Health and Medical Resources

This site covers all aspects of the disease including risk, symptoms, testing, information for newly diagnosed, starting treatment, approved medications and much more. The Community section has resources by group or topic. The site also has a link to information in Spanish.

Information from the Centers for Disease Control includes protecting yourself, finding resources, living with HIV.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provides information and resources for HIV/AIDS, viral hepatitis, STDs, and tuberculosis. Includes a search for testing by area.

The CDC's National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention. Includes state health profiles, statistics and surveillance information.

Provides information on prevention, testing and treatment. Search for services and testing by zip code. Find U.S. and global statistics on HIV infections and diagnoses.

Information from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. Provides information for researchers and the public on prevention, vaccine development, treatment, clinical trials, and grants.

A collection of wide-ranging and high-quality resources from the National Library of Medicine.

HIVinfo.nih.gov offers access to the latest, federally approved HIV/AIDS medical practice guidelines, HIV treatment and prevention clinical trials, and other research information for health care providers, researchers, people affected by HIV/AIDS, and the general public.

Resources from the New Jersey Department of Health - find HIV care and support services. Search for testing centers in NJ. Information on statistics and finding medication.

Provides information on types of cancer, cancer statistics, facts and figures; prevention and treatment. Find support and online communities. A toll free cancer helpline is available.

Recommended web sites from the CINJ Resource and Learning Center. This comprehensive listing includes specific cancer types and general related information on topics such as caregiving, cancer prevention, nutrition, fertility and advance directives.

Informative site that explains the clinical trials process and helps connect people to clinical trials in NJ.

Alphabetical listing of cancers and cancer therapies leading to detailed resources from the National Library of Medicine.

Information for patients, caregivers, health professionals, researchers, and policymakers. Detailed information by cancer type, clinical trials, drugs, statistics and funding.

The Physician Data Query database is a comprehensive source of cancer information. PDQ cancer information summaries are science-based, authoritative, and up-to-date summaries that cover a wide variety of cancer related topics, and are available in 2 versions - one for health professionals and one for patients.

Information on prevention, screening, causes and risk factors. Find cancer resources in NJ by county.

Find cancer resources by county, statistics, and cancer screening information for uninsured or under-insured NJ residents.

The Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis at the National Cancer Institute, has information for consumers and health professionals on CAM therapies, research, clinical trials, and funding opportunities.

An oncology resource from the University of Pennsylvania. One of the first websites for cancer information, this resource has information on cancer types and information for patients, including newly diagnosed, on risk, treatment and support. Also resources for healthcare professionals.

An information resource from the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Provides evidenced-based information on herbal and botanical products. For each product there is a section for consumers and for healthcare professionals. Lists purported uses, adverse effects, pharmacokinetics, herb-drug interactions, and more.

Alphabetical list of types of therapies links to information on topics such as acupuncture, cancer, dietary supplements, chiropractic, and herbal medicine.

Comprehensive site of a wide-range of resources on many aspects of integrative medicine from the National Library of Medicine. Provides links to news, research, articles, videos, clinical trials, organizations, and statistics.

Information about CAM related to cancer treatment. Defines types of complementary methods and provides PDQ (Physician Data Query) Summaries for both the patient and health professionals for a variety of CAM therapies.

From the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements.

Search by product name, active ingredients, or brand. Includes product information, label statements, and other information such as market status. Provided by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements.

Overviews of select herbs and supplements. Has a section on evidence for specific conditions, safety and side effects, and possible interactions.

This database from the Chiropractic Library Collaboration indexes scholarly literature from chiropractic publishers.

The NCCIH is the federal government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and integrative health approaches. Provides information about complementary health products and practices. Also has information on clinical trials, grants, resources for health professionals, and tips on complementary health for consumers.

The Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis at the National Cancer Institute, has information for consumers and health professionals on CAM therapies, research, clinical trials, and funding opportunities.

Supports research and disseminates information on the use of dietary supplements. Fact sheets available on the site give an overview of vitamins, minerals, and other dietary supplements.

