Research Guides: Get Help: New Jersey Social Services: Immigration

Immigration

This page includes links to federal, state, and local resources on immigration, including legal services and information. If you are a low-income family or individual you may qualify for help from Legal Services of New Jersey (LSNJ), a non-profit legal resource that provides legal advice and services, including immigration legal services.

Know Your Rights

Every person who lives in or visits New Jersey has rights regardless of their citizenship or immigration status. Click through to access materials from the NJ Office of New Americans to help you understand your rights when interacting with immigration enforcement officers including Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) or U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) officers.

Materials are available in various languages. Download these files to print out or post online.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

Citizenship Resource Center
The U.S. Citizenship and Immgration Services (USCIS) information portal for learners, teachers, and organizations.
U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Citizenship and Immigration Services
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) is the government agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States.
U.S. Citizenship
Information about U.S. Citizenship and the Naturalization Process
FORMS: U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
Free USCIS Forms may be downloaded from this website.
USCIS Laws
The USCIS LAWS site provides information on laws, regulations and interpretations controlling immigration and the work of the immigration-related components of the Department of Homeland Security.

Homeland Security Digital Library
The nation’s premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy documents, including presidential directives, theses and reports from universities, organizations and state and local agencies.

Note: access is limited by Department of Homeland Security. State employees with standard state email addresses can register for remote access to this database by clicking on the “Request an individual HSDL account” on the database home page.
govinfo
Free access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Among the nearly 50 collections available are: Compilation of Presidential Documents (1992 to present), Congressional Bills (103rd Congress to present), Congressional Documents (94th Congress to present), Congressional Hearings (99th Congress to present), Congressional Record 1873 to present), Congressional Reports (104th Congress to present), Federal Register (1936 to present), Public and Private Laws (104th Congress to present) and Economic Indicators (1995 to present). Documents are added daily. Maintained by the Government Publishing Office (GPO).
Watch video tutorials and find handouts on how to use govinfo

New Jersey Resources

NJ Office of New Americans
Every person who lives in or visits New Jersey has rights regardless of their citizenship or immigration status. The NJ Office of New Americans (ONA) supports new Americans through outreach and education, and works on priorities to build trust, improve access to social services, workforce development and employment services, and legal services for immigrants.
Legal Services of New Jersey (LSNJ)
LSNJ is a NJ legal nonprofit organization providing legal services to low-income individuals. LSNJ's dedicated immigration team provides assistance with DACA renewal, application for citizenship, and other needs.
LSNJLAW - Immigration
LSNJLAW is a legal information resource searchable by subject, provided by Legal Services of New Jersey (LSNJ). Low income individuals can apply for LSNJLAW SM, the statewide hotline for civil legal advice.
Rutgers Law Child and Family Advocacy Clinic
Provides representation to children in child abuse and neglect cases in Family Court in Camden and in administrative hearings and proceedings regarding public benefits, education, immigration, medical and mental health issues. For legal services, call the clinic at (856) 225-6568.
New Jersey Consortium for Immigrant Children
Coalition of legal advocates and professionals supporting immigrant youth and children through legal services, community education, and training.
Latin American Legal Defense and Education Fund (LALDEF)
Immigrant rights advocate group based in Mercer County, with a focus on education, healthcare, and legal services for the Latin American community.
National Immigration Legal Services Directory - New Jersey
Immigration Advocates Network directory for legal immigration services in New Jersey.
List of New Jersey Pro Bono Legal Service Providers
PDF provided by the US Department of Justice. Updated October 2023.

Get Help: New Jersey Social Services

Immigration

Know Your Rights

Know Your Rights

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

New Jersey Resources

Main Library

Talking Book and Braille Center

Quick Links