Skip to main content

The New Jersey State Library is closed for walk-in service, but Reference Staff are available for assistance at refdesk@njstatelib.org.

New Jersey County Offices Resources: Home

A basic overview of genealogical and current holdings of New Jersey Clerks' and Surrogates' Offices, including any online indexes or databases.

 

New Jersey County Clerks and Surrogate’s Records

The New Jersey County Clerks and Surrogates are Constitutional 5 year term elected offices whose record holdings (in most cases) date back to the incorporation of their county. 

The County Clerk oversees elections, and retains the related records as well as land and property records, county marriages, registered businesses, and county level naturalizations.

The County Surrogate is a Clerk of New Jersey Superior Court, Chancery Division, Probate Part and Judge of the Surrogate’s Court, who acts in place of the Governor for each county, overseeing the administration of estates and adoptions.  The Surrogate retains the records related to these functions, including:  administrations, wills, divisions of land, probate, orphan’s court, and adoption records.

The New Jersey State Archives has microfilmed copies of Clerk’s and Surrogate’s records for in-person public use for most counties until about 1900 in most cases.   The county offices generally retain ownership in of the original records, and should be contacted if copies are needed for any official purpose, or if the patron would like records sent through the mail.  A listing of marriage and naturalization records held by the Archives rather than the county offices is below.

Familysearch.org has begun digitizing County Records, including Marriage Records and Deeds.  Genealogical researchers may use this site to obtain copies for unofficial use.  If copies are needed for any other reason, the owning office should be contacted. (Note:  to access the collections on this site, you must login with a free account.)

Some county offices have searchable online databases for property, wills, naturalizations, or businesses.  These are listed below.  If the county does not offer a searchable index, links are provided to the main website.

Popular County Records Owned by the New Jersey State Archives

County Marriages:  Atlantic, Burlington, Cumberland, Essex, Mercer, Somerset, Sussex, Union

County Naturalizations:  Burlington (1790-1956), Camden (1844-1932), Essex (1792-1934), Mercer (1838-1940), Ocean (1850-1966), Sussex (1817-1948), and Union (1857-1931)

The State Archives does own additional County Clerk’s and Surrogate’s records.  For more information on their holdings, please check the searchable catalog.

 

Some county offices have searchable online databases for property, wills, naturalizations, or businesses.  If the county does not offer a searchable index, links are provided to the main website.

County

Clerk Searchable Index

Surrogate Searchable Index

Notes

Atlantic

Searchable online index

No

Index is Full Text Public Records (including deeds/mortgages) 1972-2000

Bergen

Searchable online index

No

Index to County Land Records

Burlington

PRESS (public records)

Tax Records

Estate Index

Tax Records search is state wide

Camden

Online Property Records

Index

 

Cape May

Index 

Historic Records via Cape May County Clerk’s Archive (includes Surrogate’s Records)

No

Use Internet Explorer when searching index on Clerk's site

Cumberland

Cumberland Public Records Search

No

Also has election results online 2011-present

Essex

Coming Soon

No

For business trade names

Gloucester

Gloucester County Real Estate Records

No

Historical Clerk's records available at Gloucester County Historical Society

Hudson

Hudson Co. Register’s Office, a division of the County Clerk has land records

Estate Index Search

 

Hunterdon

No

No

Genealogical Records at the Surrogate's Court

Mercer

No

No

Info on Estate Indexes

Middlesex

Land Records

Surrogate Search

 

Monmouth

Public Records

Probate Index (1991-present)

 

Morris

Online Public Records

Tax Records

Probated Estates Search

 Online Public Records index requires software download

Ocean

Ocean County Official Public Records Search (requires software download)

Docket Index Search

Passaic

Public Records Electronic Search

Surrogate Index Search

 

Salem

Public Land Records Search

No

 

Somerset

Land Records Search (enrollment required)

No

 

Sussex

No

Surrogate Index

 

Union

Public Land Records Search

No

 

Warren

Public Land Records Search

No

 

 

Genealogy Librarian

Regina Fitzpatrick's picture
Regina Fitzpatrick
Contact:
New Jersey State Library
185 W. State Street
P.O. Box 520
Trenton, NJ 08625-0520
609-278-2640 x162
Subjects:Genealogy

NJ County Map

 

Copyright © New Jersey State Library 1796-2020