A not-for-profit agency whose aim is to serve as a bridge between cultural practices and health care institutions. They provide educational materials and promote interpreter training.

DiversityRx informs, educates, and supports health care providers, policymakers, researchers, and advocates for health services that are responsive to the cultural and linguistic differences presented by diverse populations.

A guide, published by the Harborview Medical Center, University of Washington, contains information on clinical topics and cultural beliefs of recent immigrants including Eritrean, Cambodian, Hmong, Latinx, Vietnamese and Somali. Browse by clinical topic or culture.

This Office serves as a national research and referral service on minority health issues. The site has data and statistics, cultural competency policies and standards, and information on particular health topics.

The NJ Office of Minority and Multicultural Health works to promote health equity for all and reduce health disparities.

Information from MedlinePlus and the National Library of Medicine.

Information from MedlinePlus and the National Library of Medicine.

Information from MedlinePlus and the National Library of Medicine.

Handbook developed by Queensland Health with the assistance of the Hindu community of Queensland and distributed by the Australian government. This booklet (2011) is divided into three sections: guidelines for health services, Hindu beliefs affecting health care, and additional resources.

Handbook developed by Queensland Health and the Islamic Council of Queensland and distributed by the Australian government. This booklet (2010) is divided into three sections: guidelines for health services, Islamic beliefs affecting health care, and additional resources.

Handbook developed by Queensland Health in partnership with the Sikh community of Queensland and distributed by the Australian government. This booklet (2011) is divided into three sections: guidelines for health services, Sikh beliefs affecting health care, and additional resources.

Following specific quality guidelines, this site provides information on certain topics in many languages. From the National Library of Medicine’s MedlinePlus.

Comprehensive consumer health database provided by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Includes health topics, drug information, a medical encyclopedia, tutorials, news, and surgical videos.

An abundance of information on types of cancer, treatment, clinical trials and statistics.

An Australian government website provides health information in many languages. Under "Publications" browse by language or topic.

This site is now archival - last updated Jan 2017. Site offered health information in Chinese, Cambodian, Hmong, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Thai and Vietnamese. A variety of health topics are covered. From Tufts University Hirsh Health Sciences Library.

Search by zip code and specialty.

Information for consumers including healthy habits and nutrition tips geared toward age groups. Browse topics A-Z.

The National Library of Medicine has a wealth of information including overview summaries, information about treatment, preventive nutrition, anatomy, and specific conditions such as dental anxiety. The related topics section bring you to more information about child dental health, cosmetic dentistry, dentures, gum disease, tooth disorders, and more.

The Centers for Disease Control has guidelines for health professionals and fact sheets for consumers.

Provides oral health information for consumers about diseases and conditions, current research, clinical trials, grants, and career and training information.

Provides information for the public on oral health and has help in finding a dentist in New Jersey including a list of public dental clinics.

From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, a list of FAQ's on dental concerns for women.

Search for current or completed studies by condition, disease, or drug name. Includes U.S. and international trials. From the National Library of Medicine.

FDA package labels for prescription and nonprescription drugs and devices. Includes animal drugs. Provided by the National Library of Medicine.

Comprehensive resource covering both prescription and nonprescription drugs. The site has a drug interactions checker, pill identifier, symptom checker, an image search, a pharmaceutical company directory, and latest news about medications. Also includes veterinary drugs. Current, reputable sources used. Data sources include IBM Watson Micromedex, Cerner Multum™, ASHP and others. Some sections may require free registration.

Detailed drug information for consumers and health professionals. Includes prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications, and herbals. This site also has a drug interactions checker and a pill identifier. Some sections of this website require free registration.

Trusted information for consumers about prescription and over-the-counter drugs. A section for Herbs and Supplements has information on uses, interactions, and safety. Provided by the National Library of Medicine.

The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. From the National Library of Medicine/NCBI.

LiverTox® provides up-to-date, unbiased and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements.

