Research Guides: Census Research Guide: Historic Schedules & Microdata

Historic Population Schedules

Population schedules are the manuscript census records containing the responses of individuals answering decennial census questionnaires. Decennial census records are confidential for 72 years to protect respondents' privacy. Currently, census records for 1790-1950 are publicly available. Digital copies of these population schedules are available for free through the National Archives (1940 & 1950) and FamilySearch (1790-1950) and through subscription services like Ancestry (1790-1950) and Heritage Quest (1790-1950).

National Archives - Census Records
The National Archives has census population schedules available from 1790 to 1950, with online access provided through their digitization partners. This website provides guidance on how to find and use census records.

FamilySearch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FamilySearch provides access to millions of index entries and document images for genealogy records from around the world, including many New Jersey birth, marriage and death records. Free access after creating an account.
HeritageQuest
- This link opens in a new window
Find primary sources for genealogical and historical research. Besides federal census records, search Freedman’s Bank records (1865-1874), the U.S. Serials Set (1789-1969), and over 25,000 genealogy and local history books. Its content is similar, but unlike Ancestry can be accessed remotely.

This database is also available to the public via JerseyClicks.
Ancestry Library Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Database of primary sources for genealogical and historical research. Includes the United States Census and New Jersey State Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and user-submitted family trees.

Historic Non-Population Schedules

The U.S. Census Bureau also captured specific social and economic information using non-population schedules. The type of information collected by the Census varied over time. Agriculture, mortality, and social statistics schedules are available for the census years of 1850, 1860, 1870, and 1880. Manufacturing schedules are available for 1820, 1850, 1860, 1870, and 1880.

National Archives - Nonpopulation Census Records
Guide to the type of information collected as part of Census non-population schedules and the schedules available through the National Archives.
"Non-Population Census Schedules: Description, Accessibility and Disposition" by Lou Malcomb (1992)
In this article, Malcomb summarizes the history, content, and accessibility of Census non-population schedules.

Currently, for NJ, only the 1850-1880 Mortality schedules are available digitally through FamilySearch. The NJ State Library has the following NJ non-population schedules available on microfilm.

NJ Agricultural Schedules: 1850, 1860, 1870, and 1880
NJ Manufacturing Schedules: 1820, 1850, 1860, and 1880
NJ Social Statistics: 1850 and 1860
NJ Mortality Schedules: 1850, 1860, 1870, and 1880

The NJ State Archives has additional schedules, including the 1880 schedule of Defective and Delinquent Persons.

Public Use Microdata Sample (PUMS)

Public Use Microdata Sample (PUMS) files contain anonymized individual records for a sample of persons or households. PUMS files enable data users to create custom estimates and tables that are not available through products published by the U.S. Census Bureau.

A Brief History of Public Use Microdata Areas
Description of the history of Public Use Microdata Samples from 1960 - 2010.
U.S. Census - ACS PUMS
The American Community Survey (ACS) Public Use Microdata Sample (PUMS) files are a set of untabulated records about individual people or housing units. Data available from 2005 to the present.
Microdata Access Tool (MDAT)
U.S. Census data tool to create custom tables using microdata from the American Community Survey, Current Population Survey, and Survey of Income and Program Participation.
IPUMS USA
IPUMS USA provides access to U.S. Census microdata. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present. To access the data you must create a free account.
IPUMS CPS
The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly U.S. household survey conducted jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor Statistics. IPUMS CPS harmonizes microdata from the CPS, covering the period 1962 to the present. To access the data you must create a free account.

Census Research Guide

Historic Population Schedules

Historic Non-Population Schedules

Public Use Microdata Sample (PUMS)

CONTACT

TALKING BOOK & BRAILLE CENTER

STATEWIDE SERVICES

USING THE LIBRARY