
Website developed by the U.S. Dept. of Energy's Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. Provides wind energy data and information for each state, including maps, wind capacity, policies and incentives, workforce development and more.

Communities and the Clean Energy Revolution: Public Health, Economics, Design, and Transformation by Melanie J. La Rosa
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781793639233

Publication Date: 2022
2019 New Jersey Energy Master Plan: Pathway to 2050 by NJ Board of Public Utilities
Publication Date: 2019

NJ Climate Change Education Resources
Provides resource for educators aiming to foster an interdisciplinary approach to climate change education that is evidence-based, action-oriented and inclusive. Features K-12 instructional resources, evaluation resources and notices of grant opportunities.
State Environmental Education Directory (SEEDS)
Directory of environmental education resources from the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection. Includes resources for teachers, a listing of environmental education centers and a form for booking DEP outreach programs.

The US Environmental Protection Agency defines environmental justice as "the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people regardless of race, color, national origin, or income with respect to the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies."

EJSCREEN: Environmental Justice Screening and Mapping Tool
A web-based tool to provide easy access to reports and maps of environmental and demographic information. Developed by the US Environmental Protection Agency to provide a nationally consistent dataset and approach for combining environmental and demographic indicators.
Healthy Community Planning - New Jersey (HCP-NJ)
Website jointly created by the NJ Dept. of Health and Dept. of Environmental Protection that provides individual health and environmental reports for each of New Jersey's municipalities. Features municipal-level data on 33 separate environmental and health indicators and relevant county and State data for comparison, as well as guidance for leveraging the data to make meaningful community health and environmental improvements.
Mapping Inequality
An interactive digital map and extensive archive of New Deal-era records produced by the federal Home Owners' Loan Corporation (HOLC), documenting the segregationist housing policies of the mid 20th-century known as "red-lining". Contains data in NJ for Atlantic City, Camden, Trenton, and Bergen, Essex, Hudson and Union counties.
NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection - Office of Environmental Justice
DEP program that aims to address environmental concerns and improve quality of life in NJ's overburdened communities.
NJ Environmental Justice Mapping, Assessment and Protection Tool (EJMAP)
Interactive mapping tool that allows users to view overburdened communities, the criteria each block group meets, and the municipality for which the overburdened community is designated in accordance with the NJ Environmental Justice Law. The interactive website provides an introduction to the tool and instructions on how to use it.
What's in My Community?
Mapping application produced by DEP's Division of Air Quality that shows every facility with an air permit registered with the Division.

From the Library:

Environmental Justice in a Moment of Danger by Julie Sze
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780520300736

Publication Date: 2020-01-07
A Terrible Thing to Waste by Harriet A. Washington
Call Number: GE 230 .W375 2019 (DEP Branch)

ISBN: 9780316509435

Publication Date: 2019-07-23
The Color of Law by Richard Rothstein
Call Number: 305.8 Rot

ISBN: 9781631492853

Publication Date: 2017-05-02
From the Inside Out by Jill Lindsey Harrison
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780262355414

