Emergency Management

The NJOEM page has emergency preparedness information for schools, government officials, businesses, special needs, and pets, as well as NJOEM programs, volunteer information, and county OEM coordinator listing.

Information on preparing for disasters of all types at home, school, work and community. Includes weather emergencies and terrorism.

ASPR leads the nation's medical and public health preparedness for, response to, and recovery from disasters and other public health emergencies.

This resource will “enable first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals.” There are sections for first responders, hospitals, and incident preparedness. Includes chemical identification guides, acute patient care guidelines, initial event activities, and patient management. May be downloaded and used offline.

One-stop U.S. Government site to find and apply for disaster assistance.

A repository of data collection tools and related resources curated by the DR2 Program to empower human health research in response to disasters and public health emergencies.

MedlinePlus, from the National Library of Medicine, has a listing to find information on disasters of all types – terrorism, radiation emergencies, natural disasters, etc. Links to high-quality resources, that also link out to research article citations in PubMed.

The U.S. Census Bureau produces timely local data that are critical to emergency planning, preparedness, and recovery efforts.

A comprehensive site from the Centers for Disease Control. Sections include information on specific types of emergencies such as disease outbreaks, bioterrorism, chemical emergencies, radiation emergencies, and natural disasters. Provides information for the public and for emergency health officials and laboratories. Also, information on planning, training, and social media.

This organization provides access to evidence based research on natural disasters and other humanitarian emergencies. Evidence collections include specific diseases and weather disasters, resilient health systems, prevention of malnutrition and more.

Provides information for the public and organizations on preparing for, and recovering from disasters.

Fact Sheets are prepared for substances on the New Jersey Right to Know Hazardous Substance List.
The Fact Sheets are prepared on pure substances and contain information on health hazards, exposure limits, personal protective equipment, proper handling, first aid, and emergency procedures for fires and spills.

Learn how to make an emergency plan.

Provide guidance for health care providers, primarily physicians, about clinical diagnosis and treatment of radiation injury during radiological and nuclear emergencies. Provide just-in-time, evidence-based, usable information with sufficient background and context to make complex issues understandable to those without formal radiation medicine expertise. Downloadable in advance, so that it would be available during an emergency if the internet is not accessible.

MedlinePlus, from the National Library of Medicine, has a listing to find information on many safety topics. Includes auto safety, child safety, drug safety, food safety, occupational health, poisoning, and many others. Links to high-quality resources, that also link out to research article citations in PubMed.

Safety guides and education resources on a variety of safety related topics including ATV safety, children’s furniture, fire safety, holiday safety, poisoning prevention, and toy safety. Site can be viewed in Spanish.