America’s Career InfoNet
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor look here to find trends in employment, check education and skills needed for employment in specific fields, compare state profiles and cost of living data.
Certification and Licensing Information
From the Riley Guide, which contains employment resources on the Internet, this site provides information on certification and licensing resources by job classification and by state. For a direct link to New Jersey information see The New Jersey License and Certification Guide.
Job and Career Accelerator via JerseyClicks.org
Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings. You will need a New Jersey public library borrower’s card to access the database.
The Job Hunter’s Bible
The Job Hunter’s Bible is the companion web site to the perennially popular book What Color Is Your Parachute? With links to personality and career tests, counseling, articles and instructions on how to use the net in a job search. Some of the information on this site is out of date but the apps are good. You can consult its companion eParachute.
Keirsey Temperament and Character
Are you of an Artisan, Guardian, Rational, or Idealist temperament? Answer 36 questions and get a free temperament description. A more in-depth ten page assessment can be purchased. Available in 13 languages.
Offering women inspiration and support to learn and share experiences and support. Includes videos, talks, stories, and free online lectures in partnership with Stanford University’s Clayman Institute for Gender Studies and other experts.
Resources, tips and other information for building a resume, creating a cover letter, and tips on interviews. Includes videos, job search and salary calculator.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook
The U.S. Department of Labor’s online version of this standard work provides searching by keyword, type of occupation (service, construction, sales, etc.) or by index. It also offers information on hot jobs, earnings, and links to relevant associations.
Glassdoor helps you find a job and company you love. Reviews, salaries and benefits from employees. Interview questions from candidates. Millions of jobs.
careerconnections.nj.gov/ provides job-seekers with job hunting information, training, and online tools to assess skills and interests.
Indeed.com Click here to find millions of jobs from thousands of company web sites, job boards and newspapers. one search
One-Stop Career Centers are the place to start when looking for a job. They are located throughout New Jersey and can help you develop the skills and obtain the training needed to succeed.
Job placement services for veterans.
NJWorks provides access to computer skills workshops and tutorials; online job and career resources that help you build your resumé, search for a job and develop interview skills; and a calendar of training opportunities.
Services for individuals with disabilities.
Starting a business in New Jersey.
VetJobs is the leading Internet niche job board catering to the 10.5 million military veterans currently in the work force
Damn Good Resume Guide
Web site based on one of the most popular resume writing books. No resume examples but provides answers to 52 questions about resumes, advice on how to deal with 25 of the toughest resume problems, and 24 hot tips for resume writing.
A Step-by-step free, online resume workshop.
From one of the top internet job hunting sites advice on preparing a resume, samples, privacy issues and online posting and formatting guidance.
Susan Ireland’s Resume Guide
Author of the Complete Idiot’s Guide to the Perfect Resume offers step-by-step advice, samples of 50+ cover letters and 10+ thank you letters.
Ten Minute Resume
Create a resume online free of charge using the template they provide. Set up a folder with your resume and other information but show only a profile with your skills, experience, and objectives until you decide to share your full resume with an employer (and so protect your privacy).