Publication Date: 2019-10-04

Know the Bear Facts: Black Bears in New Jersey
Information about black bears in New Jersey from the NJ Division of Fish & Wildlife, including safety tips, fact sheets, publications, and policies.
National Wildlife Refuges in New Jersey
The National Wildlife Refuge System is a program of the US Fish and Wildlife Service that administers a national network of lands and waters for the conservation, management and restoration of the Nation's fish, wildlife and plant resources and their habitats. Website hosts a map where you can search for refuges near you.
NJ Agricultural Experiment Station (NJAES) - Fisheries and Aquaculture
Resources from NJAES about the management of New Jersey's finfish and shellfish fisheries, including news, factsheets and bulletins.
NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife
Responsible for protection, management and wise use of New Jersey's fish and wildlife resources.
NJDEP - Environmental Trends
Regularly updated reports from New Jersey Dept. of Environmental Protection detailing state environmental trends. Chapters include Air, Climate/Energy, Open Space and Land Use, Pollution Prevention and Solid Waste, Water, Plants and Wildlife.
NJDEP - Invasive Species
Website providing information on invasive species in New Jersey, including invasive plants, animals, insect pests, pathogens and fungi.
NJDEP - New Jersey's Endangered and Threatened Wildlife
Lists of NJ's endangered and threatened wildlife maintained by DEP's Division of Fish and Wildlife Endangered and Nongame Species Program.
New Jersey Endangered and Threatened Species Field Guide
Searchable online field guide created by Conserve Wildlife Foundation of New Jersey. Search or browse lists of species by common or scientific name, species group, or conservation status. View detailed information on each species, including identification tips and distribution in NJ.
NOAA Fisheries - Species Directory: New England/Mid-Atlantic Region
Directory of marine species managed, protected, and studied by NOAA in the New England/Mid-Atlantic Region. View information about each species and protection status.
Northeast Fisheries Science Center (NFSC)
Website for the research arm of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in the northeast region. Maintains the James J. Howard Marine Sciences Laboratory and its library at Sandy Hook, New Jersey, in addition to research facilities in several other northeast states, including the Woods Hole, Massachusetts Laboratory.
US Fish and Wildlife - New Jersey Field Office
The New Jersey Field Office of the US Fish and Wildlife Service serves the State of New Jersey by protecting endangered species, supporting Federal planning, abating contamination, and partnering with land owners to restore wildlife habitats.

American Birding Association Field Guide to the Birds of New Jersey by Rick Wright; Brian E. Small (By (photographer))
Call Number: J598.09 W952

ISBN: 9781935622420

Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Diamonds in the Marsh by Barbara Brennessel; Bob Prescott (Foreword by)
Call Number: QL 666 .C547 B74 2021 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781684580804

Publication Date: 2021-09-01
Crab Wars by William Sargent
Call Number: QL 447.7 .S27 2021

ISBN: 9781684580767

Publication Date: 2021-09-01
State Wildlife Management and Conservation by Thomas J. Ryder (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781421424477

Publication Date: 2018-03-01
America's Snake by Ted Levin
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780226040783

Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Wild New Jersey by David Wheeler; Margaret O'Gorman (Foreword by)
Call Number: J508.7 W562

ISBN: 9780813549217

Publication Date: 2011-01-14

Chrysler Herbarium and Mycological Collection
Website of the Chrysler Herbarium (CHRB), the last internationally recognized herbarium in the State of New Jersey, with over 140,000 vascular plant and algal collections, about 7,000 moss and liverwort specimens, and 2,600 lichen specimens. Hosts archives and digital resources, including The Flora of New Jersey Project.
Database of Rare Biodiversity
Website from DEP's Office of Natural Lands Management dedicated to New Jersey's rare and endangered plants. Provides list of rare plant species and ecological communities by county. Listings include information on the rarity and official status of each plant species or ecological community.
Jersey-Friendly Yards
Website developed by the Barnegat Bay Partnership providing landscaping guidance for environmentally friendly, low-maintenance yards. Includes a plant database for New Jersey native plants and Jersey-friendly non-native plants.
Native Plant Society of New Jersey
A statewide non-profit organization dedicated to the appreciation, protection, and study of the native flora of New Jersey.
NJDEP - Environmental Trends
Regularly updated reports from New Jersey Dept. of Environmental Protection detailing state environmental trends. Chapters include Air, Climate/Energy, Open Space and Land Use, Pollution Prevention and Solid Waste, Water, Plants and Wildlife.
NJDEP - Invasive Species
Website providing information on invasive species in New Jersey, including invasive plants, animals, insect pests, pathogens and fungi.
Rare Plant Profiles
Profiles compiled by NJDEP's Natural Heritage Program. Includes concise summaries of natural history, conservation status, and threats for each species.

