Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newspapers: Historic and Current Newspapers

Guide to NJSL’s print newspaper subscriptions, historic newspapers on microfilm, and newspaper databases.

Historic Newspaper Collection

Newspapers can be found on the 4th floor of the library. Older newspapers are on microfilm, and pages can be printed from the microfilm machines. There is also a digital microfilm scanner where pages can be scanned and saved as image files, saved to a flash drive, or emailed. The digital microfilm scanner also allows for more enhancement of the images. The New Jersey State Library has a selection of historical papers on microfilm for various towns and regions in New Jersey, as well as a few out-of-state locations.

Please keep in mind that in general, historic newspapers are most likely to be found locally at public libraries.

New Jersey Newspapers by County; National and Non-NJ Newspapers

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Atlantic City Press of Atlantic City

January 1968 - 2015; 2017 - 2018 [no 2016]  Note: microfilm ends 2018.

Find text in Newsbank database 1988 - current

See NewsBank Digital Microfilm for 2019+ [3 month embargo]

Current 4 months in print

Microfilm level 4

 

Digital Microfilm (Newsbank)

Print level 4

 

 

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Hackensack Record

Jan 1960 - 2015 

Find text in Newsbank database 1985 - current

Current 4 months in print

Microfilm level 4

 

Print level 4 

Paramus Suburban News (Franklin Lakes)

Jan 1987 - June 1990

Oct 1990 - Feb 1992

Genealogy room
Ridgewood Ridgewood Herald

Jul 13, 1901 - Jan 2, 1919

Jan 4, 1923 - Dec 28, 1939

Genealogy room
Ridgewood Ridgewood News

Jan 1911 - Dec 1913

Jan 1915 - Dec 1938

Genealogy room 
Ridgewood Ridgewood-Herald News Jan 1940 - Dec 1971 Genealogy room
Ridgewood Sunday News

Jul 15, 1923 - Dec 1931

Jan 1933 - Dec 1955 (Jul-Dec '49 missing)

Jan 1966 - Dec 1966

Jan 1972 - Jun 27, 1982

Jan 1987 - Dec 1995

Genealogy room
Ridgewood Ridgewood News

Jan 1974 - Sept 29, 1977

Jan 1978 - Dec 1981

Jan 1987 - Dec 1995

Genealogy room

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Beverly Beverly Bee June 1999 - Dec 2006 Genealogy room
Bordentown Register May 13, 1932 - Jun 10, 1932 Genealogy room
Bordentown Register-News

Jan 1974 - Jun 24, 1976

Jan 1993 - Dec 2006

Genealogy room
Burlington New Jersey Gazette (see Trenton papers) 1777 - 1778 Genealogy room
Burlington Burlington Gazette Dec 1835 - Aug 18, 1848 Genealogy room
Burlington Dollar Newspaper & Burlington County Advertiser

Nov 1856 - 1858

1860 - Mar 1867

Genealogy room
Burlington Burlington Gazette & Burlington County Advertiser Mar 1867 - Feb 27, 1894 Genealogy room
Burlington Burlington County Times

Find text in Newsbank database 6/24/2002 - current

No longer received in print
Maple Shade Maple Shade Progress Sep 9, 1993 - Dec 29, 2006 Genealogy room
Medford Central Record Jan 1993 - Dec 2006 Genealogy room
Pemberton Community News Jan 1994 - Dec 1995 Genealogy room
Riverside Triple Towns Tribune June 16, 1932 - June 5, 1941 Genealogy room

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Camden

Courier Post

Oct 1, 1949 - current

Find images and text in ProQuest Historical database 1950 - 2010

Find images and text in ProQuest News - Recent Newspapers U.S. Northeast 2011-current

Current 4 months in print

Microfilm level 4

Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)

 

Print Level 4

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Cape May Cape May County Herald Times No longer received in print No longer received
City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Bridgeton  Bridgeton Evening News 1968 - 1977 Genealogy room
Millville  Millville Daily Republican Find images and text in ProQuest News - Historical Newspapers U.S. Northeast Mar. 1, 1923-Oct. 22, 1960 Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)
Millville  Millville Daily Find images and text in ProQuest News - Historical Newspapers U.S. Northeast Oct. 24, 1960-May 21, 1988 Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)
Millville  Daily Journal Find images and text in ProQuest News - Historical Newspapers U.S. Northeast May 23, 1988-Dec. 31, 2010 Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)
Vineland Daily Journal

Find images and text in ProQuest News Historical Newspapers U.S. Northeast 1876-1880

Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)

Vineland

Evening Journal

Find images and text in ProQuest News Historical Newspapers U.S. Northeast Jan. 5, 1897-Nov. 5, 1925

Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)

Vineland Vineland Times Find images and text in ProQuest News - Historical Newspapers U.S. Northeast Oct. 15, 1925-Feb. 26, 1942 Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)
Vineland Vineland Times Journal

1968 - 1977

Find images and text in ProQuest News - Historical Newspapers U.S. Northeast Feb. 27, 1942-May 21, 1988 

Genealogy room

Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)

Vineland

Daily Journal

Find text in ProQuest US Newsstream database 1999 - current

No longer received in print

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Newark Centinel of Freedom (see Early American Newspapers) Oct 5, 1796 - Dec 26, 1820 Genealogy room
Newark Newark Evening News*

Sep 1, 1883 - Aug 31, 1972

Some small gaps in collection.

