New Jersey Information

• Afro-Americans in New Jersey by Giles Wright
• Battles and Skirmishes of the American Revolution in New Jersey
• Constitution of 1776
• Constitution of 1844
• Morgan’s History of the New Jersey Conference of the AME Church, from 1872 to 1887
• New Jersey during the Revolution
• New Jersey women’s history 1776-1843
• New Jersey’s Revolutionary Experience
• Official Register of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Revolutionary War
• Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil War, 1861-1865
• Rutgers cartography – historical maps
• New Jersey women’s history 1880-1920
• Panoramic Maps 1847-1929
• “Steal Away, Steal Away.” A guide to the Underground Railroad in New Jersey

• Afro-Americans in New Jersey by Giles Wright
• Battleship New Jersey
• Battleship New Jersey articles from the Courier-Post
• The Camden 28
• Camp Evans
• Camp Kilmer during the Second World War
• Constitution of 1947
• Emile Berliner and the birth of the recording industry
• New Jersey women’s history 1880-1920
• New Jersey women’s history 1921-
• Nike missiles and missile sites
• Origin of New Jersey Place Names
• Panoramic Maps 1847-1929
• Rutgers cartography – historical maps
• Working in Paterson

• Chronology: Important events in the history of New Jersey
• NJ Hangout for Kids

State-Wide Organizations:

• Afro-American Historical and Cultural Society Museum The Afro-American Historical and Cultural Society Museum is located is on the upper floor of the Greenville Branch of the Jersey City, New Jersey Public Library, its collection is dedicated to the African American experience.
• Crossroads of the American Revolution: National Heritage Area This organization fosters the conservation, preservation, and interpretation of NJ's Revolutionary War sites and landscapes.
• New Jersey 350 This organization adn website was created to celebrate 350 years of history  in 2014. How do YOU plan to celebrate? New Jersey’s rich heritage, unique resources and resilient, determined people are what make this state the place we’re proud to call home. Since its creation in 1664, New Jersey has played a pivotal role in the shaping of American life and culture.
• Archaeological Society of New Jersey The Archaeological Society of New Jersey was organized November 12, 1931, to promote and encourage the study of historic and prehistoric archaeology, especially in New Jersey. Its main purposes are to support preservation of important archaeological sites and artifacts, and to assist and encourage their investigation and interpretation by approved professional methods; to promote the establishment of local archaeological organizations; and to record and publish archaeological information.
• New Jersey Digital Highway Your "one stop shop" for New Jersey history and culture, from the collections of New Jersey libraries, museums, archives and historical societies.
• New Jersey Historic Preservation Office Located within the Department of Environmental Protection, this state office brings expertise in a variety of fields essential to preserving historic resources. It counts among its staff historians, researchers, planners, architectural historians, architects, engineers, and archaeologists. 
• New Jersey Historic Trust The Mission of the Trust is to advance historic preservation in New Jersey for the benefit of future generations through education, stewardship and financial investment programs that save our heritage and strengthen our communities.
• New Jersey Historical Society Through the history of New Jersey - a quintessentially American place - the Historical Society promotes exploration of our cultures, past and present. As we challenge and inspire people to grow as learners and thinkers, we strive to make a difference in their lives.
• New Jersey Historical Societies A comprehensive list of of over 260 local historical societies located in New Jersey. The list contains contact information such addresses, phone numbers and websites of the local organizations.
• New Jersey State Archives New Jersey's official research center for public records of enduring historical value. Considering that many vital records, land documents, probate records and military service papers were filed centrally by the Colony and State of New Jersey, the State Archives is a treasure trove for genealogists and historians.
• New Jersey State Museum As a center of cultural, educational, and scientific engagement, the NJSM  inspires innovation and lifelong learning through collections, research, exhibitions and programs in science, history and art.
• New Jersey Dept. of Health, Office of Vital Statistics and Registry
  Contact this office to obtain birth, death, or marriage certificates that occurred in the state of New Jersey which are less than 100 years old (contact the NJ State Archives for vital records dating from May 1848 which are at least 100 years old).
• New Jersey Historical Commission The mission of the New Jersey Historical Commission is to enrich the lives of the public by preserving the historical record and advancing interest in and awareness of New Jersey's past.
• New Jersey Women's History An online resource for students, teachers, and all interested people who want to know more about the history of women in New Jersey. Because New Jersey women’s history is a young field, it is constantly growing and changing. This website will does the same, so it can keep up with new information and research and update existing information.
• Preservation NJ Founded in 1978, Preservation New Jersey advocates for and promotes historic preservation as a sustainable strategy to protect and enhance the vitality and heritage of New Jersey’s richly diverse communities. PNJ is the only statewide private membership-supported historic preservation organization in New Jersey.
• The Genealogical Society of New Jersey The Genealogical Society of NJ (GSNJ) mission is to discover, procure, preserve and publish information pertaining to families associated with New Jersey.

• The Grant to Berkeley and Carteret, 1664
• Concessions and Agreements of the Proprietors, 1664
• The Declaration of True Intent, 1672
• King James’ Grant to Carteret (1674) From the Avalon Project, Yale University
• Fundamental Laws of West New Jersey, Agreed Upon (1676) From the Avalon Project, Yale University
• The Grant of 1680
• The Right of Government, 1681
• The Fundamental Agreements of 1681
• Duke of York’s Confirmation to the 24 Proprietors, March 14, 1682 via the Avalon Project, Yale University.
• The Fundamental Constitutions for the Province of East New Jersey in America Anno Domini 1683 via the Avalon Project, Yale University.
• The King’s Letter Recognizing the Proprietors’ Right to the Soil and Government, 1683 via the Avalon Project, Yale University.
• The Queen’s Acceptance of the Surrender of Government, April 17, 1709 via the Avalon Project, Yale University.
• Charles II’s Grant of New England to the Duke of York, 1676, Exemplified by Queen Anne, 1712 via the Avalon Project, Yale University.
• A treaty between the government of New-Jersey, and the Indians, inhabiting the several parts of said province: held at Croswicks, in the county of Burlington on Thursday and Friday, the eighth and ninth day of January, 1756.

• The Constitution of 1776
• The Constitution of 1844
• The Constitution of 1947