Grasses, Sedges, Rushes by Lauren Brown; Ted Elliman; Jerry Jenkins (Foreword by)
Call Number: REF QK 495 .G74 B692 2020 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9780300236774

Publication Date: 2020-08-18
Plant Communities of New Jersey by Beryl Robichaud; Karl Anderson
Call Number: J581.5 R654

ISBN: 0813520711

Publication Date: 1994-09-30
New Jersey Wild Plants by Mary Y. Hough
Call Number: REF QK 175 .H68 1983 (DEP Library)

Publication Date: 1983
Wildflowers of the Pine Barrens of New Jersey by Howard P. Boyd
Call Number: J582.13 B789

ISBN: 0937548456

Publication Date: 2001-12-01
Shrubs and vines of New Jersey and the Mid-Atlantic States by Christopher T. Martine
Call Number: DEP QK 175 .N5 M37 2007 (DEP Library)

Publication Date: 2007

Center for EcoTechnology Wasted Food Solutions - New Jersey
The Center for EcoTechnology (CET) is a nonprofit organization that helps people and businesses save energy and reduce waste. Offers program design and implementation services throughout the Northeast U.S. and beyond, and consulting services to provide information and advice nationally. Provides New Jersey-specific resources, reports, regulatory information and fact sheets on food waste management.
More Meals Less Waste
Campaign created by a partnership between the NJ Department of Agriculture, The Community Food Bank of New Jersey (CFBNJ), The Food Bank of South Jersey, Mercer Street Friends, and Norwescap to help residents and businesses prevent food waste. Contains a list of local food banks, links, videos and guides on topics such as food storage tips, composting, and food recovery.
NJDEP - Food Waste
DEP website on reducing food waste in New Jersey. Contains information on New Jersey's Food Waste Reduction Plan.
NJDEP - School Food Waste Guidelines
Guidance to help K-12 schools and higher education institutions pursue best practices for managing school waste, developed by the NJ Departments of Environmental Protection, Agriculture, Education, Health and the Office of the Secretary of Higher Education.
Rutgers Cooperative Extension Food Waste Team (RCE-FW)
Created by the Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Passaic County, RCE-FW works with food service workers, facilitates trainings to help food service departments reduce waste and creates comprehensive toolkits to implement food waste reduction efforts in schools.
New Jersey Composting Council
Nonprofit industry group advancing composting manufacturing, compost utilization and organics recycling in New Jersey.

Forest Resource Education Center
Located in Jackson, NJ and featuring eight miles of trails operated by the NJ Forest Service. Provides educational and recreational opportunities including hiking, fishing, biking, hunting, nature photography, horseback riding and bike trails.
Forests of New Jersey, 2015
Interactive story map from the U.S. Forest Service (USFS), Northern Research Station. Provides an overview of forest resources in New Jersey based on the annual inventory conducted by the USFS.
New Jersey Forest Fire Service
Agency responsible for protecting life, property and the state's natural resources from wildfire since 1906. Provides a NJ Fire Danger Dashboard and fire danger indices.
New Jersey Forest Service
Responsible for management of New Jersey's forest resources.
NJ Big Tree Map and Registry
Registry of the largest trees found throughout the state. Maintained by the NJ Forest Service.
Reforestation Hub
Data from The Nature Conservancy showing county-level estimates of the potential area of opportunity for new forests and the amount of carbon those areas could capture.
US Forest Service - Northern Research Station
Part of the US Forest Service Research and Development program. Conducts forest research in the northeastern U.S.

Ecology and Recovery of Eastern Old-Growth Forests by Andrew M. Barton; William S. Keeton
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781610918893

Publication Date: 2018-11-08
Trees of New Jersey and the Mid-Atlantic States by Christopher T. Martine
Call Number: DEP QK 484 .N5 M37 2017