Paper on strike from May 26, 1971 to April 9, 1972.

Genealogy room
Newark Evening Star & Newark Advertiser July 1, 1907 -  Jan 29, 1916 Genealogy room
Newark Newark Star Ledger

Aug 1, 1945 - 2018. Note: Microfilm ends 2018.

See NewsBank Digital Microfilm for 2019+ [3 month embargo]

Current 4 months in print (w/gaps)

Microfilm level 4

 

Digital Microfilm (Newsbank)

Print level 4

Newark Sunday Evening News (on "Newark Evening News" and "Evening News" microfilm Nov 24, 1946 - Aug 31, 1972 Genealogy room
West Orange West Orange Weekly Review

June 5, 1931 - Dec 29, 1933

June 5, 1934 - May 13, 1938

Genealogy room
West Orange West Orange Chronicle

Jan 1963 - Dec 1964

Jan 1966 - Dec 1969

Genealogy room

 

* Newark Public Library has original photos.

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Mullica Hill/Southern NJ South Jersey Times Find text in Newsbank database 11/5/2012 - current No longer received in print
City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Bayonne Bayonne Community News Oct 1993 - June 2000 Genealogy room
Jersey City Jersey City Telegraph June 5, 1847 - Aug 29, 1849 Genealogy room
Jersey City Evening Telegraph Sep 1, 1849 - Feb 5, 1850 Genealogy room
Jersey City Daily Telegraph

Feb 11, 1850 - Sep 18, 1851

Mar 25, 1852 - July 13, 1853

Aug 7, 1854 - June 25, 1859

Genealogy room
Jersey City American Standard

Aug 8, 1859 - Nov 18, 1859

May 9, 1860 - Apr 8, 1875

Genealogy room
Jersey City

Evening Journal

Note: microfilm boxes labeled "Jersey Journal"

May 1867 - July 1869

Jan 1870 - Apr 1887

Genealogy room
Jersey City Argus Apr 10, 1875 - Jan 1884 Genealogy room
Jersey City Jersey City Argus Jan 1884 - Mar 23, 1891 Genealogy room
Jersey City Jersey Journal

July 1941 - Aug 1947

Genealogy room
Jersey City Jersey Journal Find text in Newsbank database  1999-current No longer received in print
Jersey City Jersey City Reporter Jan 20, 1984 - Dec 29, 2002 Genealogy room

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Flemington Hunterdon County Democrat Find text in Newsbank database 1991 - current No longer received in print
City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Hightstown Hightstown Excelsior Jun 13,1857 - Mar 26, 1859 Genealogy room
Hightstown Hightstown Gazette

1965 - 1993

1996 - 1999

Genealogy room
Trenton New Jersey Gazette Dec 5, 1777 - 1786 Genealogy room
Trenton State Gazette and New Jersey Advertiser 1797 - 1798 Genealogy room
Trenton Federalist; or New Jersey Gazette 1798 - 1800 Genealogy room
Trenton New Jersey State Gazette 1799 - 1800 Genealogy room
Trenton Federalist and New Jersey State Gazette 1800 - 1802 Genealogy room
Trenton Trenton Federalist 1802 - 1829 Genealogy room
Trenton New Jersey State Gazette 1829 - 1839 Genealogy room
Trenton New Jersey Gazette 1840 - 1857 Genealogy room
Trenton Mercer Standard Nov 11, 1854 - Feb 23, 1856 Genealogy room
Trenton Daily State Gazette and Republican 1857 - 1863 Genealogy room
Trenton Daily State Gazette 1863 - 1918 Genealogy room
Trenton Trenton Times

May 1883 - 2018.  Note: microfilm ends 2018. 

See NewsBank digital microfilm for 2019+ [3 month embargo]

Current 4 months in print (w/gaps)

Microfilm Level 4

Digital Microfilm (Newsbank)

Print - level 4

Trenton State Gazette 1918 - 1927 Genealogy room
Trenton Trenton State Gazette 1927 - 1942 Genealogy room
Trenton Trentonian

1964 - April 2013

Hard copies from April 2013 - Dec 2019 with gaps; January - April 14, 2020 with gaps; no weekend papers

Print temporarily suspended

Microfilm Level 4*


Level 2 - ask Librarian

 

Trenton Sunday Times Advertiser 1883 - 1975 Microfilm Level 4

 

* Note: Trentonian microfilm ceased as of April 2013. Hard copies of Trentonian are in Jersey Periodicals section on Level 2. Trenton Public Library also retains some hard copies.

