Legal Resources

Find articles from 6,5000+ full-text scholarly journals and magazines. Includes peer-reviewed STEM, social sciences, humanities, law, sciences, and video content from the Associated Press, 1930-present.

Academic Search is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.

Provides current federal and state tax law information, as well as news on emerging tax issues.

After login, click the blue, upper right "Subscribers: Log In Here" button to complete signing in.

See also: Wolters Kluwer Legal Research (VitalLaw) for other practice areas.

Official source for federal legislative information, including bills, laws, committee information, committee reports, the Congressional Record, roll call votes and profiles and contact information for members of Congress.

Authoritative information and data on legislation, members, and the history and powers of the U.S. Congress. Tools and data to analyze Congress, as well as a congressional dictionary and information on how Congress works. Search for members by demographics, compare voting habits, and view how they've been ranked by interest groups. View historical information on congress, including votes back to 1969. All data can be exported.

Search across all four CQ Press subscriptions: Congress Collection, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, and Voting and Elections Collection.

Comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes U.S. and international scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. Part of ProQuest Central.

NJSL's collection of over 15,000 eBooks on a range of mostly non-fiction topics. All works are full-text searchable. Read online or download PDF and ePub formats to your device.

The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

A collection of about 100 reference eBooks covering business, education, the environment, history, medicine, religion, science and social science. Titles include: Business Plans Handbook, Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education, Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Everyday Finance: Economics, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, Personal Money Management and Entrepreneurship and West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Search titles individually or as a collection.

Free access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Among the nearly 50 collections available are: Compilation of Presidential Documents (1992 to present), Congressional Bills (103rd Congress to present), Congressional Documents (94th Congress to present), Congressional Hearings (99th Congress to present), Congressional Record 1873 to present), Congressional Reports (104th Congress to present), Federal Register (1936 to present), Public and Private Laws (104th Congress to present) and Economic Indicators (1995 to present). Documents are added daily. Maintained by the Government Publishing Office (GPO).

HeinOnline is a key legal research database. Includes full text of 1600 law reviews; 50 State session laws and statutes archives; the U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (comprehensive histories for major laws, including bills, reports, hearings and other full text documents). Also includes: the U.S. Code; U.S. Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; U.S. Congressional Serial Set; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Reports. A collection of treatises considered legal classics; Water Rights and Resources Collection; LGBTQ Rights Collection. Also includes U.S. treaties, Canadian and English law, and international agreements.

The nation’s premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy documents, including presidential directives, theses and reports from universities, organizations and state and local agencies.

Note: access is limited by Department of Homeland Security. State employees with standard state email addresses can register for remote access to this database by clicking on the “Request an individual HSDL account” on the database home page.

Provides consumer legal information. 13,000+ state-specific legal forms and 8,200 federal forms searchable by state. Includes full-text of all books published by NOLO Press, a trusted publisher of consumer, business, and legal guides, as well as New Jersey specific legal forms for adoption, bankruptcy, divorce, name changes, property and real estate, small business forms, and wills. Published by EBSCO.

This database is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.

Database of U.S. state and federal statutes, court opinions, regulations, court rules and administrative decisions, plus law reviews and New Jersey-based legal practice guides on various topics. Access is only available on-site at the public computers in the Law Library.

Bibliographic information and abstracts of all informational materials and resources produced, funded, and/or sponsored by the bureaus and offices of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs (OJP). Includes Federal, State, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; and unpublished research. Subject areas include: corrections, courts, drugs, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. Many links are full-text.

Free online access to the New Jersey Administrative Code, provided by Lexis.

The most current official text of the permanent and general statutes of New Jersey.

Full-text multidisciplinary database covering agriculture, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology, as well as ethnic studies, women's studies and history. Some unique content types are cartoons, travel guides, performing arts and media reviews, and poems.

Researching politics, Congress and U.S. History? Start here. Database includes

• Congress in Context (histories of each session from 1789-present, including key events and personnel)
• Members of Congress profiles (including sponsored bills, remarks, floor votes, and histories from 1789-present)
• Legislative histories of U.S. statutes (1969-present)
• Searchable full-text of Congressional Record (1985-present), Code of Federal Regulations (1981-present) and the Federal Register (1980-present)
• Consolidated search across federal government's and individual politicians' social media platforms, as well as political news from Washington Post (1987-present), RollCall (1998-present), and CQ Political Transcripts (1995-present)

Find full text, peer-reviewed journal articles on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Also indexes, books, monographs, magazines, and conference papers.

The general and permanent laws of the United States. Published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Wolters Kluwer provides information on the following legal and regulatory practice areas

• COVID-19
• Healthcare, including Medicare and Medicaid
• Human Resources
• Labor & Employment Law
• Sexual Harassment & Workplace Compliance

To research tax law, use CCH Intelliconnect.