Publication Date: 2017

New Jersey Geological and Water Survey
Formerly the New Jersey Geological Survey, performs geoscience research, mapping and education. Responsibilities also include water resource planning and regulatory functions. Contains a wealth of geologic information about New Jersey, including geologic maps, information about aquifers, groundwater, geologic hazards and GIS datasets.
New Jersey Geological & Water Survey - Technical Publications and Information
Reports and publications from the NJ Geological and Water Survey, including current and historical maps, technical reports, bulletins and memorandums
NJDEP Open Data - Geology
Open Data site for the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection. Discover and explore web maps and mapping applications related to geology in NJ. Example information include NJ maps and data on oil and natural gas exploration wells, aquifers, magnetic anomalies, earthquake epicenters, and abandoned mines.
Registry of Scientific Collections - New Jersey Geological and Water Survey
Listing of geoscientific collections created by the New Jersey Geological and Water Survey (NJGWS) and preserved by the U.S. Geological Survey's National Geological and Geophysical Data Preservation Program. Collections include aerial photographs from the 1930's, digitized field maps and descriptions of items held in physical collections.
USGS - Region 1: North Atlantic-Appalachian
U.S. Geological Survey Region 1 includes New England and Mid-Atlantic states. Conducts impartial, multi- and interdisciplinary research and monitoring on a large range of natural-resource issues impacting people and wildlife throughout the region. Locate scientific publications, data and tools, maps, and more.

Roadside Geology of New Jersey by David P. Harper
Call Number: J557.49 H293

ISBN: 9780878426003

Publication Date: 2013-04-15

Duke Farms
Located in Hillsborough on a 2,740-acre property, where over 1,000 acres are open to the public for self-discovery, outdoor activities, and education and research related to ecological sustainability.
Garden State Gardens
Website of Garden State Gardens, a consortium of New Jersey's Public Gardens. Provides a listing of member gardens in North, Central and South Jersey.
New Jersey State Park Service
The NJ State Park Service administers over 452,000 acres of land comprising parks, forests, historic sites and other recreation areas in New Jersey. Contains a directory and information for all state-owned parks, forests, historic sites and marinas.
VisitNJ.org - Outdoors & Sport Recreation in New Jersey
Information on outdoor recreation opportunities in New Jersey from the state's official tourism website.
New Jersey Historic Preservation Office
Office dedicated to identifying, preserving, protecting and sustaining New Jersey's historic and archaeological resources through the implementation of state's historic preservation program. Located within NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection
NJDEP - Green Acres Program
The Green Acres Program was created in 1961 to meet New Jersey's growing recreation and conservation needs by acquiring and protecting open space.

Rails-Trails: New Jersey & New York: The Definitive Guide to the Region's Top Multiuse Trails by Rails-to-Trails Conservancy
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780899979663

Publication Date: 2019
Hiking New Jersey by Glen Scherer; Paul E. DeCoste; Ronald J. Dupont
Call Number: J917.49 D296 (Jerseyana)

ISBN: 9780762711192

Publication Date: 2009-06-02
New Jersey Walk Book by Daniel D. Chazin; New York-New Jersey Trail Conference Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: J917.49 W177

ISBN: 1880775336

Publication Date: 2004-03-01

Pinelands Commission
State agency responsible for preserving, protecting and enhancing the natural and cultural resources of the Pinelands National Reserve.
Batsto Village
Website of Batsto Village, a historic site located in Wharton State Forest in Southern New Jersey.
Learn about the Pinelands
Educational site from the non-profit Pinelands Preservation Alliance. Provides overviews, articles, videos and educator resources about the Pinelands, including its ecosystems, history and culture.
NPS - New Jersey Pinelands National Reserve
National Parks Service website for the NJ Pinelands National Reserve.
NJDEP - Wharton State Forest
Wharton State Forest is the largest single tract of land within the NJ State Park System.