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
New Brunswick New Brunswick Daily News

Dec 1871 - Dec 1883

Jul 1884 - Jun 1885

Jan 1886 - Feb 1891

Genealogy room
New Brunswick Daily Times Feb 20, 1891 - Sep 30, 1907 Genealogy room
New Brunswick Weekly Times Jan 1903 - Dec 1906 Genealogy room
New Brunswick New Brunswick Times Oct 1907 - Aug 1916 Genealogy room
Middlesex/Central Jersey Home News Tribune

Find images and text in ProQuest Historical Newspapers database 1970 - 2009

Find images and text in ProQuest News Recent Newspapers U.S. Northeast 2010 - current

Find text in ProQuest US Newsstream database 1999 - current

Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)

Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)

No longer received in print

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Asbury Park Asbury Park Press

1968 - current

Find images and text in ProQuest Historical Newspapers 1905-2011

Find images and text in ProQuest News - Recent Newspapers U.S. Northeast 2012-current

Current 4 months in print

Microfilm Level 4

Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)

Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)

Print Level 4

Asbury Park Coaster Jan 1983 - Dec 2008 Genealogy room
Freehold Monmouth Press Mar 17, 1888 - Jan 25, 1890 Genealogy room
Long Branch Long Branch News May 11, 1976 - May 7, 1979 Genealogy room
Long Branch Atlanticville May 14, 1979 -  Dec 30, 1999 Genealogy room

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Morristown Daily Record

Find images and text in ProQuest News Historical Newspapers U.S. Northeast July 26, 1974 - 2012

Find text in ProQuest US Newsstream database 1999 - current

Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)

Print no longer received

Mount Olive Mt. Olive Chronicle 1992 - 1999 Genealogy room

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Passaic Passaic City Record Jun 11, 1890 - Nov 30, 1907 Genealogy room
Passaic Passaic Herald News 1968 - 1977 Genealogy room
Passaic/Woodland Park Herald News Find text in Newsbank database 1998 - 2006 No longer received in print

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Elmer Elmer Times

Jun 18, 1881 - Dec 26, 1974

Jan 6, 1977 - Dec 31, 1987

Genealogy room

 

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Bridgewater  Courier-News

Find images and text in ProQuest Historical Newspapers U.S. Northeast 1961-2010

Find text in ProQuest US Newsstream database 1999-current

Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)

No longer received in print

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Newton

New Jersey Herald

No longer received

No longer received in print

City Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Elizabeth Daily Journal

Oct 1, 1990 -Oct 31, 1990

Dec 4, 1990 - Dec 31, 1991

Genealogy room

 

City/Place Newspaper Date Range Location in Library
Baltimore MD/Washington D.C. Afro-American Current 4 months Print Level 4
National Christian Science Monitor (Eastern ed.) Jan 1954 - Dec 2006 Microfilm Level 4
National/Washington D.C. The National Observer Feb 4, 1962 - July 1977 Genealogy room
New York New York Times Sep 18, 1851 - current Microfilm Level 4
New York Wall Street Journal Jan 1958 - current Microfilm Level 4
Philadelphia Philadelphia Inquirer Jan 1970 - current Microfilm Level 4

 

See also the Early American Newspaper collection.

Early American Newspapers

The "Early American Newspapers" collection is located in the genealogy room on level 4 of the library.

They are in a set of orange microfilm boxes filed after the older newspapers. The set includes newspapers from New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania.

Newspaper Region of Coverage Date Range
Centinel of Freedom Newark, NJ 1796 - 1820
New Jersey Gazette Burlington and Trenton, NJ 1777 - 1786
New York Gazette and Weekly Mercury New York, NY Feb 1, 1768 - Nov 10, 1783
New York Gazette (Weyman's) New York, NY Feb 16, 1759 -Dec 28, 1767
New York Mercury New York, NY Aug 31, 1752 - Jan 25, 1768
New York Weekly Journal New York, NY Oct 5, 1733 - Mar 18, 1751
Pennsylvania Chronicle Philadelphia, PA Jan 26, 1767 - Feb 8, 1774
Rivington's New York Gazette and the Royal Gazette New York Apr 22, 1773 - Nov 19, 1783

 

Newspaper Clipping File - 1950's to 1980's

From the 1950's to the mid-1980's librarians at the New Jersey State Library clipped articles from several newspapers throughout the state on major topics. The news stories were assigned subject headings and filed in folders. To determine if there may be clippings of articles of interest, use the subject heading index. Researchers are welcome to review clipping file material at the NJ State Library. Ask a reference librarian on the 4th floor for assistance.

The following newspapers were reviewed and clipped:

Asbury Park Press

Atlantic City Press

Bergen Record

Camden Courier Post

Jersey Journal

Newark Star Ledger

Trenton Times

Trentonian

Woodbridge News-Tribune

New Jersey Gazette

The weekly New-Jersey Gazette was New Jersey's first continuously published newspaper. It was first printed in Burlington, and then moved to Trenton.

This image from the microfilm shows a section of the front page of the first issue from December 5, 1777.

 

Copyright © New Jersey State Library 1796-2020