Skip to Main Content

Careers and Employment

Resources to help professionals in researching information about employment, career choices, career and employment counseling, resume writing, and interviewing skills.

Resume Writing Tips

Resume Writing Guidance (New Jersey Dept. of Labor) - Your resume is a one-page document that identifies your professional strengths, experiences, and skills. This site offers tips and examples of different resume types.

Resume Samples [for students and recent grads] (Rutgers University) - a collection of resume samples for students and recent graduates, organized by academic discipline.

Purdue OWL (Purdue University) - Samples and tips for writing cover letters, applications, and resumes. Also includes tips for video resumes. Click on "Job Search Writing" from the left hand side bar.

Resumes and Applications (US Dept. of Labor) - This site offers guidance for resumes, cover letters, portfolios, and work samples

Resume Samples (University of Virginia) - a collection of resume templates for various career fields 

Preparing for the Interview

Interviewing Assistance (New Jersey Dept. of Labor) - Thoughtful preparation for an interview can set you apart as the "candidate of choice" for a potential employer. This site offers tips for before, during, and after the interview.

Interviewing Resources (University of Michigan) - Interview tips and guidance

21 Job Interview Tips from job search company Indeed.com

25 Phone Interview Tips from job search company Indeed.com

Collection of articles and interview tips from job search company Monster.com

 

Interview and Work Attire

An interview is a time to make a good first impression and once you get the job, it may come with expectations to wear business attire. Several charitable organizations are in place throughout the State to help you with free interview and/or work attire.

 

Dress for Success/ Suits for Success - The mission of Dress for Success/Suits for Success is to empower women and men to achieve economic independence by providing a network of support, professional attire and the development tools to help women thrive in work and in life. Each Dress for Success New Jersey client gets to shop for one free suit when she has a job interview. Clients may also shop in our boutique for a pair of shoes, jewelry, and other accessories such as a handbag and scarf. After successfully finding employment, each client may return to select five outfits for a week’s worth of clothing. There are several local affiliates in New Jersey - services at each may vary.

Father Center of New Jersey - This non-profit offers a Dress2Impress program which provides suits and work attire.

NJ211 - This site from the State offers a directory of groups providing work attire. If the search is not populated when you click the link, simply search for "work clothing"  under "what are you looking for"

Directory of work attire charities - This directory will help you locate charitable groups around the State who offer donated work attire to help you look your best for the interview and work life.

Job and Career Accelerator

Job and Career Accelerator via JerseyClicks.org

Job and Career Accelerator provides a comprehensive collection of online job and career-related tools. Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings. You will need a New Jersey public library borrower’s card to access the database.

Access this database through your local public library. New Jersey residents with a public library card can access JerseyClicks databases, as well as locally licensed content, from their local public library's website. Contact your local public library with questions. 

Copyright © New Jersey State Library 1796-2020