Think Outside the Building by Rosabeth Moss KanterOne of the leading business thinkers in the world offers a bold, new theory of advanced leadership for tackling the world's complex, messy, and recalcitrant social and environmental problems. Over a decade ago, renowned innovation expert Rosabeth Moss Kanter co-founded and then directed Harvard's Advanced Leadership Initiative. Her breakthrough work with hundreds of successful professionals and executives, as well as aspiring young entrepreneurs, identifies the leadership paradigm of the future: the ability to "think outside the building" to overcome establishment paralysis and produce significant innovation for a better world. Kanter provides extraordinary accounts of the successes and near-stumbles of purpose-driven men and women from diverse backgrounds united in their conviction that positive change is possible. A former Trader Joe's executive, for example, navigated across business, government, and community sectors to deal with poor nutrition in inner cities while reducing food waste. A concerned European banker used the power of persuasion, not position, to find novel financing for improving the health of the oceans. A Washington couple enticed global partners to join an Uber-like platform to match skilled refugees with talent-hungry companies. A visionary journalist-turned-entrepreneur closed social divides by giving fifty million social media users access to free local education and culture. When traditional approaches are inadequate or resisted, advanced leadership skills are essential. In this book, Kanter shows how people everywhere can unleash their creativity and entrepreneurial adroitness to mobilize partners across challenging cultural, social, and political situations and innovate for a brighter future.
Call Number: 658.4 Kan
Publication Date: 2020-01-28
The Busy Leader's Handbook by Quint StuderA comprehensive book of "need-to-know" insights for busy leaders Being a great leader means getting the fundamentals right. It also means consistently doing the "little things" that make a positive difference in the lives of employees, customers, and other stakeholders. The Busy Leader's Handbook: How to Lead People and Places That Thrive is a practical, easy-to-use book filled with gentle reminders of what we should be doing every day--especially when work is at its most intense. The Handbook is packed with proven best practices, tools, tips, and tactics for engaging employees, revitalizing cultures, delighting customers, and building high-performance companies. Short, succinct, and accessible, each chapter is "stand-alone," offering helpful advice for meeting common business challenges. Plus, the strategies, approaches, and tactics are designed to be put into action immediately. Best-selling author, businessman, visionary, and entrepreneur Quint Studer draws on his 30-plus years of experience in helping organizations of all sizes and leaders at every level reach peak performance. Comprehensive in scope, his book overflows with insights and practical advice to help you make smart leadership decisions. For example: Why putting the right foundational structures in place early on creates clarity and heads off problems that cause businesses to struggle and fail The importance of followership: why being a good leader requires that you first be a good follower Why we tend to run from self-disruption and a sense of being unsettled (and how to learn to embrace them instead) Why leaders should seek consent, not consensus How to engage employees and create a positive workplace culture How to help employees find meaning and purpose in their work How to conduct difficult conversations and resolve conflicts--and why having these skills (or not) can make or break you as a leader Advice for attracting and hiring the best talent, retaining them over time, and dealing with the low performers who drive them away Why mentoring is so powerful and how to encourage it inside your company Tips and tactics for seeing the world through your customer's eyes How to reduce customer anxiety (and encourage them to buy) with the right words at the right times for the right reasons The Busy Leader's Handbook functions as a desk reference and pocket guide for anyone in a leadership position. It's also a great training tool for onboarding new leaders. Whether you work for a start-up, a small or mid-size business, or a large corporation, this book will change how you think, inspire you to do your job better--and help your organization thrive.
The industry's most widely used business research database. Full text and citations for journals covering a variety of business disciplines, including accounting, finance, economics, marketing, management, management information systems, and operations management. Includes Regional Business News and Associated Press video content.
Full-text multidisciplinary database covering agriculture, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology, as well as ethnic studies, women's studies and history. Some unique content types are cartoons, travel guides, performing arts and media reviews, and poems.
MasterFILE PremierReference database covering 1600+ full-text periodicals, 450+ full-text reference books, and 73,000 primary sources. Coverage includes general reference, business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues.
Newspaper Source PlusFind articles from 1400 national and international newspapers. You can search the full text, but images are not included.
Coverage includes the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, and The Washington Times (DC). Also includes television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American), ABC (Australian), CBC (Canadian), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio and PBS.
Academic Search CompleteFind articles from 6,5000+ full-text scholarly journals and magazines. Includes peer-reviewed STEM, social sciences, humanities, law, sciences, and video content from the Associated Press, 1930-present.