The Library Friends, Foundations, and Trusts Handbook by
The Library Friends and Foundations Handbook is a must-have resource for members of Friends groups, Foundations, library staff members, administrators, and others who wish to begin or enhance such support group partnerships. Its background details build a knowledge base of what such groups are all about and its helpful recommendations can be put into practice as it: Focuses upon the history of such groups and how their contributions matter to the vitality of library institutions of all kinds--public, school, state, college/university, and special. Describes the various kinds of Friends and Foundation groups (sometimes combined), how they are organized and run, and ways they partner with the libraries they support so that readers may consider how they too might design and form or augment their own groups. Carefully explains how groups can effectively market their membership options and purposes to their communities. Gives practical advice on recruiting volunteers of all ages and providing training for them to beneficially aid their libraries both financially and with hands-on assistance. Describes ways library support groups can advocate for their libraries. Presents a wide variety of fundraising and donation ideas, procedures, and examples that readers can emulate, reflecting current trends such as online book sales, grab bag book sales, gala events, and securing grants along with equitable methods of monetary distribution. Offers a selected bibliography, a webliography, and an appendix with sample documents. The book covers the history of such groups, how their contributions matter to the vitality of libraries and library institutions of all kinds--public, school, state, college/university, and special. It describes the various kinds of Friends and Foundation groups, how they are organized and run, ways they partner with the libraries they support, how they can effectively market their membership options and purposes to the community to which they are dedicated, and ways to advocate for their libraries. It explains how volunteers of all ages (yes, including teenagers) are recruited, trained, and used successfully to aid their libraries both financially and with hands-on assistance. A wide variety of fundraising and donation ideas, procedures, and examples are featured that reflect current trends in such activities as online and grab bag book sales, gala events, securing grants, and methods of monetary distribution.
Creating Fundable Grant Proposals by
Grant money can make all the difference in developing new services, creating worldwide access to your unique collections, or enabling you to showcase awarded projects that advance your career. But competition for grants is as fierce as ever. To get a leg up, you need an insider who will share proven strategies for success. In this book, Bess G. de Farber, who has led the management of 187 awarded grant projects from under $5,000 to more than $1 million at the University of Florida, does just that. Drawing from profiles of 57 grant proposals, sponsored by 31 funders including federal agencies, foundations, and library organizations, her detailed 10-step workflow guides you through submitting and managing collaborative grant proposals. You will learn about successful projects related to digitization, preservation, research, technology, and more, including such initiatives as digital publishing on Black life, audio of the sounds of the Panama Canal, digitization of scientific fieldwork from the 1960s, and supporting learning with smart pens; the crucial components of a fundable project plan, with a particular emphasis on collaboration, both internally and with external organizations; the fundamentals of crafting your own grant proposal, using as models the successful grant proposals included in full, with budgets, as weblinks; how to recruit partners and shape ideas; ways to incorporate assets and supporting materials into your plan; and advice on anticipating the unexpected, how to stay in communication with your partners while the proposal is being reviewed, what to do once you receive notification, and fostering a culture of grantsmanship at your institution.
The ALA Book of Library Grant Money by
This all-in-one resource for researching library and school grants is back in a new edition, and more useful than ever, offering refreshed content and even more guidance on locating grant funding sources. Using this guide, librarians, fundraisers, and researchers will find quick convenient access to information on the most likely funding sources for libraries, including private foundations, corporate foundations, corporate direct givers, government agencies, and library and nonprofit organizations.
40+ New Revenue Sources for Libraries and Nonprofits by
Libraries of all types are usually hard pressed for funding; often outpacing funding that was established through levies and other sources in the past. This book will examine how a library can use Naming Rights and Sponsorships, Crowd-funding and other methods to establish revenue streams that can help alleviate funding problems and generate sustaining revenue streams from underutilized library assets.
Winning Grants by
Newly revised and refreshed, this invaluable how-to manual will teach you the skills and strategies crucial for finding, applying for, and winning grants. Whether you're starting from scratch and don't know where to begin, or you're an experienced grant writer looking to tap into new funding sources, this resource offers a proven, easy-to-understand process for grant success. Loaded with a wide variety of forms, worksheets, and checklists to help you stay organized, this book: summarizes the grant process cycle and outlines a clear path to success; shares inspiring grant success stories in action from diverse libraries; offers guidance on gathering knowledge and conducting research, with updated resource lists and links to the various types of funders; covers every stage of planning, including how to cultivate community involvement, methods for needs assessment, advice on organizing the grant team, and exercises to help you write realistic goals and objectives; gives tips on writing the proposal, such as where to find the best statistics and census data to support your statement of needs; advises how to announce a successful grant to the community, and other first steps of implementation, including the basic principles of project management; provides guidance on what to do when you're turned down and how to conduct an effective review session that keeps the process moving forward; highlights ways to stay current through online discussion groups, blogs, networking groups, and more; and features sample RFPs, budget templates, grant partnership documents, and many other helpful tools. Written by two librarians who are experts in grantsmanship, this all-in-one toolkit for winning grants is a must-have for library directors, grant writers, board members, consultants, and anyone else involved in planning library programs and services.
The NJ State Library provides grant-related information to NJ libraries through its Funding Information Center and Library Development Bureau. Additionally, the State Library periodically utilizes State and Federal funding to offer competitive grant opportunities for NJ libraries statewide.
This link opens in a new windowFree access to the Foundation Directory Professional grantmaker database is available through Candid Community locations, like the New Jersey State Library. See a list of all locations in NJ below.
Below is a list of grantmakers who have given funding to libraries or library-related subjects in the past. This is not a comprehensive list.
Additional grantmaking foundations can be found at https://www.njstatelib.org/services_for_libraries/resources/preservation/grants_and_funding/.
