List of eBooks available through NJSL's EBSCO eBook database that are related to starting a nonprofit, fundraising, proposal writing, and other nonprofit management topics.
Successful Grant Writing for Health and Human Service Professionals, Fifth Edition by Laura Gitlin; Ann Kolanowski; Kevin J. LyonsFollowing in the tradition of its previous editions, the updated and fully revised fifth edition of this classic guide to grant writing is especially written for health and human service professionals. It provides a comprehensive, systematic, and easy-to-follow, step-wise guide to writing competitive grant proposals for research, education, innovative practices and demonstration projects. Never has the need to advance evidence to improve the health of the public been greater. Generating evidence requires funding and grant writing has become an essential activity for every health and human service professional who must seek funds to advance innovative research, education and practice initiatives.Uniquely focused on developing grant-writing skills as part of a professional's career, this one-of-a-kind guide addresses the full range of essential competencies needed to assure success. The new edition expands coverage on how to compose an effective aims page, how to write a compelling literature review to support significance of a proposal, and describes considerations for specific types of study designs. Additionally, the guide provides a more extensive discussion of mentorship, plus tips for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows. New to the Fifth Edition: Spotlights important new trends that can make or break grant success Features Professional Spotlights reflecting the experiences and advice from successful grant writers - from novice to expert Highlights special considerations for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows Examines how to write an effective grant application for specific types of study designs Explains how to craft compelling statements about significance and innovation Provides guidelines on mentorship Covers ways to manage post-award activities and offers strategies and templates for documenting grant progress Key Features: Key summary points in every chapter Case examples throughout Strategies for managing a grant writing team and post-award activities Considerations in building a grant writing career and matching your level of experience to funding mechanisms Testimonies from novices and experts describing their unique grant writing experiences
Call Number: F740 G536
Publication Date: 2020-05-28
Proposal Planning and Writing, 6th Edition by Jeremy T. Miner; Kelly C. BallNo matter whether you are approaching public or private sponsors, this thorough and detailed step-by-step guide will enable you to plan and write winning proposals. * Discusses resources to identify the tens of thousands of grantmakers that award more than $350 billion in philanthropic funds annually * Provides a time-tested template to write proposals for private foundations and corporations, with samples to illustrate how the template can be used in different grant writing situations * Features new examples of and strategies for increasing the overall quality and competitiveness of grant applications * Addresses sponsors' increased attention to evaluation and their desire to move beyond counting participants and activities to measuring a project's impact * Looks at different types of sustainability and interrelationships among grant proposal narratives, logic models, and budgets * Offers new strategies for engineering and reverse engineering budgets to help maintain alignment between costs and activities and insulate against potential requests for budget reductions
Publication Date: 2019-08-02
The Only Grant-Writing Book You'll Ever Need by Ellen Karsh; Arlen Sue FoxFrom top experts in the field, the definitive guide to grant-writing Written by two expert authors who have won secured millions of dollars in government and foundation grants, The Only Grant-Writing Book You'll Ever Need is the classic book on grant seeking, providing a comprehensive, step-by-step guide for government, nonprofit, and individual grant seekers. Drawing on decades of experience in grant writing and professional development, Ellen Karsh and Arlen Sue Fox demystify the process of securing grants while offering indispensable advice from funders and recipients. This updated fifth edition includes: Vital information about grantsmanship in today's ever-changing economic and social climate In-depth interviews with funders, nonprofit leaders, and policy makers about the grants process A new chapter on how to diversify funding and think "outside the box" when grants are scarce Concrete suggestions for developing each section of a proposal Hands-on exercises that let you practice what you learn A detailed description of important websites for grant seekers Strategies for developing and presenting programs that are likely to receive grants
Call Number: F750 K18 2019
Publication Date: 2019-11-05
For more books about proposal writing, try searching in the online catalog under the subject "proposal writing for grants."
This resource provides general guidelines for grant writing in general and in the scientific disciplines.
Models of Proposal Planning and Writing by Jeremy T. Miner; Kelly C. Ball-StahlThis book is an essential weapon for anyone looking for funding in the extremely competitive grantseeking world. It explains how and why to approach both public and private sponsors with not just information, but persuasion, for the best chance for success. * Provides a detailed discussion of pre-proposal contacts that identifies the questions that help to qualify potential funding sources and enable readers to fine-tune proposals so they more closely match sponsors' logical and psychological needs, priorities, and "hot buttons" * Supplies comprehensive analyses of the key features that made successful proposals persuasive, including verbatim reviewer comments and sponsor grant award notification letters * Incorporates new content and features in this updated edition, such as model proposals covering a broader range of health, education, and social service topics; easier-to-read annotations; expanded information on budgets and budget narratives; and a logic model that can be adapted for project-planning purposes * An essential resource for anyone seeking funding for economic development (e.g., city planning, land use, urban revitalization); education, such as for libraries, day care programs, public and private schools, and colleges and universities; first responder services; government agencies; health care; philanthropic organizations; social services; fine or performing arts; and religious or other special interest groups
Philanthropy New York and the Council of New Jersey Grantmakers (CNJG) spearheaded a project to develop common application and report forms to help streamline the grant application process and ease the often time-consuming grant preparation process.
The four-page application format includes directions for use, a sample cover sheet, and the common grant proposal guidelines.
In 1990, Philanthropy Network Greater Philadelphia (then Delaware Valley Grantmakers) was the first regional association to develop a Common Grant Application (CGA) form, which has since become a standard concept and practice among grantmakers and regional associations in the United States.