The Pine Barrens by John McPhee; James Graves (Illustrator)
Call Number: F 142 .P5 M3 1988

ISBN: 9780374514426

Publication Date: 1978-05-01
Discovering New Jersey's Pine Barrens by Cathy Antener
Call Number: J974.9 A68 2012

ISBN: 9781609495572

Publication Date: 2012-05-29
Wildflowers of the Pine Barrens of New Jersey by Howard P. Boyd
Call Number: J582.13 B789

ISBN: 0937548456

Publication Date: 2001-12-01
A Field Guide to the Pine Barrens of New Jersey by Howard P. Boyd
Call Number: J574.5 B789

ISBN: 0937548189

Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Whispers in the Pines: the Secrets of Colliers Mills by Karen F. Riley
Call Number: J974.948 R573a

ISBN: 9780974474496

Publication Date: 2005-12-01

NJDEP - Radiation Protection Element
Program within NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection responsible for protecting radiation workers and the public from unnecessary exposure to radiation.
US Nuclear Regulatory Commission - Operating Nuclear Power Reactors
View nuclear power reactors by location or name and find information about them, such as radioactive effluent reports and environmental reports.

The Radium Girls by Kate Moore
Call Number: 363.17 Moo

ISBN: 9781492649359

Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Body Toxic by Susanne Antonetta
Call Number: J615.9 A634

ISBN: 9781582432090

Publication Date: 2002-03-28

Best Practices Guide for Clean Communities Coordinators
Clearinghouse of information and best practices for Clean Communities programs. Contains guidance for cleanup event organizers, litter enforcement, and educational resources.
E-Cycle New Jersey
Information from NJDEP about electronics recycling in New Jersey.
EPA - Excess Food Opportunities Map
An interactive map created by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency that identifies and displays facility-specific information about potential generators and recipients of excess food in the industrial, commercial and institutional sectors. Also provides estimates of excess food by generator type.
Get Past Plastic
NJDEP website featuring information and resources related to a New Jersey law banning single-use plastic carryout bags and polystyrene foam food service products.
More Meals Less Waste
Campaign created by a partnership between the NJ Department of Agriculture, The Community Food Bank of New Jersey (CFBNJ), The Food Bank of South Jersey, Mercer Street Friends, and Norwescap to help residents and businesses prevent food waste.
New Jersey Clean Communities
Statewide, comprehensive litter-abatement program. Administered by the Clean Communities Council which oversees the implementation of litter abatement programs in 558 municipalities and 21 counties. Also administers state Adopt-a-Beach and Adopt-a-Highway programs.
New Jersey WasteWise Bulletin
Newsletter of the New Jersey WasteWise Business Network.
New Jersey WasteWise Business Network
Free educational program designed to help business and other organizations learn about waste reduction, recycling, and recycled product procurement.
NJDEP - Division of Solid and Hazardous Waste
Website of NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection's Division of Solid and Hazardous Waste.
NJDEP - Environmental Trends
Regularly updated reports from New Jersey Dept. of Environmental Protection detailing state environmental trends. Chapters include Air, Climate/Energy, Open Space and Land Use, Pollution Prevention and Solid Waste, Water, Plants and Wildlife.
NJDEP - Food Waste
DEP website on reducing food waste in New Jersey. Contains information on New Jersey's Food Waste Reduction Plan.
NJDEP - Recycling Information
Website about recycling from NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection. Includes information for residents, business and industry, government and schools, and e-waste.
NJDEP - Stop Illegal Dumping
Website of NJDEP's "Don't Waste Our Open Space" campaign. Contains information on how to report illegal dumping incidents and maps of illegal dumping cases.

Garbage in the Garden State by Jordan P. Howell
Call Number: TD 788.4 .N5 H69 2023 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781978833395

Publication Date: 2023-04-14
The Future of Packaging by Tom Szaky
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781523095506

Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Fresh Kills: A History of Consuming and Discarding in New York City by Melosi, Martin V.
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780231189491

Publication Date: 2020
A National Strategy to Reduce Food Waste at the Consumer Level
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780309680769

