Please note: The New Jersey State Library may not have access to any of the commercially accessible papers listed below. They are presented here for your information only. Please check with your local public library to see if they subscribe to the database listed. NJSL's collections can be found here: NJSL Newspaper Guide
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Belleville Times (1999 - 2017) |
Commercial Access via Newspapers.com |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| The Bloomfield Citizen (1872 - 1913) |
Free Access via Old Fulton New York Postcards | Incomplete; link is to a search engine. Paper is browsable with a free account |
| Bloomfield Independent Press (1891 - 1961) |
Free Access via Old Fulton New York Postcards | Incomplete; link is to a search engine. Paper is browsable with a free account |
| Bloomfield Independent Press (1913-2020) |
Free Access via Bloomfield Public Library | Incomplete; Free access is available on-site only. Please ask a librarian for assistance |
| Bloomfield Life (1981-2009) |
Free Access via Bloomfield Public Library | Incomplete; Free access is available on-site only. Please ask a librarian for assistance |
| Bloomfield Life (1999 - 2017) |
Commercial Access via Newspapers.com | |
| The Bloomfield Record (1873 - 1936) |
Free Access via Old Fulton New York Postcards | Incomplete; link is to a search engine. Paper is browsable with a free account |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| The Caldwell News (1892 - 1906) |
Free Access via the Verona Public Library | Incomplete, Free access is available on-site only at the Verona Public Library |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| The Observer (1937 - 1948) |
Free Access via the Verona Public Library | Incomplete, Free access is available on-site only at the Verona Public Library |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Grafrica (1981 - 1982) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| The Glen Ridge Paper (1935 - 2019) |
Free Access via the Glen Ridge Public Library | Free access is available on-site only at the Glen Ridge Public Library |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| News-Record of Maplewood and South Orange (1915 - Current) |
Free Access via the Maplewood Public Library | Free access is available on-site only at the Maplewood Public Library; also provides 1 issue from 1903 and 1 issue from 1904 |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| The Alert (1942 - 1943) |
Free Access via the Millburn Free Public Library | |
| The Budget (1886) |
Free Access via the Millburn Free Public Library | |
| The Item (1889 - 2009) |
Free Access via the Millburn Free Public Library | Incomplete (1889 - 1891; 1935 - 1950; 1990 - 2009) |
| The Item (previous 3 months) |
Commercial Access via Newspaperdirect.com | Includes rolling access to previous three months of the newspaper; prior issues include only the front page, with interior pages available by subscription |
| The Thistle (1976-2010) |
Free Access via the Millburn Free Public Library | Newsletter of the Millburn Short Hills Historical Society |
| The Township Tattle (1942 - 1945) |
Free Access via the Millburn Free Public Library | Publication of the American Women's Voluntary Services |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| The Montclair Times (2008-Current) |
Free Access via the Montclair Public Library | Remote access is available to Montclair Public Library card holders. Free public access is available on-site. |
| The Montclair Times (2000-2008) |
Free Access via the Montclair Public Library | Access is available on-site only at the Montclair Public Library. Please contact the Montclair Public Library for more information. |
| The Montclair Times (1877- 2018) |
Commercial Access via Newspapers.com |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| After Hours (1949 - 1986) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | Incomplete, primarily 1960-1986 |
| Black Mirror News (1996 - 2011) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | |
| Centinel Of Freedom (1796 - 1820) |
Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex) | |
| Centinel Of Freedom (1821 - 1876) |
Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex) | |
| Centinel Of Freedom (1796 - 1876) |
Commercial Access via GenealogyBank; Commercial Access via Local Historical Newspaper Archives (NewsBank) |
|
| City News (1990 - 2003) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | |
| El Nuevo Essex (2004 - 2008) |
Commercial Access via America's News (NewsBank) | |
| Evening Star and Newark Advertiser (1907-1908) |
