Research Guides: Education Resources: Articles and Books

NJSL Catalog Search

You can use the search box above to enter in subject terms and find books of interest in the New Jersey State Library's catalog. Use the pull down menu to change what is searched; for example: title, general keyword, author, and more.

Books pertaining to education can be found in the 300s in libraries that use Dewey Decimal System. If you are looking to browse through education titles at the New Jersey State Library, you'd find them here:

370 Education
371 Schools & their activities; special education
372 Elementary education
373 Secondary education
374 Adult education
375 Curricula
378 Higher education
379 Public policy issues in education

Selected General Education Journals at the Library

The following is a sampling of some of the Education journals that can be accessed while here at the New Jersey State Library. Remote access is restricted to state employees, and the students and staff of Thomas Edison State University.

Child Development
Articles of interdisciplinary empirical research, theoretical articles and reviews that have theoretical implications for child developmental research selected through blind review.
Chronicle of Higher Education
News and trends, legislation, meetings, seminars, workshops, classified employment advertising for higher education administrators, faculty members, researchers & scholars.
Educational Research Open Archive Issues
Educational Researcher (ER) publishes scholarly articles that are of general significance to the education research community and that come from a wide range of areas of education research and related disciplines.
Education Week
A weekly newspaper devoted to education. Articles, profiles, commentary, legislation, state and national news and book reviews for teachers and administrators in elementary and secondary schools.
Radical Teacher
Dedicated to the theory & practice of teaching. Serves educators who are working for democratic process, peace, & justice. Examines the root causes of inequality & promotes progressive social change.
Sociology of Education
Articles and guest editorials on all aspects of the sociology of education aimed at members of the American Sociological Association.

A full list of the Education electronic journals available through the New Jersey State Library can be found here.

Education Databases at the New Jersey State Library

The following is a list of education databases that can be accessed while here at the New Jersey State Library. Remote access is restricted to state employees, and the students and staff of Thomas Edison State University.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find articles from 6,5000+ full-text scholarly journals and magazines. Includes peer-reviewed STEM, social sciences, humanities, law, sciences, and video content from the Associated Press, 1930-present.

Academic Search is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.
Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Check accreditation status of U.S. college and university programs, including names of accrediting agencies or state approval agencies. Use this database to verify the quality of postsecondary education. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Postsecondary Education.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NJSL's collection of over 15,000 eBooks on a range of mostly non-fiction topics. All works are full-text searchable. Read online or download PDF and ePub formats to your device.
- How to check out and download EBSCO eBooks
- Reading EBSCO eBooks on a mobile device
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the authoritative database of indexed and full-text scholarly content on education. Use Advanced Search to limit results by audience and education level (adult, early childhood, secondary, etc.) Includes link to full-text articles when available from EBSCO. For other articles, also try ProQuest Education Database. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.

This database is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.
ERIC – Institute of Education Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The free, public version of the ERIC database indexes citations of scholarly literature on education, with full-text links to government documents from the Department of Education. For full-text of journal articles indexed in this database, try EBSCO's ERIC database or ProQuest Education Database.
LISTA – Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for citations to key library and information science journals, books, research reports and more. Covers all aspects of the profession, including bibliometrics, cataloging, classification, information management, librarianship, and online information retrieval. Coverage is mid-1960s to present. Some full-text available. For more full-text, search in the ProQuest Library Science Database.
OmniFile Full Text Select (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text multidisciplinary database covering agriculture, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology, as well as ethnic studies, women's studies and history. Some unique content types are cartoons, travel guides, performing arts and media reviews, and poems.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals for educators, professional librarians and education researchers. 450+ full-text journals of which 250+ are peer-reviewed.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free database includes citation index and abstracts for 200+ peer-reviewed journals on education. For full text articles, try ProQuest Education Database or ERIC.

K-12 Databases

The following is a list of databases appropriate for students, grades K-12, as indicated. They can be accessed while here at the New Jersey State Library. Remote access is restricted to state employees, and the students and staff of Thomas Edison State University.

Middle Search Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed for middle school libraries, Middle Search Plus provide access to popular middle school magazines and reference books. Full-text articles are assigned a Lexile. Covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.

This database is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.
NoveList K-8 This link opens in a new window
Find great books to match the interests and reading level of young children. Hand-crafted recommendations created by librarians, teachers, and book experts. Browse or search by age level, awards won, genre, read-alikes, type of plot, or a combination of factors using the "appeal mixer."

This database is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.
Primary Search (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for elementary school libraries, Primary Search is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness and space exploration.