Skip to Main Content
visit the State Library website
visit our Facebook page (opens in a new window) visit our Instagram page (opens in a new window) visit our X formerly Twitter (opens in a new window) visit our YouTube page (opens in a new window)

New Jersey Digitized Historic Newspapers

An index of all known digitized newspapers published in New Jersey

Union County Digitized Newspapers

Please note: The New Jersey State Library may not have access to any of the commercially accessible papers listed below. They are presented here for your information only. Please check with your local public library to see if they subscribe to the database listed. NJSL's collections can be found here: NJSL Newspaper Guide

Clark

Newspaper Title Access Notes
Clark Patriot
(1966 - 1971)		 Free Access via the Clark Historical Archives  
Clark Patriot
(1978 - 1988)		 Free Access via the Rahway Public Library Incomplete
The Eagle
(2002 - 2005)		 Free Access via the Clark Historical Archives  

Cranford

Newspaper Title Access Notes
Cranford Chronicle
(1894 - 1919, 1945 - 2005)		 Free Access via the Cranford Public Library; see also their newspaper index  
Cranford Chronicle
(2005 - 2015)		 Commercial Access via America's News (NewsBank)  
Cranford Citizen
(1898 - 1921)		 Free Access via the Cranford Public Library  
Cranford Citizen and Chronicle
(1922 - 1944)		 Free Access via the Cranford Public Library  

Elizabeth

Newspaper Title Access Notes
Elizabeth Daily Journal
(1872 - 1922)		 Free Access via the Elizabeth Free Public Library  
Federal Republican
(1803 - 1804)		 Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex);
Commercial Access via GenealogyBank		  
New Jersey Journal
(1786 - 1818)		 Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex);
Commercial Access via GenealogyBank		  
New Jersey Journal
(1806)		 Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex)  
Political Intelligencer and New-Jersey Advertiser
(1785 - 1786)		 Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex);
Commercial Access via GenealogyBank		  
Suburbanite
(1903 - 1909)		 Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library  

Hillside

Newspaper Title Access Notes
The Hillside Leader
(1990 - 1991)		 Free Access via the Hillside Public Library  
The Hillside Times
(1924 - 1989)		 Free Access via the Hillside Public Library  
The Local Source
(2008 - 2017)		 Free Access via the Hillside Public Library
Free Access via the Clark Historical Archives		 Hillside Public Library access is from 2008-2017; Clark Historical Archives access is from 2008-2016

New Providence

Newspaper Title Access Notes
Berkeley Heights New Providence Independent Press
(1992 - 1993)		 Free Access via the New Providence Memorial Library  
Berkeley Heights New Providence Press
(1966 - 1973)		 Free Access via the New Providence Memorial Library  
Millburn-Short Hills Independent Press
(1992 - 1993)		 Free Access via the New Providence Memorial Library
 

Plainfield

Newspaper Title Access Notes
Central New Jersey Times
(1868 - 1880)		 Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library  
Constitutionalist
(1868 - 1911)		 Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library This publication was the weekly version of the Daily Press while they ran concurrently. 
Daily Press
(1887 - 1917)		 Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library Alternate names are Daily Press, Plainfield Daily Press, Plainfield Courier-News. The Constitutionalist was the weekly version of the Daily Press while they ran concurrently.
Evening News
(1884 - 1894)		 Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library Alternate name is Plainfield Evening News; this publication was absorbed into the Plainfield Courier-News
Mid-State Press
(May 1928)		 Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library Incomplete, 8 issues
Plainfield Courier
(1891 - 1894)

Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library;
Commercial Access via ProQuest Historical Newspapers

 Incomplete; later absorbed into the Plainfield Courier-News
Plainfield Courier-News
(1884 - 1922)		 Commercial Access via Newspapers.com Publisher Extra This publication began publishing in Plainfield before moving publishing operations to Bridgewater. It absorbed the Plainfield Daily Press, which had once been the Daily Press. The first issue of the Plainfield Courier-News was published as the Evening News.
Plainfield Courier-News
(1894 - 1961)		 Commercial Access via ProQuest Historical Newspapers  
Plainfield Gazette
(1848 - 1851)		 Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library  
Plainfield Record
(1916 - 1918)		 Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library;
Commercial Access via Newspapers.com Publisher Extra		 Incomplete; Commercial access to this paper is included among scans of the Plainfield Courier-News without being indicated on the website's inventory
Plainfield Union
(1837 - 1852)		 Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library Incomplete; Alternate name is Plainfield Union and General Advertiser
The Voice
(1972 - 1974)		 Free Access via the Plainfield Public Library Incomplete

Rahway

Newspaper Title Access Notes
East-Jersey Republican
(1816)		 Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex);
Commercial Access via GenealogyBank		  
The Daily Record
(1911 - 1912)		 Free Access via Rahway Public Library Alternate names are Rahway Record and New Jersey Advocate
The National Democrat
(1865 - 1891, 1968)		 Free Access via Rahway Public Library Incomplete; includes two issues from 1968
Rahway Advocate
(1882 - 1885, 1923, 1944)		 Free Access via Rahway Public Library Includes 1 issue from 1823 and 1 issue from 1844
Rahway News-Herald
(1910 - 1911)		 Free Access via Rahway Public Library  
The Rahway Progress
(1995 - 2000)		 Free Access via Rahway Public Library Incomplete; 1999 not included
Rahway News Record
(1946 - 1992)		 Free Access via Rahway Public Library Incomplete; 1949-1963 not included

Scotch Plains

Newspaper Title Access Notes
The Scotch Plains - Fanwood Times
(1963 - Current)		 Free Access via the Fanwood Times
Access to search the paper
Access to browse the paper		  

Summit

Newspaper Title Access Notes
Dispatch
(2004)		 Free Access via the Summit Free Public Library "The Berkeley Heights and New Providence edition of the Summit Herald"
The Herald Dispatch
(2006 - 2007)		 Free Access via the Summit Free Public Library "Incorporating the Summit Herald and the Berkeley Heights - New Providence Dispatch"
The Observer
(2006)		 Free Access via the Summit Free Public Library Published in Union, but Summit is on the masthead
The Summit Herald
(1896 - 2006)		 Free Access via the Summit Free Public Library Incomplete
Summit Record
(1883 - 1923)		 Free Access via the Summit Free Public Library Incomplete, coverage includes issues from 1883, 1889-1892, 1896, 1914, 1916, 1921, 1923

Union

Newspaper Title Access Notes
El Nuevo Union
(2004 - 2008)		 Commercial Access via America's News (NewsBank)  
Union County Local Source
(2008 - 2020)		 Free Access via Clark Historical Archives ; 
Free Access via Summit Free Public Library;
Free Access via Union Public Library		  
Union Leader
(1958-2005)		 Free Access via Union Public Library  
Union Register
(1928-1957)		 Free Access via Union Public Library  

Westfield

Newspaper Title Access Notes
The Union County Standard
(1891 - 1915)		 Free Access via the Westfield Memorial Library  
The Westfield Leader
(1907 - current)

Free Access via the Westfield Memorial Library

Free Access with search from the Leader's web archive

  
The Westfield Record Press
(1990 - 2007)		 Free Access via the Westfield Memorial Library  
The Westfield Record Press
(2005 - 2008)		 Commercial Access via America's News (NewsBank)  

Last updated April 29, 2024

Copyright © New Jersey State Library 1796-2024