Nursing Resources

Take online practice tests for many U.S. educational and vocational exams. Access is free to everyone in New Jersey by geolocation; create a free Gale account to access content and save your progress.

Educational practice tests include: foundational math and reading, college admission tests (ACT, CLEP, SAT, etc.), and grad school (ACT, GRE, MCAT, LSAT, GMAT, Miller analogies, etc.)

Vocational practice exams for certification, credentialing, or licensing include: Accountant/Auditor, ACT WorkKeys, American Foreign Service, Clerical, Cosmetology, Firefighter, Law Enforcement (State trooper, promotional exams, corrections), Teaching (Praxis, etc), Medical/Nursing/Dental (NCLEX, TEAS, PTCE, PAX, PSB, CNA/HHA, Vet Tech, Hygienist, Massage, PT assistant, etc.), military (ASVAB, etc.), postal, real estate, aviation and transportation (TSA, CDL), Journeyman Plumber, radiologic and surgical technician.

The database also includes an easy to use resume builder, career explorer tool, and college locator.

This database is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.

Definitive research database for nursing and allied health professionals. Access 1,300 full-text journals, 5,500 indexed journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, continuing education modules, and research instruments. Coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.

Includes 50+ full-text journals from Lippincott, including 24,000+ articles and an index to 400+ nursing journals, with links to relevant full text in Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR).

Companion to the free MEDLINE index, providing full-text access to 2000+ biomedical journals and abstracts for 5000+ more. Broad coverage for all health care professionals. Effectively search and retrieve information with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) created by the United States National Library of Medicine. Coverage for some journals dates back to 1865.

Full text for 300+ nursing and allied health medical journals (200+ are peer-reviewed), as well as indexing of 800+ journals. 

This database is also available to the public via JerseyClicks.

Find full-text articles from 100+ peer-reviewed journals in psychology and human behavior. Includes the complete run of all journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).

Our subscription to PsycArticles ends September 1, 2025. PsycINFO contains all content in PsycARTICLES plus additional sources (some of which are not full text).

A citation and abstract database covering 2000+ journals, books, and dissertations on the behavioral and social sciences. Some articles are linked full text; all content in PsycARTICLES is included in PsycINFO. Published by the American Psychological Assocation (APA).

Find articles from 6,5000+ full-text scholarly journals and magazines. Includes peer-reviewed STEM, social sciences, humanities, law, sciences, and video content from the Associated Press, 1930-present.

Academic Search is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. State employees and TESU staff and students, click the icon “Find Full Text from New Jersey State Library” to access licensed content.

Note there is also a free version of PubMed available if you do not have a State Library card.

Authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine. Covers diseases, conditions, wellness, treatments, drugs and supplements, current research results, clinical trials, and a medical dictionary. Includes easy to understand medical videos and illustrations. Updated daily.

NJSL's collection of over 15,000 eBooks on a range of mostly non-fiction topics. All works are full-text searchable. Read online or download PDF and ePub formats to your device.

A collection of about 100 reference eBooks covering business, education, the environment, history, medicine, religion, science and social science. Titles include: Business Plans Handbook, Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education, Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Everyday Finance: Economics, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, Personal Money Management and Entrepreneurship and West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Search titles individually or as a collection.

A collection of 400+ authoritative reference works, including the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, the Visual English Dictionary, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, as well as illustrated natural history titles such as the Encyclopedia of Mammals. Includes timelines, bibliographies, maps, and illustrations.

Access eBooks published by Salem Press and Grey House on health, science, social science, American history, and business. Includes content such as America's Top-Rated Cities, Magill’s Medical Guide, and Defining Documents in American History.