Fact sheets on more than 1500 FDA approved medications. Information on medication safety, giving children medicine, and how to administer medications of different forms and routes. FAQ section with questions answered by pharmacists. From the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Information from the Food and Drug Administration including drug approvals, drug safety and evaluation, drug availability, and the drug development process.

Find out about the board certification credential process and verify if a physician is board certified in the section, Verify Certification - "Is My Doctor Board Certified." The site requires free registration.

Use the section for patients to locate doctors by name or specialty. Provides information on primary and secondary specialties and medical education for AMA member physicians.

Directory provides hospital data and profiles. Some sections of this site require payment. The free data in the "Free hospital profiles" section includes hospital contact information, hospital type, patient revenue, clinical services, Joint Commission accreditation, inpatient and outpatient statistics, and financial statistics.

The American Dental Association's member directory. Find a dentist in your area by address, name, and/or specialty.

Compare up to 3 providers in these categories - Doctors/Clinicians, Hospitals, Nursing Homes (including rehab services), Home Health Services, Long Term Care Hospitals, Hospice Care, Dialysis Facilities, and Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilities.

The Hospital Safety Grade uses more than 30 national performance measures from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). Hospitals are graded on various aspects of patient safety and infection prevention. From the Leapfrog Group - a national, independent nonprofit dedicated to quality and safety in the health care system.

View HMO performance reports from the New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance. Also links to New Jersey Commercial Health Market Reports.

Searchable site to find hospitals, outpatient facilities, or long-term care facilities by county, name, or type of service. From the State of New Jersey Department of Health.

Find profiles of physicians, podiatrists and optometrists in NJ. Information includes education, practice information, and legal actions taken. In the practice information section, a consumer can find information such as languages spoken by the physician and health plans accepted. This website was developed by the NJ Division of Consumer Affairs in consultation with the State Board of Medical Examiners and the State Board of Optometrists.

Physicians who are members of the Medical Society of New Jersey are included. Searchable by physician name, medical specialty, hospital affiliation and county. Information includes medical school, year of graduation, hospital affiliation, office contact information, and board certifications.

Free help to New Jersey Medicare beneficiaries who have problems with, or questions about their health insurance.

Find a New Jersey top rated doctor – based upon an independent survey chosen by their peers. Search by name, specialty, zip code, or hospital privileges.

Find a New Jersey top rated dentist – based upon a survey of the state’s dentists. Search by name, type of practice, or zip code.

A vast site that includes information on diseases, healthy living, travelers' health, emergency preparedness, funding opportunities, and data and statistics. Publications such as MMWR (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report) and Emerging Infectious Diseases are available, as well the the Public Health Image Library.

Formerly Household Products Database. Search brands, product types, ingredients, and manufacturers. Includes safety data sheets.

The Family Doctor site from the American Academy of Family Physicians has a useful symptom search feature as well as information on a variety of health topics for people in all age groups.

National Library of Medicine resource to help consumers with research into genetic variation on human health. Search by name of genetic condition, gene, or chromosome.

A gateway site to consumer health information from the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. Includes health topics such as cancer, diabetes, and heart health. Information about doctor visits, screening tests, vaccines, healthy living topics and more.

Information on a wide range of children's health topics from the Nemours Foundation. Find sections for parents, kids, teens and educators.

Information from the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research. Main sections are "Diseases and Conditions," "Symptoms," "Tests and Procedures," and "Drugs and Supplements."

Helps connect people with supportive communities. Connect with other patients and with health care providers. Includes a Spanish language section. Also find communities for Pet Health.

A comprehensive, authoritative health site for consumers and professionals produced by the National Library of Medicine. Sections include health topics, drugs and supplements, medical tests, educational videos, medical encyclopedia (illustrated), and directories of organizations. Links to Clinical Trials. Site is available in other languages. A highly valued and praised resource.

Find a wealth of information on a wide variety of health topics, symptoms, emergencies and first aid, drug information, and normal lab values. Has resources such as self-assessment tools, common medical tests, weights and measures, and abbreviations.

