Fundraising for Social Change
by
A popular fundraising blueprint for small- to mid-sized nonprofit organizations In the newly revised Eighth Edition of Fundraising for Social Change, two nonprofit leadership veterans deliver a hands-on, how-to guide to establishing and expanding a diverse base of donors. The authors maintain a focus on groups working toward racial, economic, and climate justice, providing trustworthy and relevant information that can be easily understood. The book includes a free Instructor's Manual, as well as access to supplementary online content with additional resources. Readers will also find: "Spotlight" sections highlighting the reflections and wisdom of a varied group of fundraisers Insightful explorations about managing fundraising, including establishing a fundraising infrastructure, hiring a development director, and using consultants and coaches Discussions of budgeting and planning, as well as how to handle significant financial trouble An indispensable resource for nonprofit board members, managers, founders, and employees, Fundraising for Social Change is a must-read roadmap to raising money. It belongs on the bookshelves of leaders, activists and organizers seeking to advance racial, economic, environmental or social justice.
Responsive Fundraising
by
Responsive Fundraising: The Donor-Centric Framework Helping Today's Leading Nonprofits Grow Giving provides a three-step solution for nonprofit fundraisers looking to overcome the growing generosity crisis. Since the 1950s, nonprofits have relied on impersonal outreach to inspire generosity from their donors. They leveraged direct mail, mass marketing and event fundraising to drive donations. In the early 2000s, with the introduction of social media, smartphones and a hyper-connected world, everything changed. The new normal for everyone became transparency, personalization, and a feeling of ever-present engagement. In addition, donors also had new levels of access to information to the causes they cared about. They could read curated news about issues they cared about, research program results and even collect information about nonprofit employees. Unfortunately, as expectations evolved, nonprofit fundraisers failed to keep up. The number of donors-to-nonprofits is falling year after year. Institutional trust is at an all time low. And burnout from fundraisers continues to climb. If nonprofits don't make a fundamental shift right now, they risk their own future, plus the future of their beneficiaries. Responsive Fundraising outlines the simple solution for nonprofit fundraisers everywhere. Using real-world examples from leading nonprofits, Responsive Fundraising explains how to take the personalized, donor-centric, connection-building practices most fundraisers reserve for major donors and scale them to work for all donors using The Responsive Framework. The Responsive Framework is an ever-evolving cycle where fundraisers listen, connect and suggest giving options to each individual donor based on what they care about most. Throughout Responsive Fundraising, readers will learn what the data tells us about the modern donor and their generosity habits. They will receive step-by-step responsive fundraising plays they can implement right away to improve their current fundraising tactics. Plus, they'll get a look into how responsive nonprofits are shifting their internal teams to create a more collaborative, successful organization. The time for change is now. Donors deserve it. Nonprofits want it. And beneficiaries need it. Responsive Fundraising: The Donor-Centric Framework Helping Today's Leading Nonprofits Grow Giving will give your nonprofit the best path forward.
Nonprofit Fundraising 101
by
Raise more money for your cause! Based on expert advice and insights from a variety of respected industry experts, Nonprofit Fundraising 101 is an essential text for nonprofit professionals, volunteers, activists, and social entrepreneurs who want to leverage best practices to promote their cause. Built upon the success of the best-selling Nonprofit Management 101, this easy to digest book provides practical, comprehensive guidance for nonprofit fundraising around the globe. With tips and tools, expert advice, and real-world insights from almost fifty industry leaders, this robust resource addresses the entire spectrum of fundraising for nonprofits, including: Planning, hiring, and tracking progress Individual donors, major gifts, events, and direct mail Board and volunteer engagement Foundation and government grants Corporate partnerships Online and email fundraising Social media and mobile crowdfunding Earned income and social enterprise Written by and for front line practitioners and geared towards a global audience of emerging and established leaders, this field guide offers step-by-step formulas for success. Nonprofit Fundraising 101 features a foreword by fundraising guru and Soul of Money author Lynne Twist, insights from notable non-profit professionals such as CNN's Van Jones, and an afterword by Kiva.org Co-Founder & President Premal Shah. This book also provides indispensible ideas and diverse case studies ranging from grassroots efforts to the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge, and advice for organizations of all sizes and focus. Chapters are brief and easily digestible, featuring extensive resources for additional learning, concrete best practices, and pitfalls to avoid. Enjoy this must-read manual to learn tried and true ways to raise more money for your cause, nonprofit, or charity.
Private grants generally require more research than governmental grants. The goal of this research process is to identify grantmakers whose mission and vision align with the purpose, programs, and goals of your nonprofit. Some grantmakers announce grant initiatives in requests for proposals (RFPs). Others may have general guidelines and program areas for their giving. They make information about their grantmaking available in a variety of ways: websites, social media, annual reports, and IRS filings (public charities and private foundations must file some version of Form 990 annually). The links on this page provide a starting point for identifying grantmakers and learning more about their giving.
Keep in mind that private grants are typically awarded to nonprofit organizations with 501(c)(3) status. If you are want to learn more about the steps involved in establishing a nonprofit, visit our Nonprofit Management research guide.
Free access to the Foundation Directory Professional grantmaker database is available through Candid Community locations, like the New Jersey State Library. See a list of all locations in NJ below.
Provides detailed information on over 230,000 U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, with links to current foundation 990-PF tax returns. Search by name, EIN, location (state, county, city, metro area, congressional district, andProvides detailed information on over 240,000 U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, with links to financials and 990-PF tax returns. Search by name, EIN, location, subject area, types of support, and more. View profiles for over 27 million previously-awarded grants, including their purpose, amount, and recipient. Foundation Directory includes data on funding for individuals, including scholarships and fellowships. Updated weekly.
GuideStar provides information on the finances, leadership and missions of charities and nonprofits. Search by name, keyword, location, nonprofit type, subject area and more. Profiles include revenue and expenses breakdowns, contact information, links to 990 tax forms, mission statements, and governance information. Learn more on our blog "Finding Nonprofit Data with GuideStar Pro". Produced by Candid.
GuideStar Pro is only available onsite at the State Library. A limited version of GuideStar is available remotely with free registration.
