Dubester's U. S. Census Bibliography with SuDocs Class Numbers and Indexes by
Gain access to the vast number of historical statistics contained in census publications with this guide. Intended to increase the usefulness of Henry J. Dubester's standard bibliography of historical U.S. census publications (Catalog of United States Census Publications, 1790-1945), this work adds a section of supplemental entries (including SuDocs classification numbers) to the original bibliography and subject index. This section is followed by Dubester's original subject index, then by indexes not found in his original bibliography-title, series and report number, and SuDocs classification number. The book also provides additional information on serials, such as changes in title or SuDocs number. Location information for census publications produced in more than one form (e.g., as part of the Congressional Serial Set) is included. This guide makes it unnecessary for librarians and library users to search twice for publications-in one source to identify them and in another source to find their S
Fundamentals of Government Information by
Government data and resources are uniquely useful to researchers and other library users. But without a roadmap, sifting through the sheer quantity of information to find the right answers is foolhardy. The first edition of this text is well established as an essential navigational tool for both LIS students and professionals; now this newly revised, peer-reviewed update is even more attuned to new sources and types of government information and how best to locate them. Unmatched in its scope, this book covers such key topics as- the history of government information, from its colorful beginnings to the era of Wikileaks, Edward Snowden, and data breaches;- how to think like a government documents librarian in order to find information efficiently, plus other research tips;- all types of law resources and information, including public laws and the U.S. Code, Case Law and the judicial branch, and regulations;- Congressional literature, from bills and committee hearings to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set;- patents, trademarks, and intellectual property;- census data, educational information, and other statistical resources;- health information, with an in-depth look at the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the trend toward and impact of online medical records; and- science, environmental, and energy resources from agencies like the Environmental Protection Agency and the Department of Energy.Exercises throughout the text support instruction, while the approachable and well-organized style make it ideal for day-to-day reference use.
This research guide serves to assist you in finding statistics and data produced through federal decennial censuses and other U.S. Census Bureau products from 1790 to the present.
|
Page |
When to Use |
| Population & Housing Statistics | Use to find statistics related to population demographics, like age, race, language, employment, education and housing characteristics, using the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey and other products. |
| Business & Economic Statistics | Use to find statistics related to business characteristics, such as ownership, formation and number of employees, using the Economic Census, County Business Patterns and other products. |
| NJ Census Information | Use to find shortcuts to NJ specific statistics and information about the NJ State Data Center. |
| Historic Schedules & Microdata - | Use to find historic census records for specific individuals (1790-1950), historic non-population schedules (1820-1880), and anonymized microdata that can be used to create custom estimates and tables. |
This link opens in a new windowThe U.S. Census Bureau is a government statistical agency that is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. The Census Bureau provides important data about the nation's people and economy.
Geography is central to the work of the Census Bureau, providing the framework for survey design, sample selection, data collection, tabulation, and dissemination. Geography provides meaning and context to statistical data.
This diagram shows how the levels of geography relate from the National level down to Census Blocks.
Geography reference maps show the boundaries and names (or other identifiers) of geographic areas for which the Census Bureau tabulates statistical data.
Official definitions covering all topics, censuses, surveys and programs.
