Research Guides: Emergency Management: Databases

Databases - Remote access: Free

Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to all of the American Society of Civil Engineers publications, the world's largest publisher of civil engineering content. Includes detailed abstracts, some with links to full-text. Also see ASCE Library.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine. Covers diseases, conditions, wellness, treatments, drugs and supplements, current research results, clinical trials, and a medical dictionary. Includes easy to understand medical videos and illustrations. Updated daily.
MetaLib This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use MetaLib to search multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles and citations. Selected resources are available in full text. A service of the Government Printing Office.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information and abstracts of all informational materials and resources produced, funded, and/or sponsored by the bureaus and offices of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs (OJP). Includes Federal, State, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; and unpublished research. Subject areas include: corrections, courts, drugs, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. Many links are full-text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. State employees and TESU staff and students, click the icon “Find Full Text from New Jersey State Library” to access licensed content.

Note there is also a free version of PubMed available if you do not have a State Library card.
Quick Start Guide videos and FAQ
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Science.gov for free access to research and development results and scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 15 U.S. federal agencies.
SafetyLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find abstracts and citations for reports and articles in disciplines relevant to preventing and researching unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are agriculture, anthropology, architecture, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, faith scholars, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, social work, and sociology. Search the site or sign up for email/RSS notifications for new content in your area of interest.
Tutorials

Databases - Remote access: Authorized Users

Subscription databases are available for everyone to use on-site in the library.
Remote access to subscription databases is restricted to State Library authorized users: NJ state employees and, unless otherwise noted, Thomas Edison staff and students.
- Authorized users will need a NJ State Library card for remote access.
See the full A-Z listing of all databases at the NJ State Library.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find articles from 6,5000+ full-text scholarly journals and magazines. Includes peer-reviewed STEM, social sciences, humanities, law, sciences, and video content from the Associated Press, 1930-present.

Academic Search is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The industry's most widely used business research database. Full text and citations for journals covering a variety of business disciplines, including accounting, finance, economics, marketing, management, management information systems, and operations management. Includes Regional Business News and Associated Press video content.

Business Source is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.
CINAHL Complete – Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Definitive research database for nursing and allied health professionals. Access 1,300 full-text journals, 5,500 indexed journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, continuing education modules, and research instruments. Coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth, non-partisan reporting and analysis of current affairs. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes U.S. and international scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. Part of ProQuest Central.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text for 300+ nursing and allied health medical journals (200+ are peer-reviewed), as well as indexing of 800+ journals.

This database is also available to the public via JerseyClicks.
MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Companion to the free MEDLINE index, providing full-text access to 2000+ biomedical journals and abstracts for 5000+ more. Broad coverage for all health care professionals. Effectively search and retrieve information with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) created by the United States National Library of Medicine. Coverage for some journals dates back to 1865.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search all our subscribed ProQuest databases. Find articles on business, health and medicine, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, history, religion, and philosophy. Includes thousands of national and international newspapers.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find full text, peer-reviewed journal articles on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Also indexes, books, monographs, magazines, and conference papers.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The nation’s premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy documents, including presidential directives, theses and reports from universities, organizations and state and local agencies.

Note: access is limited by Department of Homeland Security. State employees with standard state email addresses can register for remote access to this database by clicking on the “Request an individual HSDL account” on the database home page.

Access to the HSDL Restricted Collection (one section of the database) is limited to U.S. government officials (at the local, state, tribal or federal level) and active members of the U.S. military. Users requesting access must have an individual HSDL account and be granted an additional level of authorization.

eBooks and Online Encyclopedias

Bookshelf - NCBI
- This link opens in a new window
Free online access to books and documents in life science and health care. Over 3000 titles.

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NJSL's collection of over 15,000 eBooks on a range of mostly non-fiction topics. All works are full-text searchable. Read online or download PDF and ePub formats to your device.
- How to check out and download EBSCO eBooks
- Reading EBSCO eBooks on a mobile device
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of about 100 reference eBooks covering business, education, the environment, history, medicine, religion, science and social science. Titles include: Business Plans Handbook, Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education, Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Everyday Finance: Economics, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, Personal Money Management and Entrepreneurship and West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Search titles individually or as a collection.
Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
Access eBooks published by Salem Press and Grey House on health, science, social science, American history, and business. Includes content such as America's Top-Rated Cities, Magill’s Medical Guide, and Defining Documents in American History.