Professional level information on a wide variety of medical topics; also drug information, news, procedures and exams, quizzes and cases. Also has resources such as clinical calculators and conversion tables. Merck makes this information available freely as a service to the community.

A consumer oriented site to locate information about lab tests and test results. Look up by test or condition. Also has a section for At-Home tests, and general information about blood testing.

Use questionnaires to help determine your disease risk for the following - various cancers, bronchitis/emphysema, diabetes, heart disease, osteoporosis, and stroke. From the Siteman Cancer Center.

Kaiser Health News is a national newsroom that produces in-depth journalism about health issues. Daily updates of major health care news. Part of the Kaiser Family Foundation.

Breaking medical news for healthcare professionals and patients. General news, news by medical specialty, health policy news, and reports of conferences. Also provides CME in a variety of areas. Some sections may require free registration.

A newswire database gathered from a wide range of organizations including government agencies, nonprofits, and research institutions. Filter for medicine, science and business.

News and interviews on general health topics, health care, global health and science from National Public Radio.

Current research and analysis from the trusted research organization dedicated to improving public policy and informing the public.

News for the consumer and health professional.

Current health and medical news on wide range of subtopics and conditions. Also provides news in many scientific fields.

Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the AHRQ site includes sections for consumers, researchers, policymakers and health professionals. Information includes health care costs, error prevention, and guidelines. Presents research findings, data, and statistical tools, and has a section for funding and grants.

AcademyHealth is a national organization that provides information for health services and policy research professionals to help reduce disparities and improve overall health.

CDC WONDER provides a wide array of public health information through a menu-driven query system to access data. Retrieves data from public health reports and data systems.

The Center's mission is to "inform, support and stimulate sound and creative state health policy in NJ and around the nation." Focus areas include access and coverage, long-term care, health system performance improvement, and population health.

Nonprofit children's advocacy organization that seeks to provide a strong effective voice for children. Policy priorities include children's health and welfare, juvenile justice, gun violence, education, and ending child poverty.

Private foundation supports independent research on health care issues and makes grants available to improve health care practice and policy. They promote better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency in health care, particularly for society’s most vulnerable, including people of color, people with low income, and those who are uninsured.

Issue briefs developed for the New Jersey Policy Forums on Health and Medical Care and sponsored by the League of Women Voters of New Jersey. Issue topics were related to the impact on NJ of health care reforms being proposed at the national level. Publication dates span October 1992 to January 2008.

This organization provides information for policymakers, the healthcare community and the public. Topics include health costs, health reform, racial equity, global health policy, women's health policy, Medicare, Medicaid, HIV/AIDS, and insurance. State Health Facts with up to 800 health indicators.

News from the Kaiser Family Foundation. In-depth journalism about health issues and has daily summaries on major health care news. Areas of focus include health law, Medicare, Medicaid, health costs, insurance, aging and mental health.

The NASHP is "a nonpartisan organization committed to developing and advancing state health policy innovations and solutions." Topic areas are Heath Equity, Drug Pricing, Heath System Costs, Maternal and Child Health, and more.

The NCHS is the primary agency responsible for collecting, analyzing and disseminating health statistics. FastStats (also available as an app) gives an alphabetical list of topics. Statistical tables, publications, national health survey results, and selected public use data files are available.

The NCSL covers many health policy topics including cost and quality, health insurance, health reform, federal health issues, pharmaceuticals, public health, Medicaid and CHIP, and more. See the "All Documents" section for topic papers.

The NISCSR provides access to information on health services research. Includes links to several health services databases, and help on finding health statistics,

Listing of national organizations that offer policy information on the public health system. From the CDC section for Public Health Professionals Gateway.

A series of briefs covering topics in health insurance and Medicaid. "This toolkit provides an overview of the opportunities and challenges confronting lawmakers when considering how health coverage is administered in their states."

Public health advocacy and policy.

A searchable resource hub from RWJF that "consolidates timely, high-quality resources on state health policy for busy policymakers and researchers."

