New Jersey Resources for English Language Learners

NJ DOL Career Connections 

The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, through their One Stop Career Centers, offer a variety of services to help individuals in their search for employment and career advancement.  Inclulded in these services are classes to help prepare adults to:

• Fill out a job application

• Find a job

• Get your HSE

• Obtain computer skills

• Learn how to become a US citizen

• Become educated in US history and government

Services are currently virtual due to the pandemic and you must fill out an online request form on the website.

NJ DOE Title III and Bilingual/ESL Education 

The Title III unit works with districts to ensure that English Language Learners (ELLs) and immigrant students are provided equitable educational opportunities to succeed academically in compliance with the Every Student Succeeds Act(ESSA). This is achieved by providing high quality language instruction programs that enable students to meet both state academic standards and develop English language proficiency. The language instruction educational programs are intended to supplement the requirements of N.J.A.C. 6A:15 Bilingual Education which mandates Bilingual and English as a Second Language (ESL).  The unit supports such programs through technical assistance, professional development, monitoring, guidance, and website resources. Also provides a FAQ for parents.

NJ DOE Resource Guide for Adult Enligh Language Learners of New Jersey (2016) 

A guide prepared by the New Jersey Department of Education that provides a listing of libraries, organizations, and agencies throughout the state that offer ESL programs for adults, grouped primarily by county.  The guide also includes virtual options.  This guide has not been update so please follow up with any organziations to determine if they are still offering ESL programs and whether they are virtual.

LiteracyNJ 

LiteracyNJ is a 501(c)(3) whose mission is to ensure all adults have the opportunity to read, write, and communicate effectively through training volunteer tutors to help adult learners and by supporting a network of literacy programs.  LiteracyNJ provides free instruction to adults who need help with reading, writing, math and speaking English. Trained volunteer tutors work with adults one-to-one or in small groups to help them improve their language and literacy skills so they can reach their life goals.  They offer free adult literacy services in twelve counties: Burlington, Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Sussex, Warren, Union, Hudson, Atlantic, and Cape May.  LiteracyNJ develops and disseminates instructional materials and training on key topics in adult literacy and advocates on behalf of a statewide network of programs for increased funding and increased visibility for the need for adult literacy services.

Voice of America

The Voice of America (VOA) is a multimedia international broadcasting service funded by the U.S. Government through the USAGM. It began broadcasting in 1942 and now reaches more than 275 million people worldwide. The VOA provides accurate, comprehensive, and trustworthy news and information, as well as informed discussion on the United States and the world.

Learn American English with English language lessons from Voice of America. VOA Learning English helps you learn English with vocabulary, listening and comprehension lessons through daily news and interactive English learning activities.

What is Voice of America’s Learning English?

Learning English is VOA’s multimedia source of news and information for millions of English learners worldwide.  

Beginning Level

Let's Learn English - Level 1 and Level 2 programs are designed for beginning English learners by certified American English teachers. 

Ask a Teacher is a new program where learners can ask questions and teachers answer them. News Words is a short video explaining a word or term used in news stories.

Intermediate Level

Some language teaching methods are dull and disconnected from real life. People soon forget what they learn, or focus on words and phrases without context. Learners absorb American English through content drawn from U.S. and world news, Health and Lifestyle, Science and Technology, Arts and Culture, and other topics. Learners can build vocabulary, strengthen speaking skills and improve the ability to communicate for work, school and everyday life.

Audio programs and captioned videos - English in A Minute, English @ the Movies, Everyday Grammar TV and Learning English TV - are written using vocabulary at the upper-beginner and intermediate level. The programs are read one-third slower than normal English speed. Online texts, MP3s and podcasts let people read, listen and learn American English and much more.

Advanced Level

Advanced English learners can read classic literature with American Stories, learn idioms and expressions with Words and Their Stories, study with Everyday Grammar, and follow innovations and trends in Education in the U.S. and around the world. Let's Teach English and News Literacy are free online training programs for advanced learners and English teachers.

Learning English programs are also broadcast on radio and satellite TV and posted at youtube.com/voalearningenglish, facebook.com/voalearningenglish and twitter.com/voalearnenglish.

Quick Links:

Learning English   

Beginning Level  

Intermediate Level 

Advanced Level 

US History  

English in a Minute - short videos explaining an expression used in American English

Resources for Teachers:

U.S. Department of State - American English (AE)         

American English (AE) is a resource center for teaching and learning about American English language and culture. This website provides a variety of engaging materials and resources for teachers' professional development and for students in the classroom. Both teachers and students will find new ways to practice English and learn more about the United States.

AE website highlights include:

• American English Webinars - American English webinars are online teacher training seminars for professional development.

• English Teaching Forum - English Teaching Forum is a quarterly journal supporting the teaching of English around the world.

• American English Teaching Resources & Programs - AE's comprehensive collection of resources and programs for Teaching American English and culture.

Resources for Teachers:  Literacy Information and Communication System (LINCS)      

The Literacy Information and Communication System (LINCS) is a national leadership initiative of the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education (OCATE) to expand evidence-based practice in the field of adult education. 
LINCS is comprised of:

1. LINCS Resource Collection, a collection of vetted resources for adult education practitioners

2. LINCS Community, an online community of practice

3. Learning Portal online courses for adult education practitioners

4. Learning Center, resources for adult learners

 U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services - Citizenship Resource Center

The Citizenship Resource Center has a collection of helpful resources and free study materials for a variety of users including:

• Immigrants who are interested in becoming U.S. citizens.
• Educators preparing learners to become U.S. citizens.
• Organizations supporting immigrants in becoming citizens 

The Citizenship Resource Center is managed by the Office of Citizenship.