Publication Date: 2020-10-14

DEP DataMiner - Site Remediation reports
Reports from the Site Remediation Program within NJDEP's online reports portal.
Known Contaminated Sites in New Jersey
Web version of the Known Contaminated Sites of New Jersey (KCSNJ) report, from NJDEP's Site Remediation Program.
NJDEP - Division of Science and Research - Environmental Health and Assessment
Environmental health and assessment research from the NJDEP's Division of Science and Research. Topics include chromium, dioxin, asbestos, MBTE, metals in soils, public health tracking and fish advisories.
NJDEP - PFAS
Website with general information on per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS), also known as "forever chemicals," from the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection.
NJDEP - Site Remediation & Waste Management Program
Program within the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection responsible for reducing the threat of contamination to public health, safety and the environment through clean-up and remediation of contaminated properties.
PFAS - Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances
Technical resources from the Interstate Technology & Regulatory Council to help regulators and other stakeholders improve their understanding of the current science and practice regarding per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS).
USEPA - Superfund Sites in Reuse in New Jersey
List of redeveloped Superfund Sites in New Jersey
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) National Analysis
Provides analysis, interpretation and examination of trends from information reported by U.S. facilities to EPA on their management of toxic chemicals, including releases to the environment. Includes regional profiles and mapping application that provides information by state, city or ZIP code.

Exposure by Robert Bilott
Call Number: KF 229 .E37 B55 2020 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9781501172816

Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Toms River by Dan Fagin
Call Number: J363.7 F155

ISBN: 9780553806533

Publication Date: 2013-03-19

Environmental Working Group's Tap Water Database - New Jersey
EWG's drinking water quality report for New Jersey shows results of tests conducted by the water utilities in New Jersey and provided to EWG by the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection.
National Inventory of Dams (NID)
Documents all known dams in the U.S. and its territories that meet certain criteria. Database can be browsed by state and contains information about a dam's location, type, size, purpose, uses and benefits, last date of inspection, and other structural and geographical information. Maintained by the US Army Corps of Engineers.
NJBeaches.org
Website providing information on current beach status, water quality sample results, reports of beach advisories, beach closings and other events, and daily updates from coastal surveillance flights. Administered by the Dept. of Environmental Protection's Cooperative Coastal Monitoring Program.
NJDEP - Division of Water Monitoring and Standards
Division within NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection that provides water quality information to assess and manage the state's water resources.
NJDEP - Division of Water Supply and Geoscience
New Jersey's Division of Water Supply & Geoscience works to ensure the state's water supply is adequate, reliable, safe, and available for the future. Provides local information for drinking water customers on water utilities and information on topics such as lead, private wells and harmful algal blooms.
NJDEP - Harmful Algal Blooms (HABs)
Information from the DEP on Harmful Algal Blooms, including interactive maps and data, factsheets, health information, and instructions on how to report an HAB,
NJDEP Open Data - Hydrography
Open Data site for the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection's Bureau of GIS. Discover and explore web maps and mapping applications related to NJ hydrography.
Strategies for Preventing and Managing Harmful Cyanobacterial Blooms (HCBs)
Guide to managing harmful cyanobacterial blooms, developed by the Interstate Technology and Regulatory Council (ITRC),
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) National Analysis
Provides analysis, interpretation and examination of trends from information reported by U.S. facilities to EPA on their management of toxic chemicals, including releases to the environment. Includes regional profiles and mapping application that provides information by state, city or ZIP code.
USGS - New Jersey Water Science Center
Collects hydrologic data and publishes water science research to support statewide water-resource infrastructure and management needs. Use the Water Data Dashboard to view current water data for New Jersey, including streamflow, groundwater, and water quality conditions.

Empire of Water by David Soll
Call Number: TD 225 .N5 S6 (DEP Library)

ISBN: 9780801449901

Publication Date: 2013-03-26
An American River by Mary Bruno; Kate Thompson (Designed by)
Call Number: J628.1 B898

ISBN: 9780615601793

Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Stormwater by William G. Wilson
Call Number: TD 657 .W55 2016

ISBN: 9780226364957

Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Toms River by Dan Fagin
Call Number: J363.7 F155

ISBN: 9780553806533

Publication Date: 2013-03-19
Troubled Water by Seth M. Siegel
Call Number: RA 592 .A1 S54 2019 (DEP Branch Library)

