Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to make available online the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections. Contains millions of pages of taxonomic literature representing nearly 100,000 titles and over 160,000 volumes.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) National Library Network
Main website for the libraries of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), which provide information resources and services to EPA staff and the public in support of the agency's mission. Contains a searchable catalog of materials held by EPA libraries, including EPA reports and publications.
LuEsther T. Mertz Library
Library of the New York Botanical Garden - offers an online catalog of their collections as well as plant information guides and digital collections.
National Agricultural Library
The main library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture is one of four national libraries of the U.S. and houses one of the worlds largest collections devoted to agricultural and related sciences. Provides access to Agricola, the NALs catalog and bibliographic citation database, and maintains a special collections, with manuscripts, rare books and image galleries.
National Forest Service Library
Provides information services to Forest Service staff and the public, including a catalog of natural resource publications and Forest Service literature.
National Library of Medicine
Main library for the National Institutes of Health. Provides several free online databases of information on environmental health: PubMed/MEDLINE and TOXNET .
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Central Library
The NOAA Central Library provides access to its searchable online catalog and links to web sites of NOAA’s Photo Library, NOAA’s Historical Map and Chart Collection, NOAA’s Climate Data Imaging Project and to NOAA’s WINDandSEA: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Locator. In addition, the Central Library provides a link to sources of NOAA data and publications.
National Transportation Library
Repository of U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) information, focusing on general transportation, surface and water transportation. Special topics of interest include pipelines, mass transit, highways, urban transportation, railroads and waterways.
NJDEP Environmental Research Library
The science and technology library of the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection and a branch of the New Jersey State Library.
Online catalog of publications by Research and Development scientists at the U.S. Forest Service.
US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Library
Library of the USACE, providing resources on civil engineering, environmental engineering, disaster management, flood control, dredging, etc. Also provides a large portal for USACE geospatial data.
US Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) Conservation Library
Web site of the Conservation Library of the USFWS. Provides a searchable online catalog and a directory of USFWS publications that are available online. In addition, the USFWS has a National Image Library of digital photos that can be downloaded and GIS maps that are available to the public.
US Geological Survey (USGS) Library
Main website for the US Geological Survey library, among the largest earth science libraries in the world. Provides access to an online catalog, and several valuable databases, including the Geographic Names Information System and the National Geologic Map Database. In addition, the majority of USGS publications are now digitized and can be accessed at the USGS Publications Warehouse.
An index of water libraries prepared by a librarian at a California water agency.
Copyright © New Jersey State Library 1796-2020