Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newspapers: Home

Guide to NJSL’s print newspaper subscriptions, historic newspapers on microfilm, and newspaper databases.

Newspaper Collection at the New Jersey State Library

Welcome to the New Jersey State Library Newspaper Research Guide.

♦ Newspapers and microfilm are located on the 4th floor of the library.

♦ The NJ State Library currently receives several major NJ newspapers representing a wide range of geographic regions throughout the state.

♦ About 70 older newspapers are available on microfilm.

♦ Find NJ State Library Newspapers Organized by County.

♦ Find a subject index to a Newspaper Clipping File covering the 1950's to the 1980's for several major NJ papers. More information about the clipping file can be found in the Historic and Current Newspapers section.

► Please note: there are some missing newspaper issues/microfilm reels in the collection. Please call ahead to verify that a newspaper or microfilm reel you need is available before traveling to the library.

The New Jersey State Archives, located nearby at 225 West State Street, Trenton NJ, also has a large collection of historical newspapers on microfilm.

New Jersey Newspapers Received in Print

Asbury Park Press

  • Most recent 4 months in print
  • Physical microfilm:  January 1968 – current (approx. 3 mo. delay)
  • Digital microfilm: ProQuest Historical Newspapers database 1905-2011
  • Digital microfilm: ProQuest News - Recent Newspapers U.S. Northeast 2012-current

Courier-Post (Camden)

  • Most recent 4 months in print
  • Physical microfilm: Oct 1949-current (approx. 3 mo. delay)
  • Digital microfilm: ProQuest Historical Newspapers database 1950-2010
  • Digital microfilm: ProQuest News - Recent Newspapers U.S. Northeast 2011-current

Newark Star-Ledger

  • Most recent 4 months in print (w/gaps; delivery is sporadic)
  • Physical microfilm: August 1, 1945 – 2018
  • Digital microfilm: Newsbank database: 2019-current (3 month embargo)

Press of Atlantic City

  • Most recent 4 months in print
  • Physical microfilm: January 1968 - 2015; 2017 - 2018 [note: no 2016]
  • Digital microfilm: Newsbank database: 2019-current (3 month embargo)

Record (Bergen; Hackensack)

  • Most recent 4 months in print
  • Physical microfilm: January 1960 - 2015

Times of Trenton (Trenton Times)

  • Most recent 4 months in print (w/gaps; delivery is sporadic)
  • Physical microfilm: May 5, 1883 – 2018
  • Digital microfilm: Newsbank database: 2019-current (3 month embargo)

Trentonian

  • Print subscription temporarily on hold.
  • Physical microfilm: January 1964 - April 2013.
  • Some hard copies in print from April 2013 - April 2020 (w/gaps; no weekend dates)

New Jersey Digitized Historic Newspapers Research Guide

New Jersey Digital Newspaper Project

An index of all known digitized newspapers published in New Jersey. 

Search by county or map location to find newspapers that have been digitized and those in process.

Trenton Evening Times. Friday, September 18, 1908

Out-of-State Newspapers Received

Afro-American (Baltimore/Washington)

  • Most recent 4 months in print

New York Times

  • Print subscription on hold
  • Physical microfilm: September 18, 1851 – current (approx. 3 month delay)
  • Digital microfilm: ProQuest Historical Newspapers database 1851-2017
  • Digital microfilm: ProQuest News Recent Newspapers database 2008-current (3 month embargo)

Philadelphia Inquirer

  • Print subscription on hold
  • Physical microfilm: January 1970 – current (approx. 3 month delay)
  • Digital microfilm: ProQuest News Recent Newspapers database 2010-current (3 month embargo)

Wall Street Journal

  • Print subscription on hold
  • Physical microfilm: January 1958 – current (approx. 3 month delay)
  • Digital microfilm: ProQuest News Recent Newspapers database 2008-current (3 month embargo)

Related Research Guides

Profile Photo
Martha Sullivan
Contact:
New Jersey State Library
185 West State Street
PO Box 520
Trenton, NJ 08625
609-278-2640 x165
Copyright © New Jersey State Library 1796-2020