Free Access via Chronicling America | |
| Information/Informacion (1972 - 1979) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | |
| Irish Citizen (Sep 9, 1876) |
Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex); Commercial Access via GenealogyBank |
Incomplete,1 issue |
| Ironbound Voices (1978 - 2001) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | |
| Jewish Chronicle (1921 - 1943) |
Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex); Commercial Access via GenealogyBank |
|
| Jewish News (1946-2016) |
Free Access via the Jewish Historical Society of New Jersey | This publication was founded in 1946 as The Jewish News. It became MetroWest Jewish News in 1988 and then became New Jersey Jewish News in 1997. |
| MetroWest Jewish News (1946-2016) |
Free Access via the Jewish Historical Society of New Jersey | This publication was founded in 1946 as The Jewish News. It became MetroWest Jewish News in 1988 and then became New Jersey Jewish News in 1997. |
| Newark Daily Advertiser (1832 - 1866) |
Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex); Commercial Access via GenealogyBank; Commercial Access via Local Historical Newspaper Archives (NewsBank) |
|
| Newark Evening News (1883 - 1972) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | |
| Newark Evening Star and Newark Advertiser (1909-1916) |
Free Access via Chronicling America | Preceded by the Newark Star and Newark Advertiser |
| Newark Examiner (2009 - 2016) |
Commercial Access via America's News (NewsBank) | |
| Newark Herald (1938 - 1966) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | Incomplete; Alternate names are New Jersey Herald News, Herald Advance, Advance |
| Newark Star and Newark Advertiser (1909) |
Free Access via Chronicling America | Preceded by the Star and Newark Advertiser, succeeded by Newark Evening Star and Newark Advertiser |
| Newark Star-Ledger (1945 - 1989) |
Commercial Access via GenealogyBank | |
| Newark Star-Ledger (1989 - Current) |
Commercial Access via America's News (NewsBank) | |
| Newark Sunday Call (1872-1946) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | |
| Newark Sunday Call (1881 - 1946) |
Free Access via Google News Archive | Incomplete |
| New Community Clarion (1983 - 2014) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | Incomplete |
| New Community Douglass-Harrison News Highlights (1997 - 1998) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | Incomplete, 5 issues |
| New Community Intercom (1996 - 2014) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | Incomplete |
| New Jersey | Historical Newspapers (Readex); Commercial Access via GenealogyBank |
|
| New Jersey Jewish News (1946 - 2016) |
Free Access via the Jewish Historical Society of New Jersey | This publication was founded in 1946 as The Jewish News. It became MetroWest Jewish News in 1988 and then became New Jersey Jewish News in 1997. |
| New-Jersey Telescope (1808 - 1809) |
Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex); Commercial Access via GenealogyBank |
|
| New-York Gazette, and the Weekly Mercury (1776) |
Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex); Commercial Access via GenealogyBank |
|
| Star and Newark Advertiser (1908-1909) Morning Edition (1908) |
Free Access via Chronicling America Morning Edition:
|
Preceded by the Evening Star and Newark Advertiser, succeeded by Newark Star and Newark Advertiser |
| Sunday Call (1872 - 1881) |
Free Access via Google News Archive | Incomplete |
| Tenant Action News (1990 - 2001) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | Incomplete |
| Trend Magazine (1957 - 1959) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | Incomplete |
| Urban League of Essex County Newsletter (1971 - 1972) |
Free Access via the Newark Public Library | Incomplete, 4 issues. Alternate name is The Bulletin |
| Woods's Newark Gazette (1791 - 1797) |
Commercial Access via America's Historical Newspapers (Readex); Commercial Access via GenealogyBank |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| The Nutley Sun (1900 - 1922) |
Free Access via NJ Historical Portal | |
| The Nutley Sun (1999 - Current) |
Commercial Access via Newspapers.com |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| The Arrow (1881 - 1883, 1983) |
Free Access via the Millburn Free Public Library | Incomplete; 1983 may be a commemorative edition |
| Newspaper Title | Access | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Verona-Cedar Grove Times (1948 - 2010) |
Free Access via the Verona Public Library | Free access is available on-site only at the Verona Public Library |
Last updated November 19, 2024