ISBN: 9781250132543

Publication Date: 2019-10-01

Barnegat Bay Partnership
A partnership of federal, state, municipal, academic, business and private organizations that works to restore, protect, and enhance the water quality and natural resources of the Barnegat Bay and its watershed. One of the nation's 28 National Estuary Programs. Conducts research, education and outreach and publishes reports and data on Barnegat Bay, including a species database and watershed maps.
US Fish and Wildlife Service - National Wetlands Inventory
Publicly available resource that provides detailed information on the abundance, characteristics, and distribution of US wetlands.
NJDEP - Wetlands
Website on freshwater wetlands from NJDEP's Division of Land Resource Protection.
Partnership for the Delaware Estuary
Nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting the Delaware Estuary and one of 28 National Estuary Programs designated by Congress. Conducts science and publishes data and reports. Also publishes standard methods for living shoreline, marsh, and freshwater mussel restoration and monitoring projects.
Virtual Wetlands Experience
Resources for parents, students and educators from the New Jersey-based Wetlands Institute, including virtual tours of salt marshes, teacher portal, educator activities and community connections.

The Nature of the Meadowlands by Jim Wright
Call Number: J508 W951

ISBN: 9780764341861

Publication Date: 2012-09-28
Wading Right In: Discovering the Nature of Wetlands by Catherine O. Koning; Sharon M. Ashworth
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780226554495

Publication Date: 2019
The Raritan River by Judy Auer Shaw; Michael R. Greenberg (Foreword by)
Call Number: 974.944 R3 S534

ISBN: 9780813565415

Publication Date: 2015-01-01

New Jersey Organizations

State/Regional Government Agencies and Commissions
Non-profit and Civil Society Groups

Many reports, plans and other documents published by the State of New Jersey can be found using the library catalog, or by searching the New Jersey State Publications Digital Library.

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC)
Deliberative body of the Atlantic coastal states, coordinating the conservation and management of 27 nearshore fish species. Main policy arenas include interstate fisheries management, fisheries science, habitat conservation, and law enforcement.
Delaware River Basin Commission (DRBC)
Regional, interstate body created to manage, protect and improve the water resources of the Delaware River Basin. Commission programs include water quality protection, water supply allocation, regulatory review, watershed planning and recreation.
Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission (DVRPC)
Federally designated Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Greater Philadelphia region. New Jersey members include Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, and Mercer counties, plus the cities of Camden and Trenton, NJ.
NJ Board of Public Utilities (NJBPU)
Oversees regulated utilities that provide critical services such as natural gas, electricity, water, telecommunications, and cable television. Administers NJ's Clean Energy Program.
NJ Department of Agriculture (NJDA)
State agency that provides promotional, service, information and regulatory programs to NJ's agricultural community and other residents.
NJ Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP)
Main state agency responsible for protecting NJ's environment and natural resources.
NJ Highlands Council
Regional planning agency that works in partnership with municipalities and counties in the Highlands Region to implement the 2004 Highlands Water Protection and Planning Act.
NJ Sports and Exposition Authority (NJSEA)
The regional planning and zoning agency for the 30.4-square-mile Hackensack Meadowlands District formerly managed by the NJ Meadowlands Commission, which was absorbed into NJSEA in 2015.
Passaic Valley Sewerage Commission
Operates one of the largest modern wastewater facilities in the Eastern U.S. Administers pollution prevention programs and efforts to improve the recreational and economic uses of Newark Bay and the Passaic River through the Passaic River/Newark Bay Restoration Program.
Pinelands Commission
State agency responsible for preserving, protecting and enhancing the natural and cultural resources of the Pinelands National Reserve.

A selected list of regional non-profit organizations focused on conservation and environmental issues. Inclusion of an organization on this list does not indicate endorsement of the organization's mission, practices, views, or information included in the organization's linked websites.

Environmental Resources

Featured NJ Books

Related NJ Research Guides

New Jersey Resources by Topic

New Jersey Organizations

Main Library

Talking Book and Braille Center

Quick Links