"The Urban Institute is a nonprofit research organization that provides data and evidence to help advance upward mobility and equity." Research areas include Housing, Child Welfare, Race and Equity, Healthcare, Aging, Social Safety Net, Land Use, Climate, and more.

The National Library of Medicine has a table showing where to find statistics on specific topics.

Training tool from the National Library of Medicine with learning modules on statistics, terminology, equations, and health data sources.

Free eBook (published 2008) from the National Library of Medicine on understanding the numbers behind medical claims.

Find NJ data and health indicator reports on many topics: births, deaths, communicable diseases, substance abuse, oral health, mental health and more.

Data sources for NJ for local areas such as county and municipality level.

Data addressing health disparities in NJ.

Find county level data on Health Outcomes, Quality of Life, Health Behaviors, Clinical Care, Social and Economic Factors, and Physical Environment.

CHS is responsible for compiling and releasing statistical information on the health of New Jersey residents.

Site will no longer be available after December 2022.

Presents current information and news on a wide variety of psychology topics. The Therapy section, along with other sections, provides a "Find a Therapist" icon to search by zip code.

A topical listing from the National Library of Medicine that links to detailed, high quality, trustworthy online sources. Topics include teen mental health, dual diagnosis, anxiety, ADHD, postpartum depression and many others.

Find NJ specific hotlines, psychiatric services, treatment and counseling, education, and support groups.

A comprehensive site where you can find information on many types of mental health conditions and warning signs. Find local support organizations and policy and advocacy information. Search by state for local NAMI organizations.

Find NAMI affiliates in New Jersey by geographic area or types of support; also find classes and programs.

This extensive government site provides information on specific mental disorders, news and outreach information relating to mental health. Additional sections provide mental health statistics, funding information, finding treatment and clinical trials.

A commercial mental health site with a wide variety of resources. Includes information on many conditions, quizzes, ways to find help including therapist search tool.

Site from the National Institute of Mental Health provides a wide range of information and materials relating to anxiety. Topics on this site include signs and symptoms, risk factors, treatment, and clinical trials.

Provides a wide range of current information and a comprehensive resource guide. Search by state and life stage. Also has information for advocacy and how to get involved in the community.

Site from the National Institute of Mental Health provides a wide range of information and materials relating to bipolar disorder. Topics on this site include signs and symptoms, risk factors, treatment, clinical trials, statistics, and living with bipolar disorder.

Site from the National Institute of Mental Health provides a wide range of information and materials relating to depression. Topics on this site include signs and symptoms, risk factors, treatment and therapies, statistics, and clinical trials.

The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD offers resources for populations who may be dealing with PTSD. Topics include information about treatment, diagnosis, coping, and where to locate help.

The Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) provides resources by geographical area for substance abuse treatment or mental health treatment.

The National Institute of Mental Health has general information on where to locate help, and deciding if a provider is right for you.

Mental Health advocacy organization. Find information on various conditions and sources to locate help. Find types of mental health treatments and types of professionals, tools for mental wellness, and search an interactive "where to get help" tool.

Find NJ specific hotlines, psychiatric services, treatment and counseling, education, and support groups.

Find mental health provider directories for inclusive therapists, and BIPOC mental health provider directories. From Mass General Hospital.

Web site from the State of New Jersey Department of Human Services. Find state services and resources including mental health screening centers, a mental health treatment directory, addiction services treatment directory, county specific addiction resources, and helplines.

New Jersey's behavioral health information and referral service. Call toll free 866-202-HELP - 7 days a week 8am-8pm. The site also provides an email to contact. Funded by the NJ Department of Human Services.

Find support groups located in New Jersey. Also has information on starting a self-help group.

A collection of organizations providing health information. Arrange alphabetically or by topic.

Search by zip code, provider name or practice area. From the American Psychological Association.

Find U.S. Disability Statistics using an interactive tool created by Cornell University, Institute on Employment and Disability.

Quick facts and statistics on prevalence of mental health conditions.

The National Alliance on Mental on Mental Illness provides numbers on prevalence of mental illness and social statistics for youth and adults.

