Research Guides: African-American History in New Jersey: New Jersey Publications

Resources on African-American History from the New Jersey State Publications Digital Library

Materials from the New Jersey State Library's collection that have been scanned and published on our online digital archive.

New Jersey State Library Digital Collections
NJSL Digital Collections is the State Library's repository of government documents and Jerseyana.

Selected Urban Colored Population Commission Reports

The Negro Citizen and New Jersey Democracy

The Negro citizen and New Jersey democracy : annual report, the Urban Colored Population Commission, State of New Jersey. (1945)

Discrimination in public places and the civil rights laws of New Jersey

Discrimination in public places and the civil rights laws of New Jersey : fourth annual report. (1946)

General Problems, Special Problems

Second Report of the New Jersey Temporary Commission on the Condition of the Urban Colored Population (1940)
Table of contents, page 4

excerpt from report of welfare commission

"glaring and flagrant violations of constitutional rights"

[Report from the Welfare Commission on the condition of the urban colored population in re investigation into violation of civil liberties of certain residents of Hudson County] (1942)

Annual Reports

Other Reports

A brief history of the New Jersey State Division on Civil Rights : (past, present, future) by Eric B. Chandler (comp.)
Call Number: 974.90 C5815, 1973a
Publication Date: 1973
The New Jersey Negro in World War II: contributions and activities. by Urban Colored Population Commission.
Call Number: 974.90 W253, 1945b
Publication Date: 1945

Ironsides Echo

Available issues of The Ironsides Echo, Bordentown's student newspaper, have been digitized by the New Jersey State Library.

Part of the Manual Training and Industrial School for Colored Youth at Bordentown Digital Collection.

Subject searches in the digital archive

New materials are added to our digital archive on an ongoing basis. Visit our Digital Collections and search for items with the subject heading African Americans.

New Jersey State Library Digital Collections
NJSL Digital Collections is the State Library's repository of government documents and Jerseyana.

New Jersey Universities

Rutgers New Jersey Digital Legal Library: The Law of Slavery in New Jersey
This collection includes texts, or links to texts at other sites, for published New Jersey statutes and court decisions about slavery. An annotated bibliography of statutes, cases, and secondary sources is provided, with links to the statute and case texts. Part of the Rutgers: Slavery and the Law Archive.
Legislating Slavery in New Jersey By Geneva Smith
Part of the Princeton and Slavery Project.

See other resources from New Jersey Historical Commission

Black Heritage Trail
The New Jersey Black Heritage Trail is a new intitiate to commemorate and create markers for Black history sites across the state. The first 32 sites were approved in April 2024, more to come.
Teaching New Jersey History Topical Guides

Lessons for educators include

African-American History in New Jersey

New Jersey State Historical Commission Publications

Afro-Americans in New Jersey by Giles R. Wright

New Jersey's underground railroad heritage : "steal away, steal away--" : a guide to the underground railroad in New Jersey

Blacks in the Revolutionary Era

The New Jersey African American history curriculum guide, grades 9 to 12

New Jersey Documents Librarian