Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Jersey State Library Resources
The New Jersey State Library has a large collection of Secondary Resources including Family Histories, Indexes to Primary Resources, and regional Genealogy publications from all over the world. In addition, we also have Reference Genealogy How-To Books, Genealogy Periodicals, and a large New Jersey City Directories collection. Other than our NJ City Directories, available Primary Documents include: Non New Jersey City Directories, Federal and New Jersey Censuses, and a large Newspaper Collection. Our Electronic Resources include a digitized copy of William Stryker's Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil War (browsable, here's a searchable interface), Ancestry.com (in house use only), HeritageQuest Online, and NewsBank, which contains access to the Historic Trenton Times database. See below for further details!
Genealogy in Quarantine
Genealogy in Quarantine: What You Can Do From Home
A companion document to the Genealogy in Quarantine class with lists of Genealogy resources, including digital collections and online indexes, fun distractions, free classes, and volunteer opportunities.
Genealogy Collection Page New Jersey State Library
Detailed Description of NJSL Genealogy Collection, with further information on Family Histories, City Directories, and Newspapers.
Detailed listing of City Directory Holdings at the Library. Both New Jersey and Non-New Jersey included.
Was your ancestor a farmer or living in a farm community in Camden, Burlington, Cumberland, Hunterdon, or Somerset County in 1913 or 1914? Check out these neat directories which provide a wealth of Genealogical information!
Upcoming Genealogy Lectures or Classes at the NJSL
Using Ratables for New Jersey Genealogy
Newspapers Research Guide
Newspapers Research Guide
Subject guide to the State Library's Newspaper Collection, including modern and historical newspaper holdings.
Laws of the Royal Colony of New Jersey
Laws of the Royal Colony of New Jersey v.V p.166-167
"An Act for the Relief of Benjamin Ayars now a Prisoner in the Gaol of the County of Cumberland", and "An Act to naturalize John George Felthausen"
GSNJ Professional Researchers
Live far away or just need more help? These folks are experts on New Jersey records and for a fee can come and do research here at the Library or at other New Jersey Repositories.
State Library Pinterest Genealogy Board
NJSL Genealogy Board
Want a quick set of links to some awesome Genealogy Resources? The State Library has a Pinterest Genealogy Board!
Van Ripers of Ackquackanonk
The Van Ripers of Ackquackanock
Enjoy this hand written family history, filled with beautiful watercolors! Click "Show Full Item Record" to see all of the family surnames referenced in this work.
Search Genealogy Collection
Use the New Jersey State Library catalog to locate books, periodicals, and publications of all types in the collection of the State Library.
New Jersey Digitized Historic Newspapers
Potter's Field Burial Records
HeritageQuest has Digitized Revolutionary War Pension Files and Digitized Town and Family Histories
Ancestry.com Especially useful for digital copies of U.S. Federal Population Censuses prior to 1950, but also has digitized primary documents and secondary resources from all over the world.
Copyright © New Jersey State Library 1796-2020