Links to public health data systems that provide mental health information and statistics.

Find mental health statistics by topic. Provides prevalence and other information, for children and adults.

The AHA site includes sections on eating smart, weight management and cooking skills. Includes recipes and videos.

Select a food and a serving size and the Calorie Counter database gives you calories and other nutrition facts about your selection.

The CDC provides information for consumers, researchers and health professionals on topics such as infant and toddler nutrition, data and statistics, healthy food environment programs, and strategies to improve nutrition.

A searchable database from the Office of Dietary Supplements and NIH on dietary supplements sold in the U.S. Search by brand, active ingredient or manufacturer. Provides product information, supplement facts, label statements, and manufacturer contact information.

Information resources from the National Library of Medicine on types of diets, safety of diets, health check tools, patient handouts, and latest news and research on various diets.

Information on properly cleaning, separating, chilling, and cooking food to maintain safety.

The USDA web site has links to information for a wide range of nutritional topics. Subject areas include topics such as food composition, food labeling, life stage nutrition, and dietary guidance.

The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases presents information on how large a serving size it, how to manage portions, and how to use the nutrition facts label.

Gateway to government information about food safety and recalls. Has food safety by type of food and food safety during a disaster or emergency. Includes food safety charts with information for safe temperatures

Comprehensive resources from the USDA on nutrition - diet and health, dietary guidance, food safety, food labeling, and food security. Also links to DRI calculator to determine nutrition needs for an individual.

Detailed information about vitamins and minerals. This information includes the function of the micronutrient, intake recommendations, food sources, role in disease, deficiency, and toxicity. The site provides information about selected other nutrients, phytochemicals, and foods (ex. tea, nuts, legumes). There is also information on topics such as skin health, bone health, inflammation, and cognitive function. Available in Spanish. This resource is from the Linus Pauling Institute at Oregon State University,

The USDA site to find healthy eating tips and guidance based on the current Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-2025.

The Garden State provides links to finding NJ roadside markets, community farm markets, pick-your-own farms, apple orchards and Christmas trees. Includes information on what’s in season in NJ and recipes. Also provides information for farmers, producers, teachers, and students.

A comprehensive site from the National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases. Sections on Diet & Nutrition, Weight Management, Diabetes, Digestive Diseases, and more.

The New Jersey Department of Human Services administers the NJ SNAP (formerly Food Stamps), or Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, in New Jersey. Check eligibility, find application information and the locations of county agencies to apply.

USDA sponsored site provides abundant information on nutrition by life stage and health conditions; also supplements, exercise, healthy living, food safety, and food assistance programs.

In-depth source from the Harvard School of Public Health focuses on a wide variety of nutritional topics.

Provides information to the public on alcohol's effects on health, alcohol use disorder, binge drinking, and information on finding treatment. Fact sheets for health care providers, statistics, and funding opportunities are available.

The NIDA web site includes a research topics section with a commonly used drugs chart. There are clinical resources, research data, and grants and funding information.

Provides access to addiction resources in New Jersey. Find an Addiction Services Treatment Directory (search by zip code or county), County Specific Addiction Resources, Mental Health Treatment Directory, and hotlines and helplines.

Provides information and help for parents and families needing information on substance abuse. The site has sections on prevention, information by type of substance, and creating a plan for treatment and recovery. They also have online support.

Information from the federal government on many aspects of substance abuse. Find treatment services by location for mental health, substance abuse, behavioral health and recovery; also provides statistics and grant information.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration provides publications pertaining to alcohol, tobacco, drugs, and related issues for a wide variety of audiences. Quick links to information on particular drugs.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention site that provides information and data on smoking and tobacco. Includes many publications including Surgeon General’s reports, patient care information, data and statistics, research, and tips to quit smoking.

Alphabetical listing of substance abuse topics including specific drugs, alcohol, and smoking, from the National Library of Medicine. Detailed, comprehensive, and high-quality information is provided on topics including symptoms, prevention, treatment, coping, research, journal articles, statistics, directories and organizations.