Skip to Main Content

Environmental Resources

A guide to environmental resources available through the NJ State Library and on the web.

Library Catalog

Use the library catalog to find books, e-books, government reports, and print journals held locally by the New Jersey State Library and the Dept. of Environmental Protection (DEP) Library.

Note: The catalog does not search electronic journals or specific articles in databases. To search for specific articles, use EBSCO Discovery Service. You can also search by journal title in the State Library's E-Journals database.

 

Tips for catalog searching:

  • Use the drop-down menu to search different fields (title, author, subject, etc.)
  • Use All Title Browse to search the first few words in the title of a known book - can be a partial title (ex: Unsustainable inequalities: Social Justice and the Environment)
  • Don't know the exact title or have a partial title? Try searching by Title Keyword (ex: social justice AND environment)
  • You can also search by General Keyword or Subject Keyword to find books on a particular topic (ex: environmental justice). Use Subject Browse to browse subject headings.
  • Advanced Search functions let you combine keywords using AND, OR, NOT, and XOR. You can also filter your search by location or format, and change the sorting of your results (e.g., by Publication Date to sort your results from newest to oldest).

Electronic Resources

Explore additional content available in electronic format:

Databases: Curated subscription databases such as ProQuest Central, Academic Search Complete and BioOne provide powerful search tools that let researchers dig into the content of thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, legal publications, datasets and more.

E-Journals: Access full-text articles from thousands of periodicals, including scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals. Search the library's e-journal holdings by journal title, subject, or ISSN/ISBN to browse issues and locate full-text articles.

E-Books: Read e-books on your computer or any compatible device. E-books can be searched along with regular books in the library catalog, or through e-book databases such as EBSCO eBooks or eLibraryNJ. 

New Jersey State Publications Digital Library:  An online repository of current and historical NJ State Government publications. Browse the repository by agency, or search by title and/or author, subject, and date. Freely accessible to the public.

Digital Jerseyana Collection: Online repository of publications about New Jersey, including free books, reports, photographs and postcards.

New Jersey Legislative Histories: Online repository of legislative histories compiled by the NJ State Law Library.

Browsing the Stacks

Print resources (physical books, reports, periodicals, maps, etc.) can be found at these locations:

New Jersey State Library - 185 West State St., Trenton, NJ 08608 - 8:30-5PM. Main library - includes the Law Library (Level 3), Jerseyana Collection (Level 4), Funding Information Center (Level 4), Genealogy and Special Collections.

Environmental Research Library (DEP Library) - 432 East State St., Trenton, NJ 08608  - Specialized branch library located within the NJ Department of Environmental Protection (DEP). Holdings include historical DEP publications and a collection of books, reports and periodicals on environmental science, technology, and policy. Open to the public by appointment. Contact the DEP Library at DEPLibrary@dep.nj.gov

Copyright © New Jersey State Library 1796-2020