Research Guides: New Jersey Information: NJ Data and Municipalties

Below are reputable sources for population, economic and and geographic data for New Jersey. See also our Business Research: Business Statistics guide.

New Jersey Economic Data

New Jersey Labor Market Information
Start here. Find data tools and current information on the labor force, unemployment, and the housing market. Published by the New Jersey Department of Labor.
New Jersey Labor Force Estimates
Use the tabs to see labor force estimates at the state, county, and municipality level. Published by the New Jersey Department of Labor.
New Jersey Economic Indicators
Published annually by the New Jersey Department of Labor
New Jersey Statistics of Income
Income data for New Jersey residents from 2001-two years prior to date. Published by the State of New Jersey Division of Taxation.

Other Sources of Economic Data

Monthly Housing Market Statistics
Based on public data, this interactive site is published by the New Jersey Association of Realtors.
NJCounts Point-In-Time Reports
NJCounts is an annual census of homeless New Jersey residents. Reports are available for each New Jersey county. The count is facilitated by Monarch Housing Associates, a Somerset County-based affordable housing advocacy group.
Business Formation Statistics
The Business Formation Statistics (BFS) are a product of the U.S. Census Bureau developed in research collaboration with economists affiliated with Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, University of Maryland, and University of Notre Dame. The BFS provide timely and high frequency information on new business applications and formations in the United States.

New Jersey Geographic Data

New Jersey Local Names
The State's official list of names of locales, areas and municipalities in New Jersey.
Origin of New Jersey Place Names
Originally compiled by the Works Progress Administration in 1938, this publication was reissued by the New Jersey Public Libraries Commission in 1945. Digitized by the State Library.
Municipalities in New Jersey by County
A listing of the 565 municipalities in New Jersey arranged by county, published on New Jersey State Library website.

Geographic Names Information System – GNIS
- This link opens in a new window
Use Geographic Names Information Service (GNIS) database for New Jersey places and features on USGO topographical quadrangle maps. The entry gives the feature type, county, coordinates and the quad in which it appears.

Where to Find Municipal Founding Legislation and Name Changes

The story of New Jersey's civil boundaries, 1606-1968 by John P. Snyder
Call Number: 974.90 B765
Publication Date: 1969
This useful book collects all civil boundary data for New Jersey's municipalities, from their earliest founding to the present. For every county, city, township, town, borough, and village, you will find dates of incorporation, boundary changes, and name changes, as well as year and/or page of founding legislation in the Acts of the Assembly. See pages 65-66 for an explanation of how to use this work. This work was compiled in 1969. Also check the Civil Boundaries supplement published in 1988 which includes corrections and additions.

New Jersey Population Data

New Jersey State Data Center
New Jersey State Data Center provides general information on population, housing and the economy. Also provides frequently requested US Census Bureau information at the national, state, county and municipal level.
New Jersey Municipal Population Estimates
Published by the New Jersey Department of Labor. Click the Municipalities tab to view reports. Current report is 2010-2017 (updated annually). Historic estimates are available for 1971 to 1979, 1981 – 1989, 1991-1999, and 2001-2009.
Quick Facts: New Jersey (U.S. Census Bureau)
Includes the previous year's population estimate
Census Reporter: New Jersey
Easily compare census data for New Jersey and the rest of the United States with this great free tool funded by the Knight Foundation.

County and City Extra 1790-2010 by Bernan Press Staff (Contribution by); Deirdre A. Gaquin (Editor); Mary Meghan Ryan (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598888041
Publication Date: 2015-06-24
Find historical state, county, and urban population statistics 1790-2010, from the Census Bureau, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, and the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

New Jersey Data Book

The New Jersey Data Book is a searchable database of statistics on New Jersey’s 565 municipalities, its legislative districts, counties, schools, elections, and people. It is published as a free public service by Rutgers' Center for Government Services.

Available data sets include area/density, population, poverty, crime, employment, housing, fiscal resources, government expenditures, property tax burden, voters & turnout, election results, and school data. Use this to resource to identify trends, share data with residents, or write grant applications.

While no longer published in print, older print editions are available at the State Library.

New Jersey County and Municipality Government

County and Municipal Web Sites
Web sites about New Jersey municipalities. These links may or may not be "official" pages for these towns. They contain useful information about the municipality and its surrounding area.
New Jersey Mayors Directory Search
A database for searching for New Jersey mayors by county, municipality, or mayor's name.
Forms of New Jersey Government
All 565 municipalities in New Jersey, regardless of their form of government, can be classified as belonging to one of five types of municipal government: 1) Borough 2) Township 3) City 4) Town 5) Village. Published by the New Jersey League of Municipalities.
Modern Forms of Municipal Government
The 1992 report by the New Jersey State Commission on County and Municipal Government, digitized by the State Library

New Jersey Information

NJ Municipal and County Maps from DOT

New Jersey Economic Data

Other Sources of Economic Data

New Jersey Geographic Data

Where to Find Municipal Founding Legislation and Name Changes

New Jersey Population Data

New Jersey Data Book

New Jersey County and Municipality Government

CONTACT

TALKING BOOK & BRAILLE CENTER

STATEWIDE SERVICES

USING THE LIBRARY